Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GroovyMAME Help?

  1. #1
    Formerly Giltygear
    xROTx
    FilthyRear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Parking in handicap spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces

    Posts
    6,636

    GroovyMAME Help?

    Help me Obi-Wan, you're my only hope.

    For the last month/2 months I've been trying to set up Groovymame on a PC so I can throw it in my cab using crt_emudriver. This is not turning out well. I'm getting stress headaches trying to decipher posts on other forums written by people that barely speak english.

    I'm computer-literate, but I'm no means a master with this stuff, so any precise instructions would be VERY welcomed.

    The problem:

    I was given this GPU by a friend that had usede it in his own MAME rig. It was bought specfically for this because it was supposed to have the absolute best compatibility with crt_emudriver.

    I have a compatible mobo, and hunted down a copy of WinXP, as I was told that I needed it.

    Using this tutorial, I downloaded the crt_emudriver for my graphics card, the latest groovymame64, the latest mame64, anything else it said I needed and followed the installation instructions to the letter.

    The big problem I'm coming up with is that the ATI drivers I keep finding for crt_emudriver (I downloaded it here) are giving me drivers for some "Mobility HD 4330" card. Now, the graphics card works, because I downloaded the latest drivers for it and everything runs fine. However, crt_emudriver doesn't work with the latest drivers, I need to use this Catalyst (9.3 because it supports my graphics card), VMMAKER, Arcade OSD stuff. Also, different installation instructions that I've seen all say NOT to update the graphics card.

    WTF am I doing wrong? Everyone says how "Easy" this is to set up, but I'm about to throw this thing out the window and be done with it. I really don't want to join the BYOAC forums to ask Calamity (the one who made crt_emudriver) 1 or 2 questions and possibly not get an answer.

    SYSTEM:

    CPU: It's an AMD, don't remember the exact specs
    GPU: VisionTek 4350 512mb VT Retail
    OS: Win XP SP3 64-bit(fresh install)
    -4GB RAM (Anything more seems a bit overkill for MAME)
    -It's not connected to the internet, thats not what I want this for just yet (maybe fightcade later on), and I don't plan to connect it anytime soon.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvie View Post
    Xorthen was on my case for a few days via PM (and then some) offering to pay me $20 just to talk on the phone with me for an hour, but he chickened out or something and then decided to be an asshole in public towards me
    LOL.. Get rekt, lonely boy


  2. #2
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,137
    Are you installing VT drivers before you install crtemudriver?

  3. #3
    Formerly Giltygear
    xROTx
    FilthyRear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Parking in handicap spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces

    Posts
    6,636
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    Are you installing VT drivers before you install crtemudriver?
    VisionTek?

    The first time I installed them was to make sure the card worked. I then un-installed them and followed that tutorial that I linked, but the ATI drivers were for the wrong graphics card.

    Last night I started the process AGAIN - and - installed the newest VT drivers. Still wouldn't work.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvie View Post
    Xorthen was on my case for a few days via PM (and then some) offering to pay me $20 just to talk on the phone with me for an hour, but he chickened out or something and then decided to be an asshole in public towards me
    LOL.. Get rekt, lonely boy


  4. #4
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,137
    From what I did, I only allowed the windows drivers load. Then installed the crtemu driver. I'm using the HD4350 in two machines and thus worked for me.

  5. #5
    Formerly Giltygear
    xROTx
    FilthyRear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Parking in handicap spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces

    Posts
    6,636
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    From what I did, I only allowed the windows drivers load. Then installed the crtemu driver. I'm using the HD4350 in two machines and thus worked for me.
    I'm gonna annoy the shit out of you with all my questions...

    I'll try to swath out some time for this when I get home from work.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvie View Post
    Xorthen was on my case for a few days via PM (and then some) offering to pay me $20 just to talk on the phone with me for an hour, but he chickened out or something and then decided to be an asshole in public towards me
    LOL.. Get rekt, lonely boy


  6. #6
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    Panda has nothing better to do

  7. #7
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,061
    These two links helped me through the process of setting it all up.


    CRT Emudrive instructions
    http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/foru...opic.php?id=65

    GroovyMAME installation instructions
    http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/foru...pic.php?id=290

    I literally never used MAME prior to setting all this up in my cab, it should do you wonders.

    edit: I also flashed the BIOS of the radeon card I installed so that it only does 15khz resolutions so that the video is entirely in that format from boot to shutdown. Helps knowing what's going on and accessing the motherboard bios on boot up sometimes.
    Last edited by lachlan; 03-22-2017 at 06:25 AM.



    For the tunes lovers!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •