Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Namco 256 Tekken 4 help

  1. #1
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    4

    Namco 256 Tekken 4 help

    myklindle
    Namco 256 Tekken 4 help
    PostYesterday, 11:41 pm
    Hey guys, I just picked up a Namco 256 set up and I'm real new to the hardware. I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction

    Its a namco 256 main board, and a namco I/o hooked up to my jaleco Pony MK II 22. T5.1 works great and boots no problem, so I'm pretty sure my mainboard, power situation, and dvd drive are all in check.

    Now I know I need to adjust the jumper on the mainboard of the 256 to the 246+ setting which I have done. When I insert the dongle and disc the system will start to load and boot the "Tekken4 will begin momentarily. " screen with the the flashing period, and the system hangs. Now I'm used to Naomi stuff and some times when switching from gd rom games to carts the system can take a few minutes to boot the main screen, so I let the cab run an hour, and it never boots. I can go into the test screen and get all of the options for t4 and adjust them, but when you leave it Just sits there telling me it will boot momentarily... Mocking me with its flashing period.

    Like I mentioned it seems like my hardware should be good given t5 works fine. I've heard of 256/246 compatibility issues but never with t4. Could this be a corrupted dongle? The disc seems in good shape, way better shape than the T5.1 that runs fine. If I get to this screen does this rule out a dongle issue as the game boots off the algorithm on the card? Could I even get to this point with a bad security dongle.

    The only thing I can think to do is take my t4 copy to be cleaned with an azuradisc machine. What else could cause this issue?

    I'm new to this hardware and desperate for one of you to share your expertise

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    DFW

    Posts
    124
    http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/Namco_System_246/256

    Read up on 256....It won't support the Atapi commands that Tekken 4 specifically uses, and therefore wont run....you'd need to have an actual 246.
    At the bottom is a link to the game compatibility list, that will show you what games work on what systems.

    I'm sorry that this info isnt what you want to hear, but it will keep you from chasing ghosts you'll never find.

  3. #3
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the info, I I guess I need to invest in in a 246 mainboard

    I did have another question I was hoping to get some help with, I read that the "N" jumper on the 256 is supposed to be for the PlayStation 2 controller ports. I'm not arealy sure which port this is on the mainboard. I've seen the pin out on the wiki, but does anyone know where I could get the edge connector for it, like on mouser or elsewhere?

    Also where on the 256 would the card reader assembly's hook up? Anybody made any hacks or work around a for those? Like a way to get the custom outfit options it allows in t5

  4. #4
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    DFW

    Posts
    124
    The port is the white 16pin port to the right of the memory cards. You could look through the JST connector catalog....http://www.jst.com/home20.html or contact Namco direct, and see if they have one, or at least the proper connector info......

    As far as the card reader...I believe they were USB, but can't remember. No hacks or work arounds have been done to my knowledge.....you need the reader, the tekken cards (which were only good for up to 500 plays I think, and then the data had to be xferred to a new card), and to earn enough gold to buy the outfits you wanted. My cab came with about 9-10 spare cards...I used one...but wound up selling all the guts, and just keeping the T5 american dedicated cab.....its awesome in its own right.

    Hope that helps. I know its kinda taboo to say this here, but you may reach out to Arcade Projects forum, as they have cracked the 246/56 dongles, and may have some more information that I didn't have off the top of my head.

  5. #5
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    4
    [QUOTE=Bagheera369;4213599]The port is the white 16pin port to the right of the memory cards. You could look through the JST connector catalog....http://www.jst.com/home20.html or contact Namco direct, and see if they have one, or at least the proper connector info......


    you may reach out to Arcade Projects forum, as they have cracked the 246/56 dongles


    Bagheera369 You are the man, this is exactly the info I needed, I just need to figure out which connector it is, and I will order. Few and wire up a few adapters.


    As for arcade projects forum , I will check it out

  6. #6
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    DFW

    Posts
    124
    The ps2 connectors only work on Tekken and Soul Calibur 3 i believe, so they are pretty limited in use....but that's the info for them....I hope all the info served you well!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •