Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Sony PVM 2950: sync issues

  1. #1
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Flagshiphero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands

    Posts
    121

    Sony PVM 2950: sync issues

    I got a BNC breakout cable (incl. sync cleaner circuit) for use with my PVM 2950QM, but when using my RGB cable for AES and other systems I get a rolling distorted screen as below.

    - PVM was tested using a VCR and shows no sync issues;
    - pin 8 on RGB cable is wired, so sync cleaner circuit should get power;
    - I tested SNES, Saturn, MD, AES and only my PS1 gave a steady image - but it goes black after a few seconds and comes back on, repeated process.

    Any help really appreciated.



    Last edited by Flagshiphero; 06-02-2017 at 03:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,687
    I have this monitor and it's indeed a fickle bitch when it comes to sync.

    How do you have the BNC cable hooked up in the back, are you using H, V or both for sync?

  3. #3
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Flagshiphero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands

    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by ballzdeepx View Post
    I have this monitor and it's indeed a fickle bitch when it comes to sync.

    How do you have the BNC cable hooked up in the back, are you using H, V or both for sync?
    Yeah, seems to be the case. I attached a pic to opening post how I have everything connected.

  4. #4
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,687
    Thanks, that looks correct to me.
    I'll spare you the pain of trying to futz with resistor combo trial and errors for each cable and just say this thing right here works with everything I have.
    http://arcadeforge.net/Scaler-and-St...trike::15.html (I do not use the power adapter)

    I made my own cleaner circuits etc with an LM1881, and it didn't matter most of the time - this monitor is fickle.
    Last edited by ballzdeepx; 06-02-2017 at 05:56 PM.

  5. #5
    Kyo's Flame
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA http://www.twitch.tv/danadamkof

    Posts
    8,144
    2950 needs raw/stripped sync, looks like you're giving it composite as sync.
    edit: my bad, didn't notice the mention of a sync stripper at first.

  6. #6
    Kuroko's Training Dummy

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    86
    Just picked up a couple 2950Q's. As I understand from my research...I will need:
    1. Neo Geo to Euro Scart male cable
    2. Euro female SCART to BNC adaptor cable
    3. The Sync Strike Box linked above
    4. Possibly some of the silver screw caps to seal off the unused ports in the back of the PVM?

    Is this correct? Can somebody post a full pic showing the entire set up with connections in place?

  7. #7
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,687
    Quote Originally Posted by benjiedude View Post
    Just picked up a couple 2950Q's. As I understand from my research...I will need:
    1. Neo Geo to Euro Scart male cable
    2. Euro female SCART to BNC adaptor cable
    3. The Sync Strike Box linked above
    4. Possibly some of the silver screw caps to seal off the unused ports in the back of the PVM?

    Is this correct? Can somebody post a full pic showing the entire set up with connections in place?
    If you do get a sync strike unit all you will need is:

    A scart cable for your console(s)
    the scart end of the above cable will plug into the input(female) of the sync strike unit
    The output cable on the sync strike will be a vga to RGBHV BNC Cable (Female BNC leads) Like this http://www.ebay.com/itm/6FT-Black-VG...e/180840774834

    That cable will plug into the back of the pvm.

    As for the screw caps, that's probably overkill but your call there.

    Also the sync strike has audio outputs for L/R so you can run those to a stereo receiver for example.
    Last edited by ballzdeepx; 08-13-2017 at 11:13 AM.

  8. #8
    Kuroko's Training Dummy

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by ballzdeepx View Post
    If you do get a sync strike unit all you will need is:

    A scart cable for your console(s)
    the scart end of the above cable will plug into the input(female) of the sync strike unit
    The output cable on the sync strike will be a vga to RGBHV BNC Cable (Female BNC leads) Like this http://www.ebay.com/itm/6FT-Black-VG...e/180840774834

    That cable will plug into the back of the pvm.

    As for the screw caps, that's probably overkill but your call there.

    Also the sync strike has audio outputs for L/R so you can run those to a stereo receiver for example.
    Thanks. Edited my first reply cuz I misunderstood. Looks like VGA to BNC is the only way to go with this monitor.
    Last edited by benjiedude; 08-13-2017 at 11:34 AM.

  9. #9
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,687
    Quote Originally Posted by benjiedude View Post
    Thanks. Edited my first reply cuz I misunderstood. Looks like VGA to BNC is the only way to go with this monitor.
    No problem.
    If you're going to use a sync strike, then yes it makes the most sense.
    Now, if you're going to connect other sources that might just work without a sync strike (my supergun for example works fine without one) or say you want to use a component sourced console like a gamecube etc.
    You can get a component switcher box and use the audio ports for the H/V lines.

    Example:

    Your component switch box has 4 source inputs and one output.
    Input 1 - Sync Strike
    Get male BNC tips for your rgbhv cable http://www.ebay.com/itm/10PC-BNC-Fem...gAAOSwzaJX3AQY
    Run the sync strike to this input using RGB on the component inputs, and use the L/R for your H/V

    Input 2 - Gamecube
    Connect Gamecube component cable to this input (note if playing a console via component, hit the RGB button on the remote to flip the tv off RGB and to component)

    Input 3 - Supergun or device that doesn't need a sync strike
    a male to male scart cable > Scart coupler > Male Scart to RGBHV BNC Cable

    Output on your component switcher device will go to the input on your PVM.
    You can simply use a Component cable that has RGB and L/R audio and add these connectors to the other end of the cables going into the PVM

    That's how I do things at least, but it works.

  10. #10
    Kuroko's Training Dummy

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by ballzdeepx View Post
    No problem.
    If you're going to use a sync strike, then yes it makes the most sense.
    Now, if you're going to connect other sources that might just work without a sync strike (my supergun for example works fine without one) or say you want to use a component sourced console like a gamecube etc.
    You can get a component switcher box and use the audio ports for the H/V lines.

    Example:

    Your component switch box has 4 source inputs and one output.
    Input 1 - Sync Strike
    Get male BNC tips for your rgbhv cable http://www.ebay.com/itm/10PC-BNC-Fem...gAAOSwzaJX3AQY
    Run the sync strike to this input using RGB on the component inputs, and use the L/R for your H/V

    Input 2 - Gamecube
    Connect Gamecube component cable to this input (note if playing a console via component, hit the RGB button on the remote to flip the tv off RGB and to component)

    Input 3 - Supergun or device that doesn't need a sync strike
    a male to male scart cable > Scart coupler > Male Scart to RGBHV BNC Cable

    Output on your component switcher device will go to the input on your PVM.
    You can simply use a Component cable that has RGB and L/R audio and add these connectors to the other end of the cables going into the PVM

    That's how I do things at least, but it works.
    Very helpful. Thank you...much appreciated.

  11. #11
    Who?
    Atro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Game Room.

    Posts
    8,318
    Quote Originally Posted by ballzdeepx View Post
    Input 2 - Gamecube
    Connect Gamecube component cable to this input (note if playing a console via component, hit the RGB button on the remote to flip the tv off RGB and to component)
    My GameCube works wonders with the RGB SCART cable (+LM1881 Sync separator). I don't know how hard it's to get a Component cable for the GC, but the SCART ones are quite simple to get and it's true RGB at least!

    Edit : I just remembered that US GC's don't have RGB. Sucks
    Last edited by Atro; 08-14-2017 at 10:00 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •