Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Naomi 2 Blinking Checkerboard Pattern

  1. #1
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    Morden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Neo Geo World

    Posts
    231

    icon28.gif Naomi 2 Blinking Checkerboard Pattern

    Yesterday my Naomi 2 played just fine. Today, when I tried booting up Virtua Fighter 4, I got a blinking checkerboard pattern, no sound and a whole lot of slowdown.

    I did a quick search and people seem to think it's a bad processor that might need replacing, or at the very least, reflowing. Is there anything else this could be?

    I'm powering it with a PC power supply, connected via Capcom I/O. I only run power and USB for controls through the I/O. I use sound and VGA outputs from the Naomi directly. It runs a Net DIMM as well. Here's a video of the problem:



    Naomi games work just fine. Naomi 2 don't. The blinking is even visible in the game settings menu. When I go into test mode and choose the game options, even though it's just a white text against a black background, I can see the squares blinking.

    P.S. - If it is a bad processor, is there someone near or in Sweden who'd be willing to fix this? The closest person I can think of is Raz, but I don't know if he's into that sort of thing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Morden; 09-09-2017 at 03:41 AM.

  2. #2
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    565
    I always thought the checkerboard fault was down to the second GPU that the Naomi 2 has, which is why Naomi 1 games work fine but Naomi 2 games don't work. A reflow might help but as far as I know it's always a temporary fix and breaks again after a short period of time.
    My favourite pigeon had a fatal run-in with a cloud...

  3. #3
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    Morden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Neo Geo World

    Posts
    231
    Quote Originally Posted by pulstar View Post
    I always thought the checkerboard fault was down to the second GPU that the Naomi 2 has, which is why Naomi 1 games work fine but Naomi 2 games don't work. A reflow might help but as far as I know it's always a temporary fix and breaks again after a short period of time.
    This would suggest overheating, similar to the problems with some Xbox 360 models. The GPU itself isn't broken, but it won't stay soldered properly. Is that what's happening? I always thought both Naomi models had enough fans to cool everything. They're loud as hell.

    Some people outright remove the fan pulling the air in. Supposedly, it doesn't make that much of a difference, as they're only useful in case of non-stop operation inside a cabinet. I connect mine to a TV. It's just sitting on the floor. It does have all of its fans however.

    Would the GPU fail again after reflowing and a fan swap?

    Update: This is the result of the RAM test.

    IMG_20170909_141603.jpg
    Last edited by Morden; 09-09-2017 at 07:23 AM.

  4. #4
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    565
    So, it looks like it could be two issues then. According to a post by AndyGeezer (4th post down) in this thread, it seems that because you're game is running slow and it has the checkerboard. Is IC117 a piece of RAM? Couldn't hurt to replace it at least and if that doesn't work try and reflow the second GPU and yes, it is a problem to Xbox 360 where the GPU is fine but overheating has caused a problem with the BGA connection and it needs to be reflowed.

    Here's a link to that thread https://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic.php?t=18847
    My favourite pigeon had a fatal run-in with a cloud...

  5. #5
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    Morden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Neo Geo World

    Posts
    231
    Quote Originally Posted by pulstar View Post
    Is IC117 a piece of RAM? Couldn't hurt to replace it at least and if that doesn't work try and reflow the second GPU
    It is. It's a Samsung K4S161622H-TC60 16Mb H-die x32 SDRAM. Unfortunately, I don't have necessary equipment to deal with this, as a soldering iron alone just won't do. Not to mention the GPU. So again, if anyone in Sweden, Scandinavia or even Europe would like to help me out with this, I'd really appreciate it. I'm not expecting anyone to do any charity work, either.

    Naomi2BadRam.jpg

    Here's a picture of IC117. It seems to be soldered in place. I honestly have no idea why it would just die. The gunk on top of it looks to be ancient hot glue. Could this be a GPU issue as well, which Naomi 2 identifies incorrectly as a RAM failure? Does the Naomi 2 GPU even give an error in the test menu?

  6. #6
    Angel's Love Slave
    LegoSlug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, CA

    Posts
    1,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Morden View Post
    It is. It's a Samsung K4S161622H-TC60 16Mb H-die x32 SDRAM. Unfortunately, I don't have necessary equipment to deal with this, as a soldering iron alone just won't do. Not to mention the GPU. So again, if anyone in Sweden, Scandinavia or even Europe would like to help me out with this, I'd really appreciate it. I'm not expecting anyone to do any charity work, either.

    Naomi2BadRam.jpg

    Here's a picture of IC117. It seems to be soldered in place. I honestly have no idea why it would just die. The gunk on top of it looks to be ancient hot glue. Could this be a GPU issue as well, which Naomi 2 identifies incorrectly as a RAM failure? Does the Naomi 2 GPU even give an error in the test menu?
    Looks like you found the culprit. Any electronics repair shops where you live? You can tell them what you need done. Seems like you pin pointed it.

    Line up: Neo 25, Super Neo 29, Astro City, New Net City (x2), Crazy Taxi Stand Up

  7. #7
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Geekman1222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Carolina

    Posts
    72
    I have a Capcom VS SNK Millinium fight 2000 cart i got in unknown condition for dirt cheap that has a bad rom chip on it. Been meaning to fix it. Anyways if i ever used it it would just randomly stop working (i suppose when it accessed the bad rom). So its very possible thats your issue it just cant read something properly! You can get a new rom programmed to replace that one and just have them swapped.

  8. #8
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    Morden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Neo Geo World

    Posts
    231
    Quote Originally Posted by LegoSlug View Post
    Looks like you found the culprit. Any electronics repair shops where you live? You can tell them what you need done. Seems like you pin pointed it.
    Unfortunately, no. I live in a relatively small town. We had one repair shop, but people don't get things repaired these days. They just buy new stuff. The guy went out of business. Serves him right, though. He was charging insane amounts of money. One of my previous jobs was at a place manufacturing industrial security systems and other electronics. Back then, I would just take it to work, but that place is gone as well. It's a simple enough fix if you have the right tools, but again, I don't have the tools, so if anyone is willing to help, that would be great.

    Quote Originally Posted by Geekman1222
    I have a Capcom VS SNK Millinium fight 2000 cart i got in unknown condition for dirt cheap that has a bad rom chip on it. Been meaning to fix it. Anyways if i ever used it it would just randomly stop working (i suppose when it accessed the bad rom). So its very possible thats your issue it just cant read something properly! You can get a new rom programmed to replace that one and just have them swapped.
    Like I said before, it's a SDRAM chip on the Naomi 2 board itself. At least that's what Naomi's RAM test is telling me. The game data is fine, but the Naomi isn't getting that 16Mb from IC117. I hope that's the only issue with it. The symptoms are almost identical to the GPU failure, though.
    Last edited by Morden; 09-10-2017 at 11:42 AM.

  9. #9
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Geekman1222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Carolina

    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by Morden View Post

    Like I said before, it's a SDRAM chip on the Naomi 2 board itself. At least that's what Naomi's RAM test is telling me. The game data is fine, but the Naomi isn't getting that 16Mb from IC117. I hope that's the only issue with it. The symptoms are almost identical to the GPU failure, though.
    Oh woops LOL I did not catch that. Missing or Corrupted ram chips could likely also do that, lets hope thats the only thing wrong. Best of luck

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •