Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Switching output between 2 PVM monitors

  1. #1
    Sultan of Slugs
    Wachenroder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles

    Posts
    2,580

    Switching output between 2 PVM monitors

    I set up my second monitor for TATE and i'd like to be able to use it with out unplugging and re plugging too much stuff

    Does anybody have a quick and decent solution to outputting to RGB and Component

    I figure any component switch should do the trick for component but they dont seem to make them in the 2-output type. I'm wondering if anyone knows of a good 2 way switch out there.

    RGB is even more of a problem since SCART and BNC can complicate things. I'd like the same thing for that. A simple 2 way switch.

  2. #2
    Unsure if You Asked
    For a custom Rank
    But Hell, why not.
    gusmoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    illadelph Snail Trail

    Posts
    1,258
    A solution to think about.

    I have two PVMs setup, one tate and one yoko. All of my RGB consoles/SG are fed into the yoko PVM via a switch or alternate input (A + B) and if I have a need to play a game in tate, I have BNC passthrough going to the tate PVM. I simply turn that monitor on, turn off the yoko PVM, and let the monitor passthrough do the work. It is a simple setup but it works.

    Quote Originally Posted by Walter Benjamin
    As for the collector, his collection is never complete; even if he is missing but a single object, all that he has collected nevertheless remains fragmentary...

  3. #3
    Art of Typing Wiz
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,327
    Quote Originally Posted by gusmoney View Post
    A solution to think about.

    I have two PVMs setup, one tate and one yoko. All of my RGB consoles/SG are fed into the yoko PVM via a switch or alternate input (A + B) and if I have a need to play a game in tate, I have BNC passthrough going to the tate PVM. I simply turn that monitor on, turn off the yoko PVM, and let the monitor passthrough do the work. It is a simple setup but it works.
    This.

  4. #4
    Sultan of Slugs
    Wachenroder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles

    Posts
    2,580
    Yeah thats the thing. I ordered a set of BNC RGBs cables that I was planning to do exactly that with but I was thinking that both monitors needed to be on for that to work.

    So thats not the case?

  5. #5
    Unsure if You Asked
    For a custom Rank
    But Hell, why not.
    gusmoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    illadelph Snail Trail

    Posts
    1,258
    Quote Originally Posted by Wachenroder View Post
    Yeah thats the thing. I ordered a set of BNC RGBs cables that I was planning to do exactly that with but I was thinking that both monitors needed to be on for that to work.

    So thats not the case?
    That is not the case. The yoko monitor does not need to be on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Walter Benjamin
    As for the collector, his collection is never complete; even if he is missing but a single object, all that he has collected nevertheless remains fragmentary...

  6. #6
    Sultan of Slugs
    Wachenroder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles

    Posts
    2,580
    Quote Originally Posted by gusmoney View Post
    That is not the case. The yoko monitor does not need to be on.
    damn thats awesome so i just do like i planned and run YOKO PVM OUTPUT > BNC CABLE > TATE PVM BNC INPUT

    Thats it?

  7. #7
    Unsure if You Asked
    For a custom Rank
    But Hell, why not.
    gusmoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    illadelph Snail Trail

    Posts
    1,258
    That is the setup I have and it works for me. I will take some pics later.

    Quote Originally Posted by Walter Benjamin
    As for the collector, his collection is never complete; even if he is missing but a single object, all that he has collected nevertheless remains fragmentary...

  8. #8
    Art of Typing Wiz
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,327
    Quote Originally Posted by Wachenroder View Post
    damn thats awesome so i just do like i planned and run YOKO PVM OUTPUT > BNC CABLE > TATE PVM BNC INPUT

    Thats it?
    Yup that's what I do.

  9. #9
    You have been
    Officially WY'OWED!
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    4,791
    I have the same setup for my Saturn. Works great.

    If your PVM has switch(es) on the BNC inputs to choose from 75 ohms or OPEN, set them to OPEN when using this setup.
    Neo Geo AES #011035 #036442 | Neo Geo CD #0002814 | MVS Executive | Razion World Champion
    ATTN NOOBS: Jamma Nation X makes the best CMVS & Superguns, PERIOD! | Unofficial MVS and AES Price Guide
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    How many grails did Jesus have? What the fuck is wrong with people.

  10. #10
    Sultan of Slugs
    Wachenroder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles

    Posts
    2,580
    None of my monitors have those switches thankfully

    well damn I guess i should have waited until monoprice sent my cables and i would have figured this out on my own lol

    thanks guys.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •