Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: JVC X'eye Problem

  1. #1
    Cham Cham's Banana
    fantat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    163

    JVC X'eye Problem

    So my JVC X'eye will no longer play cd games. Every time I put a disc in, it will only go to the cd player. It will play the music tracks but I can't get it to load a game. It plays cartridges fine.

    Anyone have any ideas here?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    You have been
    Officially WY'OWED!
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    4,788
    Quote Originally Posted by fantat View Post
    So my JVC X'eye will no longer play cd games. Every time I put a disc in, it will only go to the cd player. It will play the music tracks but I can't get it to load a game. It plays cartridges fine.

    Anyone have any ideas here?

    Thanks in advance.
    Does the laser assembly move and try to read the disc? Try cleaning the laser and lube the motor. You may need a new assembly though. It's pretty straight-forward to replace. You can find a generic one on eBay.
    Neo Geo AES #011035 #036442 | Neo Geo CD #0002814 | MVS Executive | Razion World Champion
    ATTN NOOBS: Jamma Nation X makes the best CMVS & Superguns, PERIOD! | Unofficial MVS and AES Price Guide
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    How many grails did Jesus have? What the fuck is wrong with people.

  3. #3
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003
    ginoscope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX

    Posts
    61
    I would just replace the laser assembly honestly. With the age of these machines the lasers are just getting old. I just changed the laser in a friends PC Engine Duo and now it's working great. Prior to the change it was loud and not loading certain games.

  4. #4
    CPS2 Person.
    mainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Torrance, California, USA

    Posts
    3,520
    Fixed a friend X'eye with same fault by adjusting the pots


    Throne of Games


    Quote Originally Posted by darksoft View Post
    Don't hide it, you are angry beacuse if a multiboot is made, you will not be the only one that can Play Progear

  5. #5
    Creator of the Master List
    Geddon_jt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    1,269
    Listen to wyo. He fixed my Xeye exhibiting the exact same problem - I had to order a replacement laser but now it works great. Thanks again wyo.

  6. #6
    Cham Cham's Banana
    fantat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    163
    Thanks to everyone for their replies.

    If I want to replace the laser assembly does the process involve any soldering?

  7. #7
    You have been
    Officially WY'OWED!
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    4,788
    Quote Originally Posted by fantat View Post
    Thanks to everyone for their replies.

    If I want to replace the laser assembly does the process involve any soldering?
    IIRC I had to desolder a solder bridge between 2 pads on the replacement assembly or something like that. YMMV depending on the specific replacement model used.
    Neo Geo AES #011035 #036442 | Neo Geo CD #0002814 | MVS Executive | Razion World Champion
    ATTN NOOBS: Jamma Nation X makes the best CMVS & Superguns, PERIOD! | Unofficial MVS and AES Price Guide
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    How many grails did Jesus have? What the fuck is wrong with people.

  8. #8
    Baseball Star Hitter
    wyndcrosser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Midwest

    Posts
    1,256
    Yea the lasers tend to have a solder blob for transit, just remove it. The laser is easy, Google for guides. gL
    Looking for UK copies of Dive Alert Becky's Version, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters, and Pocket Reversi.
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=41108&dateline=145772  3980

  9. #9
    Crazed MVS Addict
    Doom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    145
    Might be worth trying to clean with a qtip dabbed in isopropyl alochol. The Sega CD is one of the more sensitive disc based game systems, sometimes even a dust speck can get in the way of it properly loading games.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •