Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Windows 10 Install?

  1. #1
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412

    Windows 10 Install?

    So my SSD crapped out on me today. I ordered a new one from amazon. I went from Win7 to 10 previously and want to know if I could download Win10 on a disc or USB and install it directly without having to install WIN7 again and upgrade to 10.

    I still have my original WIN7 disc and serial number. Don't want to pay for Win10 if I don't have to.

  2. #2
    Occult Archmage
    F4U57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    NSW

    Posts
    5,591
    I had the same issue with my SSD. Unfortunately my Windows 7 key was entombed when the SSD shat itself.

    I ended up buying Windows 10 Pro.

    I realise that doesn't help you.

  3. #3
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,139
    If you already upgraded to Win 10 with the 7 key, as long as you have the key, it shouldn't be a problem with DL'ing win 10 and installing it.

  4. #4
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Dam, that sucks. So I have to go through the ridiculous process of Installing Win7 and upgrading to 10 again? Shit.

  5. #5
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    If you already upgraded to Win 10 with the 7 key, as long as you have the key, it shouldn't be a problem with DL'ing win 10 and installing it.
    This is good news bro. Hopefully you are right. I was researching on google and someone said if you activated windows on that same computer, it supposedly remembers your motherboard serial number.

  6. #6
    King's Bartender
    Jibbajaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Am Heimcomputer sitz' ich hier... programmier' die Zukunft mir...

    Posts
    5,000
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    Dam, that sucks. So I have to go through the ridiculous process of Installing Win7 and upgrading to 10 again? Shit.
    Not according to what Kid Panda posted above you. He's a fucken Chinese kid, so he's probably good with the computers.


    Quote Originally Posted by mjmjr25 View Post
    No more posts. Jibs wins internet for May 31.

  7. #7
    Occult Archmage
    F4U57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    NSW

    Posts
    5,591
    Quote Originally Posted by Jibbajaba View Post
    Not according to what Kid Panda posted above you. He's a fucken Chinese kid, so he's probably good with the computers.
    +1

  8. #8
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Jibbajaba View Post
    Not according to what Kid Panda posted above you. He's a fucken Chinese kid, so he's probably good with the computers.
    Dam Straight they are.

  9. #9
    Bunker Buster
    mr_b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL

    Posts
    1,461
    KP is right. If you went thru and accepted the Win10 upgrade during the promotional window. Your win10 key is tied to the cpu/mobo/win7 key hash like an OEM key. You can install Win10 directly from cd and type in your win 7 key and it will activate. You can choose to enter your Win7 key at the time of installation or select "skip" when installing from a Win10 cd. Upon getting internet access, the activation attempt will be successful based on the cpu/mobo hash.

  10. #10
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Thanks guys. I'll update this thread when I install Win10 to the SSD.

  11. #11
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003
    TotalMoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK

    Posts
    61
    If you have successfully upgraded to Windows 10 previously then you can simply install Windows 10 directly as long as you have the Key. If you have the Key, during the install it asks for your key, skip this and wait until the install is complete. Then Activate Windows using your key. If you dont have the Key and it's an OEM machine (HP, Dell etc..) then you will need the OEM install media and it will pull the Key from the bios upon install. Then you can do the upgrade again. Use a Key extractor and make a note in a safe place.

    BTW, you can STILL upgrade to Windows 10.. Just google.. "Accessible Windows 10"

  12. #12
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CO

    Posts
    430
    I swear when I did it to my parents computers I didn't need to enter a key the second time.
    I upgraded from 7 to 10. Swapped out the hard drive for an SSD, installed win10 from the image from the MS site and it automagically activated itself.

  13. #13
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Just a quick update guys. Just like The Panda said, using the Win7 Key worked fine. Thanks for everyone's help.

  14. #14
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,062
    You paid for an OS?



    For the tunes lovers!

  15. #15
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Quote Originally Posted by lachlan View Post
    You paid for an OS?
    I did a long time ago. Win7 home edition.

  16. #16
    Ukyo's Doctor
    wyndcrosser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Midwest

    Posts
    1,242
    I'm surprised home let you upgrade, nice.
    Looking for UK copies of Dive Alert Becky's Version, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters, and Pocket Reversi.
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=41108&dateline=145772  3980

  17. #17
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Quote Originally Posted by wyndcrosser View Post
    I'm surprised home let you upgrade, nice.
    Yea, when you install win10 through DVD or usb and enter the cd key it automatically detects the OS. If you skip entering your cd key you have to choose the OS you want to Install Win10 Home or Pro.

  18. #18
    Geese's Thug

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    272
    You should never have to use the key again if you had win10 already installed and activated on your system be it a upgrade from 7 or not , just swap the Ssd install your os go online an activate ... done ( sometimes it takes a little time )

    If it's possible bevor all this go and get this little tool from Microsoft "MediaCreationTool" , follow its instructions point for point it will create a working bootstick or DVD for you ( you need a working inet. Connection ) USB would be the best , if you have usb3 its realy fast

    if you have a new pc ther would be some other thinks to take care of befor like what to use bios or uefi .... but if you don't care anything is fine

  19. #19
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,410
    I am still on WinXP or Win7 (can't remember which) and only on an old laptop which I have to use with the EPROM writer. For everything else I use Fedora Linux. Works perfect for me.

  20. #20
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Grendell View Post
    You should never have to use the key again if you had win10 already installed and activated on your system be it a upgrade from 7 or not , just swap the Ssd install your os go online an activate ... done ( sometimes it takes a little time )

    If it's possible bevor all this go and get this little tool from Microsoft "MediaCreationTool" , follow its instructions point for point it will create a working bootstick or DVD for you ( you need a working inet. Connection ) USB would be the best , if you have usb3 its realy fast

    if you have a new pc ther would be some other thinks to take care of befor like what to use bios or uefi .... but if you don't care anything is fine
    I did use the mediacreationtool. Installed via USB but it still asked me for a cd key so I put it in. It activated automatically once I signed into windows

  21. #21
    Chin's Drinking Partner
    Xavier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Fort Wayne

    Posts
    2,772
    Yeah I did this, I don't think I even had to type in the code.
    I've also been able to install my previous windows install discs that I upgraded on other computers and gotten them to authenticate.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •