Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Neo Geo CMVS video noise & brightness issues on RGB SCART via Framemeister.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Neo Geo Cup '98
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    162

    Neo Geo CMVS video noise & brightness issues on RGB SCART via Framemeister.

    Okay, I am now completely stumped. I have been trying to figure out how to fix the various issues with my Consolized MVS via RGB SCART on my XRGB Mini Framemeister. Without tinkering any of the settings and using profiles from the pixel purest, the video comes out extremely bright and I can see a ton of video noise in Dark Shades of color. Reducing the brightness to 7 does take care of the brightness issue, however I can still see a ton of video noise and no matter how low I set the brightness I can still see it without much effort. The power supply I am using was recommended to me by the amazing Xian Xi, who also revised my CMVS. At first I was thinking it was my power strip, but playing any other console with RGB scart cables on the framemeister yields no video noise. So I am completely at a loss here, just what exactly is causing all of these issues? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    I should also note, I have talked to Xian Xi about the brightness issue before, and he reccomended I put 75-100ohm resistors in the RGB lines. It didn't work, hence why I found turning brightness to 7 worked best.
    Last edited by CloudGamerX; 10-02-2017 at 11:52 AM.

  2. #2
    We have purposely
    trained him wrong
    ...as a joke.
    ChuChu Flamingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US

    Posts
    1,752
    Sounds like interference to me.

    -What type/manufacturer are your RGB Scart cables both on the framemeister and output of your supergun

    -Are you using a Scart switcher of some sort?

    -How long are the total lengths of both and are they fully shielded?

    -What power supply specifically

    This information will help.



    And there is a main xrgb thread where you would probably get an answer faster.

    https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=33450

    It could also be something related to this, but below are SNES symptoms that sound a lot like what you're saying.

    https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=52828
    Last edited by ChuChu Flamingo; 10-02-2017 at 02:47 PM.


    he spends hundreds on scarves, of course he's a fag and then ChuChu Flamingo preserved the aftermath in a plastic case making sure it wasn't exposed to unstable air
    You're just upset that you're too goddam stupid to understand the games and whiff infinites.

  3. #3
    Neo Geo Cup '98
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    162
    Okay, Answering questions:
    1) No supergun, but my cable came from retro_console_accessories

    2) no switcher...yet

    3) 1.5 Meters, shielded but RGB wires are not individually shielded like my SNES cable I made myself.

    4) PSU used: https://m.ebay.com/itm/Replacement-5...10?_mwBanner=1

  4. #4
    We have purposely
    trained him wrong
    ...as a joke.
    ChuChu Flamingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US

    Posts
    1,752
    For the output of your RGBS on your CMVS is it 75 ohms or TTL specifically sync? Correct me if I am wrong, but the video sync signals coming from the mvs are certainly TTL level and need to be properly attenuated at the source (the mod on your consoles output) or attenuated with the right resistor and capacitor in your scart cables if using with a framemeister. Framemeister certainly expects 75 ohms on its input.

    Posting this video for the millionth time, but here is a good way to see what components are in your SCART cable.

    Last edited by ChuChu Flamingo; 10-02-2017 at 04:57 PM.


    he spends hundreds on scarves, of course he's a fag and then ChuChu Flamingo preserved the aftermath in a plastic case making sure it wasn't exposed to unstable air
    You're just upset that you're too goddam stupid to understand the games and whiff infinites.

  5. #5
    Neo Geo Cup '98
    CloudGamerX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of Americans

    Posts
    162
    I am not entirely sure, but I know applying the usual resistor fix causes the video to not appear at all. So I guess Xian Xi already applied the sync fix internally.

  6. #6
    Chang's Grocer
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    4,569
    Don't forget to set your multimeter to this to check for unstable air:

    hurricane (Custom).png

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •