Results 1 to 25 of 402

Thread: NEOSD AES Support thread !

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    919

    NEOSD AES Support thread !

    Hello everyone,

    Now that NEOSD AES is out, its time for a support thread.

    We would like to separate both AES and MVS issues/questions/sugestions.

    Also, we would like that everyone reporting issues tell us his AES board model please.

    Thanks
    Will i get 0 secconds loading times if i make a cluster of the entire size of the microsd ?



    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  2. #2
    Whilst Drunk.
    I Found God.
    Booze = Bad.
    pixeljunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    in a glass of Orval

    Posts
    5,512
    Is there anything I need to do with my cart in terms of upgrading FW or anything out of the box? Everything works great so far. LOVE IT

  3. #3
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    919
    Quote Originally Posted by pixeljunkie View Post
    Is there anything I need to do with my cart in terms of upgrading FW or anything out of the box? Everything works great so far. LOVE IT
    Hi,

    Not for now, we are working on a new update but it will take some time to be avaliable.

    Thanks
    Will i get 0 secconds loading times if i make a cluster of the entire size of the microsd ?



    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  4. #4
    Whilst Drunk.
    I Found God.
    Booze = Bad.
    pixeljunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    in a glass of Orval

    Posts
    5,512
    Quote Originally Posted by neosd View Post
    Hi,

    Not for now, we are working on a new update but it will take some time to be avaliable.

    Thanks
    Excellent! I seriously can't say enough awesome things about it - also, thanks again for the UPS shipping, very appreciated.

    One weird thing I noticed which has nothing to do with the cart, is that when I loaded the rom for Dakseed proto and went back to menu, sound was gone. I'd have to load a rom with sound then go back to the menu to get sound on the menu again. Just something odd I noticed.

  5. #5
    Member loganm187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    TN

    Posts
    39
    Having an issue with my NEOSD AES cart. When I go to load a game the bar get's maybe 1/8 "erasing" then the screen goes crazy and i get loud screeching noises...eventually the screen turns blue and it it will stay like that until I turn the system off. When i turn it back on the game is loaded though! There is obviously something wrong. And I have to turn the system off and on to just load a game. I'm using a low serial AES around 1800 with the correct power adapter and it plays Legit carts just fine. I re-formatted the 32 gb SDHC ultra sandisk card which is verified authentic and re dumped the .neo files and the same thing is occurring. Is it possible I got a defective unit?

    Started playing a game and I get 5 second intermittent literal blaring screeches too that are not not happening on legit carts either.

    Also, this cart is very difficult to get into and out of my AES.
    Last edited by loganm187; 02-23-2017 at 04:16 PM.

  6. #6
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    919
    Quote Originally Posted by loganm187 View Post
    Having an issue with my NEOSD AES cart. When I go to load a game the bar get's maybe 1/8 "erasing" then the screen goes crazy and i get loud screeching noises...eventually the screen turns blue and it it will stay like that until I turn the system off. When i turn it back on the game is loaded though! There is obviously something wrong. And I have to turn the system off and on to just load a game. I'm using a low serial AES around 1800 with the correct power adapter and it plays Legit carts just fine. I re-formatted the 32 gb SDHC ultra sandisk card which is verified authentic and re dumped the .neo files and the same thing is occurring. Is it possible I got a defective unit?

    Started playing a game and I get 5 second intermittent literal blaring screeches too that are not not happening on legit carts either.

    Also, this cart is very difficult to get into and out of my AES.
    Hello,

    Send us an email to contact@neosdstore.... with your serial number.
    We will send you a firmware update to fix it.
    Also, this thread is for MVS support, there is another one for AES

    Thanks
    Will i get 0 secconds loading times if i make a cluster of the entire size of the microsd ?



    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  7. #7
    Member loganm187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    TN

    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by neosd View Post
    Hello,

    Send us an email to contact@neosdstore.... with your serial number.
    We will send you a firmware update to fix it.
    Also, this thread is for MVS support, there is another one for AES

    Thanks
    SENT! Were we suppose to get firmware? I didn't see it in the downloads and sorry for the wrong forum.

  8. #8
    Calvin & Hobbes

    Rot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    InChatKthx

    Posts
    9,644
    Quote Originally Posted by loganm187 View Post
    SENT! Were we suppose to get firmware? I didn't see it in the downloads and sorry for the wrong forum.
    No... it seems you poor digs with a low serial number AES need a different firmware...

    xROTx

  9. #9
    Member loganm187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    TN

    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by Rot View Post
    No... it seems you poor digs with a low serial number AES need a different firmware...

    xROTx
    Ahhhhh Is this a new development?

  10. #10
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ask Me

    Posts
    17
    NEOSD AES, I'm having issues with flashed games not checking out on CRC check with Universe Bios. I spoke to Raz and he mentioned version UB3.1 should read/check CRC fine. Any ideas why this is happening? I flashed the exact same games in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCatJvXPjYM and I get NG on my CRC checks instead of OK. I'm using the rom link set from Rot.

    For example when I do: KOF 2003 I get rom region FD74570C NG, bank 0 ok, bank 1 ng, bank 2 ng etc but in most games it all shows up as NG. Whats going on?
    Last edited by Terabyte; 02-23-2017 at 11:23 PM.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Terabyte View Post
    NEOSD AES, I'm having issues with flashed games not checking out on CRC check with Universe Bios. I spoke to Raz and he mentioned version UB3.1 should read/check CRC fine. Any ideas why this is happening? I flashed the exact same games in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCatJvXPjYM and I get NG on my CRC checks instead of OK. I'm using the rom link set from Rot.

    For example when I do: KOF 2003 I get rom region FD74570C NG, bank 0 ok, bank 1 ng, bank 2 ng etc but in most games it all shows up as NG. Whats going on?
    So, it happens with SS5 too? or only with KOF2003 (SS5 has a more simple banking mode). Which PSU and AES model do you have?

    Thanks.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  12. #12
    Crazed MVS Addict
    mathieu4d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    france

    Posts
    138
    Hello boyz,

    I've received my neosd AES yesterday, and I've been toying with the converting tool.
    I sure already have a full set of thingies (big up to the chat crew), but I've also an homebrew work in progress that I'd like to test on my aes.
    That is actually why i did bought neosd for.

    Sooo… my .zip works fine on nebula. I'm using neobuilder thru prompt (neobuilder -n XXX -m XXX -y XXX -g Other c:/XXXXX)
    And I get an error message saying "Missing screenshot for XXX".

    Any clue here ?

    Its more neobuilder related than AES or MVS neosd… feel free to point me in the right direction if needed.

    Thanks !

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by mathieu4d View Post
    Hello boyz,

    I've received my neosd AES yesterday, and I've been toying with the converting tool.
    I sure already have a full set of thingies (big up to the chat crew), but I've also an homebrew work in progress that I'd like to test on my aes.
    That is actually why i did bought neosd for.

    Sooo my .zip works fine on nebula. I'm using neobuilder thru prompt (neobuilder -n XXX -m XXX -y XXX -g Other c:/XXXXX)
    And I get an error message saying "Missing screenshot for XXX".

    Any clue here ?

    Its more neobuilder related than AES or MVS neosd feel free to point me in the right direction if needed.

    Thanks !

    That happens if you convert a zip file with a name that neobuilder doesn't recognize, and it can't find a screenshot for it. You can add an extra option -s screenshotnum to tell which screenshot to use. You can check the screenshot numbers in the file named order.txt .

    Also, I'm not sure if nebula compatible romsets will all convert properly with the command line manual zip conversion, because there are some roms that require special loading, also those romsets are quite old and some redumps and rom renaming has happened since then. That option is mostly for hombrewers that would like to have their own game converted to neo format. You should try using MAME compatible romsets and the UI tool, or if the UI doesn't work, use the commandline "neobuilder -d romsdirectory" that does the same than the UI, but with console output.
    Last edited by neodev; 02-24-2017 at 05:29 AM.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  14. #14
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ask Me

    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by neodev View Post
    So, it happens with SS5 too? or only with KOF2003 (SS5 has a more simple banking mode). Which PSU and AES model do you have?

    Thanks.
    Yes both SS5 and KOF2003 have issues with CRC.
    USA AES Mod# NEO-AEC with FCC ID, S#019XXX
    Original AES USA PSU Mod# NEO-0

    Another note:
    I have an original copy of Magician Lord. testing with the original cart the CRC checks OK. But when using the NEOSD its NG.
    Last edited by Terabyte; 02-24-2017 at 07:32 AM.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Terabyte View Post
    Yes both SS5 and KOF2003 have issues with CRC.
    USA AES Mod# NEO-AEC with FCC ID, S#019XXX
    Original AES USA PSU Mod# NEO-0

    Another note:
    I have an original copy of Magician Lord. testing with the original cart the CRC checks OK. But when using the NEOSD its NG.
    Please, send us an email to support@neosdstore with the serial number of your NeoSD cart.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  16. #16
    Crazed MVS Addict
    mathieu4d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    france

    Posts
    138
    @neodev : thank you, its working.
    I just forced ASO2 screenshot.
    You might want to add a "no-name" screen shot to the pool.

    thanks for your really fast answer !

  17. #17
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ask Me

    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by neodev View Post
    Please, send us an email to support@neosdstore with the serial number of your NeoSD cart.
    I just e-mailed you.

  18. #18
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ask Me

    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by neodev View Post
    Please, send us an email to support@neosdstore with the serial number of your NeoSD cart.
    Now I got this...is that a valid e-mail address?


    This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

    Delivery to the following recipients failed permanently:

    * support@neosdstore.com

    Reason: Permanent Error
    Last edited by Terabyte; 02-24-2017 at 01:06 PM.

  19. #19
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ask Me

    Posts
    17
    I've also tried two different sd cards and same issue.
    Last edited by Terabyte; 02-24-2017 at 03:10 AM.

  20. #20
    Crossed Swords Squire

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    200
    This should be good.

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


    "Hey a cunt is a cunt, a spade is a spade, and a metal slug is a metal slug."

  21. #21
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina

    Posts
    22
    My AES has the UniBios 3.3 installed on it and it seems to be disabling the options particularly the bios ones on the NeoSD AES. When I click the reset button it launches whatever game was flashed despite if i have it set in the options to launch the "menu" instead of "game"

    The option to select or change bios from the NeoSD is grayed out as well and when I'm in the game if i hit the special combination of buttons to get back to the menu it pulls up the limited UniBios 3.3 menu and not the NeoSD Menu/game list at all.

    Is there a way to set the NeoSD AES so it had priority and can control the bios or is it just locked in that with Unibios 3.3 it takes over control of the NeoSD? Is this set by design? The only way I can get to the game list is if I first turn on the system, hold Start then it will pull up the NeoSD game list and options. Also it seems the games may be locked to whatever the Unibios 3.3 dictates as far as region and such as well.

  22. #22
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,562
    Quote Originally Posted by shadowtek View Post
    My AES has the UniBios 3.3 installed on it and it seems to be disabling the options particularly the bios ones on the NeoSD AES. When I click the reset button it launches whatever game was flashed despite if i have it set in the options to launch the "menu" instead of "game"

    The option to select or change bios from the NeoSD is grayed out as well and when I'm in the game if i hit the special combination of buttons to get back to the menu it pulls up the limited UniBios 3.3 menu and not the NeoSD Menu/game list at all.

    Is there a way to set the NeoSD AES so it had priority and can control the bios or is it just locked in that with Unibios 3.3 it takes over control of the NeoSD? Is this set by design? The only way I can get to the game list is if I first turn on the system, hold Start then it will pull up the NeoSD game list and options. Also it seems the games may be locked to whatever the Unibios 3.3 dictates as far as region and such as well.
    The neoSD gives up control of its region/mode settings to the unibios (when present) because the unibios can control the system a little more accurately than the neoSD can (because its the bios level). It is by design to give the best experiance to the user when the unibios is available.

    What you are experiancing sound correct if I understand you correctly. I suspect you have not yet discovered holding A+D+START for a second or so while a game is playing will also force the neoSD gamelist. If A+D+START is not working, maybe you have set that option in the neosd settings to something else.

    [edit]
    I think I mis read you, so make sure you have not got the neoSD button code to bring back the neoSD game list to one of the button codes used by the unibios. If its set to A+D+START it should not pull up the unibios ingame menu.
    Last edited by Razoola; 02-13-2018 at 12:08 PM.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  23. #23
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    The neoSD gives up control of its region/mode settings to the unibios (when present) because the unibios can control the system a little more accurately than the neoSD can (because its the bios level). It is by design to give the best experiance to the user when the unibios is available.

    What you are experiancing sound correct if I understand you correctly. I suspect you have not yet discovered holding A+D+START for a second or so while a game is playing will also force the neoSD gamelist. If A+D+START is not working, maybe you have set that option in the neosd settings to something else.

    [edit]
    I think I mis read you, so make sure you have not got the neoSD button code to bring back the neoSD game list to one of the button codes used by the unibios. If its set to A+D+START it should not pull up the unibios ingame menu.
    Thanks! I did try setting different button codes and that takes me to the bios menu not the NeoSD one even if I change the code on the NeoSD to be something else. That's my biggest issue is right now I have to reset the console to get to the game list. I did try deleting the config file last config or whatever it is, and that didn't seem to help still.

  24. #24
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,562
    Quote Originally Posted by shadowtek View Post
    Thanks! I did try setting different button codes and that takes me to the bios menu not the NeoSD one even if I change the code on the NeoSD to be something else. That's my biggest issue is right now I have to reset the console to get to the game list. I did try deleting the config file last config or whatever it is, and that didn't seem to help still.
    What button code have you got the neoSD set to use and what version unibios are you using?
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  25. #25
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    What button code have you got the neoSD set to use and what version unibios are you using?
    I've tried with A+D+Start and with A+C+Start I think. Also, it's Unibios 3.3.
    Last edited by shadowtek; 02-13-2018 at 02:19 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •