Page 77 of 99 FirstFirst ... 276773747576777879808187 ... LastLast
Results 1,901 to 1,925 of 2468

Thread: PCE Super SD System 3 - Terraonion New Product (Dec 2017)

  1. #1901
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,626
    Ok...... I have been totally out of it for the last week with flu (I still have it now) so I don't know the full ins and outs of this. I took this to be related to the couple of people who say they got video issues with the rev 2 board....
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  2. #1902
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    Ok...... I have been totally out of it for the last week with flu (I still have it now) so I don't know the full ins and outs of this. I took this to be related to the couple of people who say they got video issues with the rev 2 board....
    This is more like caused by the own pcengine being noisy, we have a lot of pcengines and some are more noisy than others. The power supply and the cables used also affect, i would say its a mix of a lot of factors. (i am talking about the video, the audio noise is something different, we are going to work on a software update to reduce audio noise, next week)

    I am still waiting for Voultar to explain why Texas Instruments is wrong and he is right. I asked him last saturday about that but he didnīt gave me a clear answer, he just said that Texas Instruments were wrong, that theyr design was wrong cause this cap canīt be mounted this way, he didnīt provided any info i could use to contact Texas Instruments about that.

    I would like to write an email to Texas Instruments about this issue, but i cant just tell them : Hey, Voultar says your datasheet is wrong, is he right ? as soon as i got a reasonable answer, i will write Texas Instruments to have more info.
    Last edited by neosd; 04-03-2018 at 05:14 AM.
    Will i get 0 secconds loading times if i make a cluster of the entire size of the microsd ?



    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  3. #1903
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,011
    C60 IS installed backwards.

    That is a tantalum capacitor, correct?

    If so, the stripe on the end indicates that anode or positive side of the capacitor and not the negative side.


    Lets look at that TI diagram:




    This clearly shows the positive side of the cap hooked to the output side of each of the 4 channels of the amp.


    However on the SSDS3, C60 is pretty clearly installed the other way around with the negative side facing the amp:






    As a matter of fact, the silk screen for all 4 cap locations (C13, C14, C16 and C60) is upside down.



    Last edited by Yodd; 04-03-2018 at 05:16 AM.

  4. #1904
    Quote Originally Posted by Yodd View Post
    C60 IS installed backwards.

    That is a tantalum capacitor, correct?

    If so, the stripe on the end indicates that anode or positive side of the capacitor and not the negative side.


    Lets look at that TI diagram:




    This clearly shows the positive side of the cap hooked to the output side of each of the 4 channels of the amp.


    However on the SSDS3, C60 is pretty clearly installed the other way around with the negative side facing the amp:






    As a matter of fact, the silk screen for all 4 cap locations (C13, C14, C16 and C60) is upside down.



    There are several schematics on that datasheet, some show + pointing to the chip and other to the output (page 25 of the datasheet) so, which one is right, and, does it actually matter then?

    Also, it should only affect composite video, as rgb doesn't use the caps anymore, and csync is output in digital form
    Last edited by neodev; 04-03-2018 at 05:23 AM.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  5. #1905
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by Yodd View Post
    C60 IS installed backwards.

    That is a tantalum capacitor, correct?

    If so, the stripe on the end indicates that anode or positive side of the capacitor and not the negative side.


    Lets look at that TI diagram:




    This clearly shows the positive side of the cap hooked to the output side of each of the 4 channels of the amp.


    However on the SSDS3, C60 is pretty clearly installed the other way around with the negative side facing the amp:






    As a matter of fact, the silk screen for all 4 cap locations (C13, C14, C16 and C60) is upside down.



    Todd,

    I did a mistake while pasting the picture,

    I have edited the image, + is facing the output

    http://www.neosdstore.com/news/wp-co...04/ths7374.pdf

    Page 25 on the datasheet
    Last edited by neosd; 04-03-2018 at 05:37 AM.
    Will i get 0 secconds loading times if i make a cluster of the entire size of the microsd ?



    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  6. #1906
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,011
    Quote Originally Posted by neodev View Post
    There are several schematics on that datasheet, some show + pointing to the chip and other to the output (page 25 of the datasheet) so, which one is right, and, does it actually matter then?

    Also, it should only affect composite video, as rgb doesn't use the caps anymore, and csync is output in digital form

    well shit, I didn't realize this was for composite video. I had assumed you ran RGB and comp sync into the 7374.

  7. #1907
    Quote Originally Posted by Yodd View Post
    well shit, I didn't realize this was for composite video. I had assumed you ran RGB and comp sync into the 7374.
    Yes, Rgb goes through the amp but the caps are on the cable instead on on the pcb
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  8. #1908
    .
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Barcelona

    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by ArcadeHacker View Post
    Feb 1st 2018 order, got my shipping tracking today.
    Received my unit today, contents are in pristine condition. Any recommendations as to which video cable to use?

  9. #1909
    New Challenger
    elevengames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    West Des Moines

    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by ArcadeHacker View Post
    Received my unit today, contents are in pristine condition. Any recommendations as to which video cable to use?
    They both appear to be out of stock at the moment, but Retro Gaming Cables' PACKAPUNCH cables or Retro Access' Coax Multicore CSYNC cables would be your best options for RGB.

  10. #1910
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Canada

    Posts
    243
    Reading this thread, one thing comes to mind. I don't see how this device can rid of jailbars that are inherit in the PC Engine without modding the console itself as documented by Tim Worthington a few years ago:

    http://etim.net.au/av-driver/pcebars/

    Doesn't matter if you use this or Voultar's RGB amp, the console must be modded. Anyone that thinks an external device can fix an inherit flaw in how these consoles were made is mistaken. I think this explains why so many people complain about seeing jailbars. Those that don't, might be playing on previously modded consoles.

  11. #1911
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,011
    Quote Originally Posted by leonk View Post
    Reading this thread, one thing comes to mind. I don't see how this device can rid of jailbars that are inherit in the PC Engine without modding the console itself as documented by Tim Worthington a few years ago:

    http://etim.net.au/av-driver/pcebars/

    Doesn't matter if you use this or Voultar's RGB amp, the console must be modded. Anyone that thinks an external device can fix an inherit flaw in how these consoles were made is mistaken. I think this explains why so many people complain about seeing jailbars. Those that don't, might be playing on previously modded consoles.
    I don't think anyone has claimed it can get rid of jailbars. However I have seen some posts at Shmups where I think some people are confused about this and are mistaken Jailbars for other video noise.

  12. #1912
    Rugal's Panther
    RevQuixo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Hopewell, NJ USA

    Posts
    3,873
    Quote Originally Posted by leonk View Post
    Reading this thread, one thing comes to mind. I don't see how this device can rid of jailbars that are inherit in the PC Engine without modding the console itself as documented by Tim Worthington a few years ago:

    http://etim.net.au/av-driver/pcebars/

    Doesn't matter if you use this or Voultar's RGB amp, the console must be modded. Anyone that thinks an external device can fix an inherit flaw in how these consoles were made is mistaken. I think this explains why so many people complain about seeing jailbars. Those that don't, might be playing on previously modded consoles.
    This isn't jailbars. I've purchased a new PSU to see if perhaps my old one is dying..as that has been suggested as an issue (The SSDS3 and HD Retrovision cables requiring power)

    IMG_2343.JPG
    Last edited by RevQuixo; 04-03-2018 at 08:12 AM.

  13. #1913
    Kuroko's Training Dummy

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Arkansas, USA

    Posts
    71
    I'm not exactly buying the whole "oh, it's your console causing the interference" argument. I just installed Voultar's internal RGB amp in my Core Grafx last night (and had previously done the jailbar fix and fully recapped the console, prior to getting the SSDS3) and the RGB output from it (without the SSDS3 attached) is stunning. It's crystal clear and on par with my RGB modded Duo-R.

    However when I then attached the SSDS3, if I load games from the SSDS3 itself (particularly CD games) there is still noise added though greatly reduced by using the internal RGB amp I installed. I'll still need to get or make a stereo audio cable to hook to the SSDS3 for audio in CD games, but with the internal RGB amp I think the video noise is reduced to a level I can deal with now. I made a more detailed write-up in the thread over at the shmups forum if you're interested.
    Last edited by cr4zymanz0r; 04-03-2018 at 08:38 AM.

  14. #1914
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Neo NooNaN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Boston, MA

    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by Yodd View Post
    Voultar misspoke. That cap is inline for the composite sync output.
    He didn't really misspeak, just left a key word out. CSYNC is composite sync. The cap is backwards in line with using composite video as sync. Those are two different things. (I know that you know this, just clarifying as it read a bit confusing)

    So, as long as you're not using composite video as sync (or outputting composite video from the SSD3), you're fine.
    Last edited by Neo NooNaN; 04-03-2018 at 08:52 AM.

  15. #1915
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    trenton_net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by neodev View Post
    There are several schematics on that datasheet, some show + pointing to the chip and other to the output (page 25 of the datasheet) so, which one is right, and, does it actually matter then?

    Also, it should only affect composite video, as rgb doesn't use the caps anymore, and csync is output in digital form
    As someone who uses composite when visiting different locations (Without RGB hardware), how does the reversal of this component effect composite output? Will using composite damage the console or super SD system 3 in any way?

  16. #1916
    Rugal's Panther
    RevQuixo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Hopewell, NJ USA

    Posts
    3,873
    Quote Originally Posted by Neo NooNaN View Post
    He didn't really misspeak, just left a key word out. CSYNC is composite sync. The cap is backwards in line with using composite video as sync. Those are two different things. (I know that you know this, just clarifying as it read a bit confusing)

    So, as long as you're not using composite video as sync (or outputting composite video from the SSD3), you're fine.
    So do not use HD Retrovision cables, composite video sync based RGB cables or "old school" composite video cable (yellow, red, white)...

    So the million dollar question, what will happen if we do use them?

  17. #1917
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,011
    Quote Originally Posted by Neo NooNaN View Post
    He didn't really misspeak, just left a key word out. CSYNC is composite sync. The cap is backwards in line with using composite video as sync. Those are two different things. (I know that you know this, just clarifying as it read a bit confusing)

    So, as long as you're not using composite video as sync (or outputting composite video from the SSD3), you're fine.
    This has already been covered several posts up. I was mistaken when I said composite sync. Voultar was correct.

  18. #1918
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,011
    Quote Originally Posted by RevQuixo View Post
    So the million dollar question, what will happen if we do use them?
    Last edited by Yodd; 04-03-2018 at 09:23 AM.

  19. #1919
    N00b of Syougi monads's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    neoland

    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by trenton_net View Post
    As someone who uses composite when visiting different locations (Without RGB hardware), how does the reversal of this component effect composite output? Will using composite damage the console or super SD system 3 in any way?
    Same here, I'm a little confused by all this now. I've been using a regular genesis2 AV cable connected to the SD System3 with an old CRT. Is this not correct or harmful now?

  20. #1920
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    12
    Mine arrived today, but I had very little time to try it, since ATM I'm still at work -_-

    Anyway, great packaging, and it works wonders on my original, white PCE with Megadrive PSU and Retro Gaming Cables' Megadrive 2 RGB cable on a SONY Trinitron. Waiting for a replacement Super Grafx PSU to arrive, so I can switch console, but the result is really awesome, and well worth the wait.

    Thank you again, Terraonion.

  21. #1921
    Crossed Swords Squire

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Ohio,USA

    Posts
    201
    Quote Originally Posted by monads View Post
    Same here, I'm a little confused by all this now. I've been using a regular genesis2 AV cable connected to the SD System3 with an old CRT. Is this not correct or harmful now?
    Yes it is not correct and has the potential to be harmful.

    Hey Alex! I would be willing to swap the caps around for people in the US if it would be ok with you and your team.

  22. #1922
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by MobiusStripTech View Post
    Yes it is not correct and has the potential to be harmful.

    Hey Alex! I would be willing to swap the caps around for people in the US if it would be ok with you and your team.
    I am tired, i canīt live with this anymore.

    I am considering those options right now :

    Not selling any more Super SD System 3 and ship all pending orders.

    Put my time in other thing and move along.

    I canīt live with all this shit alone. Sorry, i got burnt by you guys and this RGB party. Well done
    Will i get 0 secconds loading times if i make a cluster of the entire size of the microsd ?



    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  23. #1923
    Southtown Streetwalker
    F4U57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    NSW

    Posts
    6,485
    Take a week off and relax man, geez.

    I have a pending order and I’m in no rush for it to be delivered.

    You guy do amazing work. Just take this in your stride as a learning experience and move forward.

    Head up. Seriously, take some time off before your physical and mental health shuts down.

  24. #1924
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    5
    I agree. This is a very unique product and I'm absolutely thrilled with mine so far. The RGB video looks awesome and the slight buzz in the audio is hardly noticeable on my SuperGrafx. As long as it's not going to do any damage to my hardware, I'm extremely satisfied. I think it might be wise to stop selling units for now until some of these issues get ironed out. Hopefully that will also give you guys some time to decompress and regain some strength from all of this. Don't give up or be deterred. The retro gaming community needs guys like you to develop these amazing devices so we can continue to enjoy the classics. I'm behind TO 100% and look forward to the new "toys" you guys have in the works.

  25. #1925
    Robert Garcia's Butler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,277
    Quote Originally Posted by MobiusStripTech View Post
    Yes it is not correct and has the potential to be harmful.

    Hey Alex! I would be willing to swap the caps around for people in the US if it would be ok with you and your team.
    Sorry, maybe I am missing something here, but how exactly is a coupling cap being the wrong way around having the potential to be harmful? The level is so very low, and that kind of thing happened in Amiga 500's with the audio coupling caps - they lasted 30+ years and still work perfectly today despite the caps being the wrong way around. Not having a go here, just trying to understand what the concerns actually are!

    EDIT: Is this a bypass cap? Just trying to catch up - bear with me!
    Last edited by GadgetUK; 04-03-2018 at 10:10 AM.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •