Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Double Dragon Cab Video Issue

  1. #1
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431

    Double Dragon Cab Video Issue

    Tonight this problem started. The machine starts up, then the video gets choppy, then it cuts out.

    Here's a YouTube video link.

    https://youtu.be/30ZCkTTFEf4


    Someone please advise. I'm in Lawrenceville NJ and I'll pay someone to come out and fix the issue.

    I tried a spare board that I've tested in the past and it's definitely not an issue with the board.


  2. #2
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    Looks like it could possibly be going into HV shutdown. Could be related to caps, could be something to do with the HV protection circuit. What chassis is it?
    My favourite pigeon had a fatal run-in with a cloud...

  3. #3
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    How do I find out what chassis it is?

  4. #4
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    It should be on the chassis (sometimes there is a white information card on the back of the neck board, at least on Hantarex monitors that I've had) somewhere of if you take some photos of it someone should recognise it.
    Last edited by pulstar; 03-01-2017 at 01:33 PM.
    My favourite pigeon had a fatal run-in with a cloud...

  5. #5
    FUCKSTICK MODERATOR.
    Misanthrope

    VanillaThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chasing the Pfhor around L'howon with SPNKR in hand...

    Posts
    15,223
    I'm local. If I free up in the next few weeks, I may be able to come out and take a look.

    Things to look for:

    Is the tube "lit" up (from behind) after it cuts out?
    Do you hear any clicking or sounds before/after?
    Have you checked voltage/amperage on the monitor and leads?
    What happens after you leave the monitor on for an hour? Does it come back on?
    Do you smell anything while it's on?
    Have you discharged the tube/flyback? When you turn it on, what does it do?

  6. #6
    FUCKSTICK MODERATOR.
    Misanthrope

    VanillaThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chasing the Pfhor around L'howon with SPNKR in hand...

    Posts
    15,223
    Have you tried this with a different board?

  7. #7
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaThunder View Post
    I'm local. If I free up in the next few weeks, I may be able to come out and take a look.

    Things to look for:

    Is the tube "lit" up (from behind) after it cuts out?
    Do you hear any clicking or sounds before/after?
    Have you checked voltage/amperage on the monitor and leads?
    What happens after you leave the monitor on for an hour? Does it come back on?
    Do you smell anything while it's on?
    Have you discharged the tube/flyback? When you turn it on, what does it do?
    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaThunder View Post
    Have you tried this with a different board?
    There's no smell, and I haven't checked anything with the monitor, I'm super ignorant with that shit and I'm pretty sure I'd electrocute myself. I did try another board, that I've tested in the recent past, same issue.

    Here's a video of the inside.

    Feel free to PM me and we can try to set something up for you to check it out. I'm hoping to get it running by my birthday on the 18th as Im having people over. Lemme know what works for you.
    Last edited by White Devil; 03-05-2017 at 03:18 AM.

  8. #8
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    That chassis is a Tovis/Vision Pro chassis. On the sticker on the metal shielding on the side of the tube does it have a specific model no? I think I can see it but it's too blurry to make out. I'm assuming it's a MTG-1901 seeing as it's a 19" tube.

    Personally, I would start with the caps in the power section and work from there. Without a schematic, though, it'll be harder to diagnose the problem unless you know the chassis. If you need it fixed by a particular date it might be worth trying to find someone who repairs chassis that you can send it to.
    My favourite pigeon had a fatal run-in with a cloud...

  9. #9
    FUCKSTICK MODERATOR.
    Misanthrope

    VanillaThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chasing the Pfhor around L'howon with SPNKR in hand...

    Posts
    15,223
    Pm me. I have an extra 19'' monitor in storage that is doing absolutely dick. It's in an old trivia game. You can have it.

  10. #10
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaThunder View Post
    Pm me. I have an extra 19'' monitor in storage that is doing absolutely dick. It's in an old trivia game. You can have it.
    Pm sent, I'll drive out there whenever you're available man.

  11. #11
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Turns out it was a loose connection in the cab. All is well. Just had to jiggle a few plugs.

  12. #12
    Morden's Lackey
    SNK416's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Toronto

    Posts
    365
    I have the same cab, enjoy it. Many childhood hours all up in there...



    Wakka Wakka Wakka!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •