Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: SNES Mini Framemeister SCART output difficulties...could use some help

  1. #1
    Pao Pao Cafe Waiter
    IMTheWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Baltimore

    Posts
    1,782

    SNES Mini Framemeister SCART output difficulties...could use some help

    Hey everyone. Over the last year or so, after buying a used XRGB mini Framemeister from someone on here, I've been messing with my older consoles outputting RGB over SCART. Last weekend, I got my SNES Mini (model 2 SNES) modded to output SCART, and with it I got a SCART cable. It's important to note I don't know any of the details about how the cable was made...the shop I went to that did the mod just had SCART cables on sale and I picked one up.

    Anyway, I took it home and hooked it up to my framemeister through the Japanese RGB to SCART adapter. I could get nothing to display through the framemeister. My PC Engine and Genesis I tested through the same kind of SCART connection worked fine, so obviously the framemeister works. To test the mod and basic functionality of the SCART cable, I took the SNES mini and hooked it up with the SCART cable to a straight up SCART to HDMI converter (not a fancy upscaler like the framemeister) and it did output to my TV. So in this scenario I wasn't using the framemeister or the RGB/SCART converter needed for my typical connections.

    Any advice? Should I just be looking for a different SCART cable? Does this have anything to do with "sync" on the cables? To be perfectly honest, I know how to hook the stuff up but I know very little about the mod itself or any other technical details so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    XBL/PSN/Steam/Twitch: IMTheWalrus610
    Feel free to add me


    Users I have dealt with and am happy with: Kenny Boy, EvilMike, NEOryu, norton9478, Nathan, 2point0 (among others), N80G80, kitkit.com

  2. #2
    Neo Bubble Buster

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Scotland (UK)

    Posts
    48
    be careful if you mixing euro scart and JPN21 and they have different configurations and could cause damage, looks like your using JP21 connection with your PC engine and Megadrive.?

    if thats the case it sounds like your scart cable is not wired for JP21 scart, also worth pointing out if your snes is a 1chip model they dont use csync, but use luma sync.

  3. #3
    Pao Pao Cafe Waiter
    IMTheWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Baltimore

    Posts
    1,782
    Quote Originally Posted by beecee View Post
    be careful if you mixing euro scart and JPN21 and they have different configurations and could cause damage, looks like your using JP21 connection with your PC engine and Megadrive.?

    if thats the case it sounds like your scart cable is not wired for JP21 scart, also worth pointing out if your snes is a 1chip model they dont use csync, but use luma sync.
    No, the PC Engine Duo RX and Genesis (US model 3 actually) are both using the SCART to JPN 21 adapters as well. Those have been working without a hitch.

    You are probably right about the wiring for JPN21 scart with the SNES cable...should I be looking for something with luma sync specifically when I buy a new SCART cable?
    XBL/PSN/Steam/Twitch: IMTheWalrus610
    Feel free to add me


    Users I have dealt with and am happy with: Kenny Boy, EvilMike, NEOryu, norton9478, Nathan, 2point0 (among others), N80G80, kitkit.com

  4. #4
    Neo Bubble Buster

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Scotland (UK)

    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by IMTheWalrus View Post

    should I be looking for something with luma sync specifically when I buy a new SCART cable?
    only if yours is the 1 chip model, when ordering your new scart cable, best to email them saying what your set up is and they can make sure you get the correct cable.

    check out retrogamingcables.co.uk (no association or connections) i use them for all my cables and they will make sure you get the correct cable.

  5. #5
    Pao Pao Cafe Waiter
    IMTheWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Baltimore

    Posts
    1,782
    Quote Originally Posted by beecee View Post
    only if yours is the 1 chip model, when ordering your new scart cable, best to email them saying what your set up is and they can make sure you get the correct cable.

    check out retrogamingcables.co.uk (no association or connections) i use them for all my cables and they will make sure you get the correct cable.
    I see. The unit I'm using is an SNES mini...I thought they aren't considered the "1chip". Again, I really don't know much on the technical end so I apologize for my lack of clarity.
    XBL/PSN/Steam/Twitch: IMTheWalrus610
    Feel free to add me


    Users I have dealt with and am happy with: Kenny Boy, EvilMike, NEOryu, norton9478, Nathan, 2point0 (among others), N80G80, kitkit.com

  6. #6
    Morden's Lackey
    zaneiken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Perth, AU

    Posts
    360
    SNES Minis are 1chips.

  7. #7
    Pao Pao Cafe Waiter
    IMTheWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Baltimore

    Posts
    1,782
    OK, so a few more details. I noticed the 21 pin to xrgb converter I'm using is marked off as "passive" as opposed to "sync separator". Not sure if that makes any difference at all. I should also mention I am getting audio. Someone gave me the suggestion to change the sync level on the framemeister, so I adjusted from 9 to 16 and then just tried a bunch of other random ones and got no video output at any level I tried (there were so many different sync level options but when nothing was working I just figured that was a lost cause and brought it back to 9).

    I am starting to wonder based off what I have been reading if the RGB mod was in fact done properly even though it does work with the straight SCART to HDMI converter even though the framemeister gets no output.
    XBL/PSN/Steam/Twitch: IMTheWalrus610
    Feel free to add me


    Users I have dealt with and am happy with: Kenny Boy, EvilMike, NEOryu, norton9478, Nathan, 2point0 (among others), N80G80, kitkit.com

  8. #8
    Zero's Tailor
    jsiucho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Miami

    Posts
    712
    I had the same problem , went through like 3 cables to get the right one with my modded mini. I think the last one I bought was from this seller on Ebay; http://www.ebay.com/usr/retro_consol...p2047675.l2559 . contacted her and get on with the works sync cleaner, etc.

  9. #9
    Pao Pao Cafe Waiter
    IMTheWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Baltimore

    Posts
    1,782
    Quote Originally Posted by jsiucho View Post
    I had the same problem , went through like 3 cables to get the right one with my modded mini. I think the last one I bought was from this seller on Ebay; http://www.ebay.com/usr/retro_consol...p2047675.l2559 . contacted her and get on with the works sync cleaner, etc.
    Thanks. Kind of reassuring I'm not the only one who has had this issue. I'll check that link out.
    XBL/PSN/Steam/Twitch: IMTheWalrus610
    Feel free to add me


    Users I have dealt with and am happy with: Kenny Boy, EvilMike, NEOryu, norton9478, Nathan, 2point0 (among others), N80G80, kitkit.com

  10. #10
    Sakura's Bank Manager
    opt2not's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    883
    If your SNES cable has a sync seperator (you should check by opening it up and seeing if there is more than just capacitors), and your JP21/Euro SCART adapter is Passive, then it probably means that your sync separator isn't getting the 5v required for the separator to become active.

    Meaning, the SNES cable may be blocking the sync entirely because of the lack of power going to that circuit.

    Luckily opening up SCART Cables are easy, so I would check them both to see what's actually inside, but this is my hunch based on what you've stated.

  11. #11
    Pao Pao Cafe Waiter
    IMTheWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Baltimore

    Posts
    1,782
    Quote Originally Posted by opt2not View Post
    If your SNES cable has a sync seperator (you should check by opening it up and seeing if there is more than just capacitors), and your JP21/Euro SCART adapter is Passive, then it probably means that your sync separator isn't getting the 5v required for the separator to become active.

    Meaning, the SNES cable may be blocking the sync entirely because of the lack of power going to that circuit.

    Luckily opening up SCART Cables are easy, so I would check them both to see what's actually inside, but this is my hunch based on what you've stated.
    Thanks for the tip. Weirdly enough, the guy who made the cable originally reached out to me on my Reddit post asking for tips...just a coincidence. I shared this comment with him so we'll see what he says. He said he can probably just make me another cable earlier today.
    XBL/PSN/Steam/Twitch: IMTheWalrus610
    Feel free to add me


    Users I have dealt with and am happy with: Kenny Boy, EvilMike, NEOryu, norton9478, Nathan, 2point0 (among others), N80G80, kitkit.com

  12. #12
    Sakura's Bank Manager
    opt2not's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco

    Posts
    883
    Did you look inside the SNES SCART connector? Was there a sync circuit?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •