Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Golden Axe PCB and Choplifter PCB questions

  1. #1
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191

    Golden Axe PCB and Choplifter PCB questions

    Hello!

    I have a couple of boards that I'm trying to get going in my blast city cab. It's the same cab where I run my mvs 1-slot. I have the right adapters. The Choplifter has a red light on the board, and this lights up so I'm assuming the board is getting power. I don't get a screen or sound though. The Golden Axe board gives me great sound, good controls, and accepts credits. The picture is very garbled though. Any thoughts? Could it be a voltage issue? This cab runs my Captain America board, RoboCop board, and other boards just fine. I'm pretty new at this, but I'm looking to get better.

    Thanks for the help!

    John
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

  2. #2
    Zero's Tailor
    egg_sanwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada

    Posts
    711
    Do the boards work properly in other cabs?

  3. #3
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191
    I was told they work in other cabs before I purchased them. I do have another blast city that I run my dreamcast in, and neither of the boards run in that cab. I'm bummed.
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

  4. #4
    Zero's Tailor
    egg_sanwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada

    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyFever View Post
    I was told they work in other cabs before I purchased them. I do have another blast city that I run my dreamcast in, and neither of the boards run in that cab. I'm bummed.
    Sounds like an issue with the boards then. There's nothing unique to a Jamma wired blast city vs other cabs, and it sounds like the common thread are the boards not working.

    Where'd you get them from? Might be best to contact the seller to sort it out.

  5. #5
    Bub & Bob's Bubble Buddy
    Fox1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    4,058
    Quote Originally Posted by egg_sanwich View Post
    Sounds like an issue with the boards then. There's nothing unique to a Jamma wired blast city vs other cabs, and it sounds like the common thread are the boards not working.

    Where'd you get them from? Might be best to contact the seller to sort it out.
    Actually it's known that blast cities hate a lot of PCBS..mainly due to the power supply iirc, so I would test it in another non-blast city cabinet first.





    In with the real hardware, out with the bootlegs......who is this I wonder?

    Don't piss off cats or you'll get the Nyanyan Uppercut!

  6. #6
    Zero's Tailor
    egg_sanwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada

    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox1 View Post
    Actually it's known that blast cities hate a lot of PCBS..mainly due to the power supply iirc, so I would test it in another non-blast city cabinet first.
    Didn't know this. Related to voltages or?

  7. #7
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191
    That's what I'm having a hard time understanding. How can that cab play at least five other boards but struggle with there two.
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

  8. #8
    Samurai Shodown Swordsmith
    themisterfalcon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    4,336
    Hey Johnny, I tried to PM you back but your box is full.

    For starters - yes it sounds like it could be a voltage problem. I highly suggest you get a voltage board from JNX for a quick read out or learn the basics of a multimeter and test your cabinet under load. Older boards specifically can be super finicky if you are straying too far north or south of 5.0X.

    Can you please post a video of Golden Axe running on YouTube or something similar so myself (and others) can see the problem? (email still isn't working on that one)

    You're always welcome to send it back so I can test here. However, finding someone locally to rule out the cabinet is going to be more cost effective and lower risk. DM me back when you can.

    No clue about Choplifter, sorry :/

  9. #9
    Zero's Tailor
    egg_sanwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada

    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by themisterfalcon View Post
    Hey Johnny, I tried to PM you back but your box is full.

    For starters - yes it sounds like it could be a voltage problem. I highly suggest you get a voltage board from JNX for a quick read out or learn the basics of a multimeter and test your cabinet under load. Older boards specifically can be super finicky if you are straying too far north or south of 5.0X.

    Can you please post a video of Golden Axe running on YouTube or something similar so myself (and others) can see the problem? (email still isn't working on that one)

    You're always welcome to send it back so I can test here. However, finding someone locally to rule out the cabinet is going to be more cost effective and lower risk. DM me back when you can.

    No clue about Choplifter, sorry :/
    Good advice. A cheap multimeter will help a lot in this situation, check out amazon even.

    The PCBs are from a reputable source, so worth looking into before sending back.

  10. #10
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,011
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyFever View Post
    That's what I'm having a hard time understanding. How can that cab play at least five other boards but struggle with there two.
    None of my cabs play 100% of boards, or not without issue. I want to pasky had the same problem with Guardians on his blast. Of the 3 jamma cabs I have, certain boards have their quirks on each.

  11. #11
    Samurai Shodown Swordsmith
    themisterfalcon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    4,336
    Quote Originally Posted by radiantsvgun View Post
    None of my cabs play 100% of boards, or not without issue. I want to pasky had the same problem with Guardians on his blast. Of the 3 jamma cabs I have, certain boards have their quirks on each.
    Yep that's why you need more than one cabinet! Get on it Johnny, lol.

  12. #12
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191
    Hey fellas!

    Thanks for all of the help. I'm going to score a multimeter, and I'll get that video posted. I'm excited to get these boards running.

    I do have two cabs! The other cab is used as a dedicated Dreamcast machine. I guess I should say it's my SF machine....so good. The boards don't run on it, either. Ugggh.

    John
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

  13. #13
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191
    https://youtu.be/n2tD7naWtWI

    I ordered a jnx connector and I'm waiting for it's delivery. The link above is a video of the have running.
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

  14. #14
    Samurai Shodown Swordsmith
    themisterfalcon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    4,336
    Golden Axe definitely looks like a monitor sync issue. Is your Blast auto or manual switching?

  15. #15
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191
    I believe it's auto.
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

  16. #16
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191
    I tried adjusting the screen res to 15 khz. No luck.
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

  17. #17
    Ninja Combat Warrior
    ShootTheCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Logan UT USA

    Posts
    691
    Choplifter isn't JAMMA-you need an adapter like this to have it work on a JAMMA cabinet:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sega-System-...8AAOSwwE5WUtxy

  18. #18
    Likes Football.
    Lives in teh USA.
    Go Figure.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    1,328
    Quote Originally Posted by ShootTheCore View Post
    Choplifter isn't JAMMA-you need an adapter like this to have it work on a JAMMA cabinet:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sega-System-...8AAOSwwE5WUtxy
    OP says he's using the right adapters.
    Take a bite out of crime.

  19. #19
    Sakura's Bank Manager
    ahcmetal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St. Paul

    Posts
    880
    I had the same problem with an X-Men board...good sound, controls worked, but the screen rolled just like your golden axe board is...

    The chip on the board that handled the sync went bad and needed to be changed...

    THE MADNESS!!!

  20. #20
    Crossed Swords Squire
    JohnnyFever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I'm at WKRP in Cincinatti...

    Posts
    191
    Thanks for the help, guys! Just tried a Golden Axe: Revenge of Death Adder board. It's working fine. I'm going to hold out for my JNX adapter and see what it tells me.

    Thanks again!

    John
    Just when they think they have all the answers I go and change all the questions." -Rowdy Roddy Piper

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •