Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 72 of 72

Thread: Damn Scalers

  1. #51
    New Challenger
    pva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Finland

    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZ_HOE! View Post
    People need to start posting TV input lag results just as much as scaler results so people could buy the right combo. I'm not ready to replace my 50inch Samsung just so I could play retro games on it but maybe some people will.
    I'm not yet ready to part with my 2013 Panasonic plasma either, but from what I've read, the TCL 43S405 is supposed to have really low lag and to be highly compatible with the OSSC. Sadly, I haven't found any retailers that carry it here on the Old Continent.

    I've found HDTVtest's input lag database (they have a rigorous measurement approach) and VGP's OSSC TV compatibility thread to be great resources for researching options for replacing my current display, should it give up the ghost or should I get bitten by the 4K upgrade bug.

  2. #52

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    7,575
    PC mode is by far the best on Samsungs, at least ones without HDR. You do that by renaming the input, of all things. Then you don't need to worry about much else.

  3. #53
    New Challenger
    pva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Finland

    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Morden View Post
    Honestly, I'm leaning towards OSSC and have been for a while, but people say that compatibility with TVs is a gamble, which doesn't sound good at all. Plus, OSSC has issues of its own.
    I own both a FM and an OSSC. I bought the FM first, because the OSSC was unavailable at the time (the availability has improved notably since). While the PQ on the FM can be fantastic when using FBX's integer scaling profiles (thanks, FBX!), I find the higher lag quite jarring compared to the OSSC. The only reason I haven't sold off the FM is that the OSSC doesn't do S-Video, which I still need for my C64.

    Yes, the OSSC has it's shortcomings, but unlike the FM, the firmware is still in active development (the last release was yesterday), and bugs are being fixed and new features are being introduced. The FM, in contrast, is going out of production this year, and Micomsoft hasn't announced a successor yet.

  4. #54
    New Challenger
    pva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Finland

    Posts
    29
    Also, the OSSC's developer is a fellow Finn, so there's that, too.


  5. #55
    Kula's Candy
    Morden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Neo Geo World

    Posts
    309
    Quote Originally Posted by pva View Post
    Also, the OSSC's developer is a fellow Finn, so there's that, too.
    Yksi! Kaksi! Perkele!

    That's the extent of my Finnish. Well ... maybe plus a handful of other random words, like maito [it's good for your bones!], or rauta [thanks, K-Rauta], or koira [much better than a cat, because cats are retarded].

  6. #56
    Loyal Neo-Disciple
    moonwhistle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    989
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZ_HOE! View Post
    Really? I tried changing to different settings on my TV and the one that has the brighter picture clearer picture is dynamic. All the other Pre-Sets the picture looks dim. I think it's Dynamic that I have it set to but I could be wrong. I know it's the bright colorful one. I know if I put it on Game Mode I lose a ton of clarity.
    Yep. Dynamic just bangs up the contrast, backlight, colours and post processing to ridiculous levels. Brighter isn't always better and this mode will give a very unnatural blue tint to everything. I'd recommend cinema or warm. It's been that way for every TV I've had. Trying checking AV forums for the recommended setting for your model. It only takes a couple of minutes and your eyes will thank you. It's the first thing I do whenever I get a new TV.

  7. #57
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by moonwhistle View Post
    Yep. Dynamic just bangs up the contrast, backlight, colours and post processing to ridiculous levels. Brighter isn't always better and this mode will give a very unnatural blue tint to everything. I'd recommend cinema or warm. It's been that way for every TV I've had. Trying checking AV forums for the recommended setting for your model. It only takes a couple of minutes and your eyes will thank you. It's the first thing I do whenever I get a new TV.
    Yea, I like bright. I like contrast, I like high backlight, hate dim.

    I don't like seeing that shade of white on my blacks from cranking up the brightness. But I like the black to be black and the whites to pop. Same for the colors. I prefer the cooler blue over the warm as I tried the warm and didn't like it.
    Last edited by RAZO; 11-01-2017 at 07:39 PM.

  8. #58
    Loyal Neo-Disciple
    moonwhistle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    989
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZ_HOE! View Post
    Yea, I like bright. I like contrast, I like high backlight, hate dim.

    I don't like seeing that shade of white on my blacks from cranking up the brightness. But I like the black to be black and the whites to pop. Same for the colors. I prefer the cooler blue over the warm as I tried the warm and didn't like it.
    Fair enough!

    Here's some detail by the aforementioned AV nazis on the very subject: https://www.avforums.com/threads/war...d-mode.876997/

  9. #59
    There can be only one. Syn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Crap they're tearing down the Palace of Auburn Hills. I guess it's I-75 & M-59 now.

    Posts
    5,525
    Right now, I hate that no one wants my damn scaler!

  10. #60
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by moonwhistle View Post
    Fair enough!

    Here's some detail by the aforementioned AV nazis on the very subject: https://www.avforums.com/threads/war...d-mode.876997/
    I will try your way for a month and see if I like it better.

    Thanks for the link bro.
    Last edited by RAZO; 11-01-2017 at 07:57 PM.

  11. #61
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by Syn View Post
    Right now, I hate that no one wants my damn scaler!
    It will move. Framemeister's move quick here so I don't see why the OSSC wouldnt.

  12. #62
    There can be only one. Syn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Crap they're tearing down the Palace of Auburn Hills. I guess it's I-75 & M-59 now.

    Posts
    5,525
    I know

    This is where the slow traffic shows. Most of my single item threads last an hour or so in the past.

    A lot of us seem to be posting/interacting with new members so we'll reap what we're sowing.

  13. #63
    Die Gans

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    3,876
    My Candy 18 has a piece of tinted plexi over the screen and that makes a difference. Still using the old GBS with a SLG-3000.

    Quote Originally Posted by Morden View Post
    Yksi! Kaksi! Perkele!
    Kolme (picked that up when my cousin was talking to his son) and to me it sounds as if you've been watching The Dudesons.
    Originally Posted by kernow:
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  14. #64
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    ggallegos1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Milford, CT

    Posts
    2,690
    Quote Originally Posted by Syn View Post
    I know

    This is where the slow traffic shows. Most of my single item threads last an hour or so in the past.

    A lot of us seem to be posting/interacting with new members so we'll reap what we're sowing.
    If it was the HDMI version I would have jumped on it instantly. Surprised it hasn't moved just the same.

    On topic, I've been using a 2012-ish LG as my main gaming TV due to a built in sound bar and 4 HDMI ports. I'm using one of the $40 RGB SCART-HDMI converters and it does the job for what I want. I do want a high quality upscaled, as the clarity effect and lag is jarring in 32 and 64 bit games such as PS1, Saturn, and N64. I just want an effective and high quality all-in-one for everything RGB .
    "I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul."
    3DS Friend code: 4811-7358-8350

    Quote Originally Posted by ObeyMyEgo View Post
    ggallegos1 Is a cock sucking faggot. That is all.

  15. #65
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by ggallegos1 View Post
    If it was the HDMI version I would have jumped on it instantly. Surprised it hasn't moved just the same.

    On topic, I've been using a 2012-ish LG as my main gaming TV due to a built in sound bar and 4 HDMI ports. I'm using one of the $40 RGB SCART-HDMI converters and it does the job for what I want. I do want a high quality upscaled, as the clarity effect and lag is jarring in 32 and 64 bit games such as PS1, Saturn, and N64. I just want an effective and high quality all-in-one for everything RGB .
    Dvi to HDMI adapters are pretty cheap on Amazon. That's all you need for the ossc.

  16. #66
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,572
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZ_HOE! View Post
    Dvi to HDMI adapters are pretty cheap on Amazon. That's all you need for the ossc.
    and it's included in the package...too bad it's gone...
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  17. #67
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    ggallegos1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Milford, CT

    Posts
    2,690
    Quote Originally Posted by Neodogg View Post
    and it's included in the package...too bad it's gone...
    Ah, i thought that only pushed video and not sound. You love and learn
    "I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul."
    3DS Friend code: 4811-7358-8350

    Quote Originally Posted by ObeyMyEgo View Post
    ggallegos1 Is a cock sucking faggot. That is all.

  18. #68
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by ggallegos1 View Post
    Ah, i thought that only pushed video and not sound. You love and learn
    I'm not sure but I think it only pushes video. You have to run separate audio wires for sound.

  19. #69
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,572
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZ_HOE! View Post
    I'm not sure but I think it only pushes video. You have to run separate audio wires for sound.
    I believe this is correct but for my application it'll be fine since I'll run the video to the projector and audio to the receiver.
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  20. #70
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    ggallegos1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Milford, CT

    Posts
    2,690
    Quote Originally Posted by Neodogg View Post
    I believe this is correct but for my application it'll be fine since I'll run the video to the projector and audio to the receiver.
    Yeah the way my setup is currently, an all-in-one solution is best due to space. I'll wait around for an HDMI one to pop up ubtil then.
    "I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul."
    3DS Friend code: 4811-7358-8350

    Quote Originally Posted by ObeyMyEgo View Post
    ggallegos1 Is a cock sucking faggot. That is all.

  21. #71
    New Challenger
    pva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Finland

    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZ_HOE! View Post
    I'm not sure but I think it only pushes video. You have to run separate audio wires for sound.
    Quote Originally Posted by ggallegos1 View Post
    I'll wait around for an HDMI one to pop up ubtil then.
    The other option is to go for a v1.5 model with a HDMI audio add-on board, which allows you to send both digital audio and video down the DVI connector.

  22. #72
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by pva View Post
    The other option is to go for a v1.5 model with a HDMI audio add-on board, which allows you to send both digital audio and video down the DVI connector.
    I'll keep this in mind if I ever get one. Thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •