Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Laptop Black screen but power - Sony Vaio Laptop Model # SVE17137CXB

  1. #1
    Chang's Combo Meal #4
    greedostick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Londo Ruins

    Posts
    3,656

    Laptop Black screen but power - Sony Vaio Laptop Model # SVE17137CXB

    Having issues with a Sony Vaio Laptop Model # SVE17137CXB:

    Told a friend at work I would take a look at this for him, thinking it was something stupid, but I may have a real hardware issue. Need some people to bang heads with.

    Specs:

    Intel Core i7-3632QM
    Microsoft Windows 8 (64-bit)
    8GB DDR3-1600 RAM
    1TB 5,400RPM Hard Drive
    AMD Radeon HD 7650M

    The laptop will power on, but the screen is completely black. It never does anything. Here is what I have tried...

    1. Holding power for 60 seconds to drain capacitors, after removing battery and power cord.
    2. Opened up and pulled CMOS battery, and reset BIOS.
    3. Tried booting up holding the "assistance" button.
    4. Tried connecting to an external monitor, and holding FN, and pressing F7 twice, then Enter, to boot on a television via HDMI.
    4. Tried reseating RAM, and Hard Drive.
    5. Adjusting screen brightness.

    I'm completely lost at this point. I'm not sure if the GPU is dead, or if it is stuck in some weird monitor mode that won't display on the laptop or television. Maybe I'm pressing the wrong button combination to get it to display on a tv, or set back to laptop display.

    I was reading about something called FLEA power, and maybe that is causing my monitor issues, but would that cause it not to display on a television as well?

    Also, this thing powers on, the laptop keys have light, the hard rive spins, when I put a CD in I can hear it working, all the fans are working as well. Just always the black screen, no BIOS screen, nothing ever.
    Last edited by greedostick; 04-28-2017 at 10:30 PM.

    Beaten in 2017: Not a Damn thing! But the Year is Still Young.

    Close to Completion:
    Bravely Default - Skyrim (pc) - Dragon Quest IX -

    Games I can't beat that make me violent:
    Solomon's Key (nes) (fuck Solomon and his damn key) - Festers Quest - R-Type - Ghost Pilots


    [B]

  2. #2
    Igniz's Servant
    jesesfbi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Socal

    Posts
    543
    Sounds like the GPU died.

  3. #3
    Mauru's Zoo Manager
    werejag's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma

    Posts
    2,881
    take a flashlight and try to see if simply the light source of the screen is bad

    if it cant display on a extrenal source it might indeed be a dead gpu
    Last edited by werejag; 04-29-2017 at 01:18 AM.
    I guess it's a good day for Were-Jag... -NG: DEV.TEAM
    It's only fucking 50 USD for crying out loud. -Yakumo
    If there's one thing I hate in life more than anything else it's freeloaders. -Yakumo
    "reality has a well-known liberal bias." - Stephen Colbert

  4. #4
    Haomaru's Blade Shiner
    BlackaneseNiNjA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    サウスタウン

    Posts
    834
    If the gpu isn't shot, sometimes the small ribbon cable connecting to the back of the lcd display can become loose or faulty. Try the cable to see if disconnecting and reconnecting the display cable produces any results.

    超えるべき奴がいる。

    北斗神拳は無敵だ。

  5. #5
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,412
    If the issue was only the light source of the LCD, Windows would load and make the startups sounds. This is more than that. Since an external monitor fails too, I'd also say the GPU is dead. If it's an nVidia chip, it may have commited suicide with its own heat. Search on the Internet to see if baking the motherboard looks like a method to bring this particular model back to life when GPU fails. It works with some models, at least for a time.

    Regards.

  6. #6
    Haomaru's Blade Shiner
    BlackaneseNiNjA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    サウスタウン

    Posts
    834
    Whats up aha2940. My mistake, I didn't see a mention of a lack of sounds, only that the screen was failing to display anything. I wasn't referring to the screen's backlight lamp. The lcd display cable is responsible for transfering data from the motherboard or video card to the screen. I agree that in this case the gpu is the likely culprit, but I've seen this cable/connection fail long before the gpu in some laptops. Never hurts to check the easy fail points first at zero cost.

    超えるべき奴がいる。

    北斗神拳は無敵だ。

  7. #7
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,412
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackaneseNiNjA View Post
    Whats up aha2940. My mistake, I didn't see a mention of a lack of sounds, only that the screen was failing to display anything. I wasn't referring to the screen's backlight lamp. The lcd display cable is responsible for transfering data from the motherboard or video card to the screen. I agree that in this case the gpu is the likely culprit, but I've seen this cable/connection fail long before the gpu in some laptops. Never hurts to check the easy fail points first at zero cost.
    No worries man. The lack of sounds is more my assumption, nothing else. Also, OP has not told us if any of these suggestions worked or not. Hopefully yes, but wouldn't be surprised if not.

  8. #8
    Chang's Combo Meal #4
    greedostick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Londo Ruins

    Posts
    3,656
    Yeah.. Nothings working. So we decided to ebay it and put it toward a desktop. Thanks for all the input.

    Beaten in 2017: Not a Damn thing! But the Year is Still Young.

    Close to Completion:
    Bravely Default - Skyrim (pc) - Dragon Quest IX -

    Games I can't beat that make me violent:
    Solomon's Key (nes) (fuck Solomon and his damn key) - Festers Quest - R-Type - Ghost Pilots


    [B]

  9. #9
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,412
    Quote Originally Posted by greedostick View Post
    Yeah.. Nothings working. So we decided to ebay it and put it toward a desktop. Thanks for all the input.
    Had the same issue with an old dell laptop some years ago. I found cheaper to buy a newer motherboard to it thatn getting a new one. Still working with the replacement board.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •