Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: X-Men Vs SF scrambled backgrounds.

  1. #1
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    587

    X-Men Vs SF scrambled backgrounds.

    I have this XVSF japanese board that has already been phoenixed by Razoola (I sent him the eeproms) which shows glitched backgrounds, character sprites look fine, sound is ok too, at first I thought it was a jumper problem, but it seems this not the case, I have also been told that it could be PAL-F (tyranix95) so this is what I have tried so far:

    -checked and double checked the jumpers which are like this:

    C= closed
    O= open

    COOC CO OCCOCO COCOCOCO COCOCOCO

    -swapped the PAL-F,

    -tried with another B boards

    -when I run the memory check from the service all roms check OK!

    picture of the board running:



    It is possible that this board is a different version of the game but using different jumper settings?
    Last edited by chinitosoccer; 09-07-2017 at 09:56 PM.

  2. #2
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,499
    Check all the chips and see if they are done all the way. Also check the Pins on the X-Men Board and make sure none of them are bent or broken.

    That kind of looks like my Marvel Vs Capcom board that has a broken trace.
    Last edited by RAZO; 09-07-2017 at 10:04 PM.

  3. #3
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    587
    As I said in the op, I have tried transplating all the chips into other working B boards from other games I have, also tried different PAL-F's, so definitely not a board issue, I have been wondering that it might have something to do with a bad maskrom perhaps?... , even if all of them pass OK! when I run the memory tests?.

  4. #4
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,613
    You try reseating the b board I assume
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  5. #5
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    587
    Well, off course, like a hundred times since I have been switching b boards, transplanting maskroms/eproms and PALs, changing jumpers etc., and as I said in the op I have also tried many A boards, same issue.
    Last edited by chinitosoccer; 09-08-2017 at 09:15 AM.

  6. #6
    Likes Football.
    Lives in teh USA.
    Go Figure.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    1,464
    Double check the jumpers, maybe? I've read an issue from someone (XX or Channelmaniac) say the jumpers weren't open due to excessive solder still making a connection, so maybe do a continuity test just to be sure.
    Dangerous! Most dangerous!

  7. #7
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    587
    Done that too, besides almost none of my boards have those solder bubbles on the closed jumpers, they have just a factory thin copper trace in the center, which means the board have never been converted from other game by Capcom.
    Last edited by chinitosoccer; 09-08-2017 at 11:19 AM.

  8. #8
    Crossed Swords Squire
    Sypth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Chicago

    Posts
    202
    Did you double check the EPROMs you put in and make sure none of the legs are sticking out or crunched? Has this game ever been working correctly?

  9. #9
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    587
    The game was working, I got this board in 2001-2002 I believe, never changed its battery so it died, the eproms were sent to Razoola in 2012?, but as you said, it could be that one of the eproms got damaged on its way back to me, or maybe its one the masks that is bad, even if all of them check OK! when I ran the memory test in the service menu, I don't have a eprom programmer to check them either, the one I have connects to the PC through the LPT port and I don't have my old WinXP computer anymore.
    Last edited by chinitosoccer; 09-08-2017 at 04:52 PM.

  10. #10
    Viewpoint Vigilante
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,225
    Cheapest option is probably to hunt down a crappy old PC with an LPT port so you can check all the ROMs using your existing programmer.

    Outside of that, you might consider getting a Top3000 or GQ-4x programmer as they are quite handy to have for this hobby.

  11. #11
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    587
    Sadly the 2nd option is my only option, burn $150+ in a USB programmer.

  12. #12
    CPS2 Person.
    mainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Torrance, California, USA

    Posts
    3,481
    Transplanting mask roms from board to board requires more thought, you just don't slap the mask rom onto another board and expect things to work. I notice you said you did change jumpers on the board you tried to swamp the roms to, did you check with a multimeter the connection. Also was this board wired for a pal F
    Last edited by mainman; 09-11-2017 at 08:29 PM.


    Throne of Games


    Quote Originally Posted by darksoft View Post
    Don't hide it, you are angry beacuse if a multiboot is made, you will not be the only one that can Play Progear

  13. #13
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    587
    The B boards I chose to move the chips were all PAL-F: X-Men Cota, MSH and another X-Men VS SF.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •