Please help consolidate all info for pixel artists for NeoGeo dev.

Bitbeam

n00b
Hi everyone. I'm a long time pro pixel artist (and also Neo Geo fan) and I'm working on rounding up concise and clear (artist friendly) info to help pixel artist who want to make authentic moc-ups and game art for the Neo Geo. I'm also doing this for all the other popular classic consoles, but seeing as I think the Neo Geo is one of the most under-appreciated consoles in the west, I'm especially interested in getting this concise information together and available to the great modern pixel artists out there.

I want to create as clear and concise a document as possible (for artists) where every sentence offers definitive guidance for exactly what rules and limits to follow, without drowning, confusing or intimidating artists with lots of technical jargon.

The final document will eventually be a web page, with attached images, animations, examples, and links to communities like this, and also special thanks to anyone who helped improve or confirm or clarify any of the information. This information will also be distributed with an industry standard pixel art program, so It's my hope this will encourage and entice many of today's best pixel artists to fall in love with developing art and games for the Neo Geo.

Here's (below) what I have so far. Can anyone who's interested please suggest edits, additions and provide any critical missing info?

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NEO GEO

Graphical summary

Standard game resolution: 320x224 but many games used 304x224

color range: The NeoGeo uses 6 bits per color channel, where the lowest bit of each channel is shared with one bit, providing a palette of 65,536 colors.