Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31

Thread: PVM 2530 help, issues with my picture on SNES and Genesis

  1. #1
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781

    PVM 2530 help, issues with my picture on SNES and Genesis

    I just got a PVM monitor and the highest quality cables possible from retroconsoleaccessories.

    When I turn both my Genesis and SNES on with most games there is a picture about 50 percent of the time, other times it shows black.

    When there is a picture it is garbled/wavy. I attached an example picture of both the SNES and Genesis.

    I doubt both my cables are bonked but this monitor was working with the previous owner and also was recently recapped.unnamed (1).jpgunnamed.jpg

  2. #2
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Literally right after posting this I got it to work adjusting different nobs in the back. Took about a hour of messing around.

    The picture still doesn't quite fill up the whole screen however I'm relieved it works.

  3. #3
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,183
    First of all, excellent looking monitor

    Glad to hear you got it sorted already, definitely a sync/hold issue as you discovered.
    Last edited by kuze; 01-30-2017 at 03:04 PM.

  4. #4
    Ikari Warrior
    fakeXsound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Mass

    Posts
    5,304
    I have PVM envy. My 12" seems lacking.

  5. #5
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    First of all, excellent looking monitor

    Glad to hear you got it sorted already, definitely a sync/hold issue as you discovered.
    unnamed (2).jpg

    Any way to fix this image so there are no borders? Also some of the edges are curved in an odd way going outward.

  6. #6
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,162
    You need to go into the service menu to change that, but it's not particularly easy in most models. I will warn you from experience, if you adjust overscan with a genesis you're going to be chopping off the edges of other systems. Those borders are part of the video signal of a lot of Genesis games but were lost in the overscan area of most tvs.

  7. #7
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    You need to go into the service menu to change that, but it's not particularly easy in most models. I will warn you from experience, if you adjust overscan with a genesis you're going to be chopping off the edges of other systems. Those borders are part of the video signal of a lot of Genesis games but were lost in the overscan area of most tvs.
    It seems the 2530 has no service menu so I would actually have to open it up and risk dying to fix this so I doubt I will.

    The SNES has the same geometry on the picture, the only difference being is that the blank areas are black instead of colored.

  8. #8
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,162
    Does that model have a button to turn overscan on and off?

  9. #9
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    Does that model have a button to turn overscan on and off?
    It doesn't from what I read. I may just see if a member in Northern California with the know-how can open this up and adjust it for me safely for a fee.

  10. #10
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,183
    Quote Originally Posted by Loefye View Post
    It doesn't from what I read. I may just see if a member in Northern California with the know-how can open this up and adjust it for me safely for a fee.
    Yeah you have to open it up to adjust it.

    It's not that scary because you don't have to discharge the tube. There are accessible pots that you can just adjust with a screwdriver while the monitor is on.

    Of course, handle with caution and don't touch anything, just your screwdriver with rubber handle on the pots.

  11. #11
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    Yeah you have to open it up to adjust it.

    It's not that scary because you don't have to discharge the tube. There are accessible pots that you can just adjust with a screwdriver while the monitor is on.

    Of course, handle with caution and don't touch anything, just your screwdriver with rubber handle on the pots.
    So everywhere on the green circuit board is safe to touch with a screwdriver, just nothing behind the boards and this can be done even while on?

    Any idea if there is a guide that shows which pot adjusts what on this monitor? I'm not going to mess with anything aside from trying to make the edges invisible on the sides and make the geometry a bit more square.

    It would be awesome to know the exact pots to adjust.

  12. #12
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,183
    Quote Originally Posted by Loefye View Post
    So everywhere on the green circuit board is safe to touch with a screwdriver, just nothing behind the boards and this can be done even while on?

    Any idea if there is a guide that shows which pot adjusts what on this monitor? I'm not going to mess with anything aside from trying to make the edges invisible on the sides and make the geometry a bit more square.

    It would be awesome to know the exact pots to adjust.
    Yeah I have the 2030 and 3230 which are almost the exact same as your 2530. There are silk screened indicators for what pot does what, these apply to basically any crt monitor. The Blast City manual describes in detail what each pot does even though it's a different monitor.

    What you'll want to adjust is h/v-pos and h/v-size. For any that don't seem to be accessible from the back, you can stick a properly sized screwdriver through the hole to adjust it without opening the cage.

  13. #13
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    Yeah I have the 2030 and 3230 which are almost the exact same as your 2530. There are silk screened indicators for what pot does what, these apply to basically any crt monitor. The Blast City manual describes in detail what each pot does even though it's a different monitor.

    What you'll want to adjust is h/v-pos and h/v-size. For any that don't seem to be accessible from the back, you can stick a properly sized screwdriver through the hole to adjust it without opening the cage.
    Aside from the h and v size, if you check the screenshot I posted, on the left bottom and right the picture sort of bows inward, especially on the left. Would you mess with something to fix that or just stretch the size for the h and v so it's not visible.

    Lastly I know the Gen and SNES are somewhat different, which system do you think I should use as my base for adjustment so both systems have zero borders? I only plan to use this with SNES GEN and NES once I get one RGB modded.

  14. #14
    Stupid Bitch.
    Craig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    2,962
    if you have something that can run 240 test suite that would help...

    if you dont have a genny/snes everdrive you could burn one for sega cd or dreamcast...

  15. #15
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,183
    Quote Originally Posted by Loefye View Post
    Aside from the h and v size, if you check the screenshot I posted, on the left bottom and right the picture sort of bows inward, especially on the left. Would you mess with something to fix that or just stretch the size for the h and v so it's not visible.

    Lastly I know the Gen and SNES are somewhat different, which system do you think I should use as my base for adjustment so both systems have zero borders? I only plan to use this with SNES GEN and NES once I get one RGB modded.
    Just stretch the h/v to fit and it will look fine in game. It's sort of the nature with curved tubes and just takes a bit of getting used to.

    I would use your favorite console to calibrate with, for me this was the SNES over GEN. It looks great with most systems that way and the 240p test suite can be run from flashcart while calibrating.

  16. #16
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    Just stretch the h/v to fit and it will look fine in game. It's sort of the nature with curved tubes and just takes a bit of getting used to.

    I would use your favorite console to calibrate with, for me this was the SNES over GEN. It looks great with most systems that way and the 240p test suite can be run from flashcart while calibrating.
    I will just try to eye it in game as I have no flash cart or Sega CD hookups to run off of a CD. Do you know where the v and h pots are located on my particular model? Also, thanks for the help.
    Last edited by Loefye; 01-30-2017 at 05:32 PM.

  17. #17
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,183
    Quote Originally Posted by Loefye View Post
    I will just try to eye it in game as I have no flash cart or Sega CD hookups to run off of a CD. Do you know where the v and h pots are located on my particular model? Also, thanks for the help.
    NP! They are located on the rightmost board on the back of the cage, if you're looking at it from behind. Just scan around the green PCB looking for white text and you'll find them.

  18. #18
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    NP! They are located on the rightmost board on the back of the cage, if you're looking at it from behind. Just scan around the green PCB looking for white text and you'll find them.
    OK going to try to open it up and find those. Just to be sure, all I need is a rubber ended screwdriver and the monitor can be on? Some forums were suggesting people use ceramic stuff or "trimmers" whatever those are.

    Also, was going to try to mess a bit with the bowing at the bottom as it is distorting the image a bit on rectangular text windows which can't be hidden by stretching the image. What is that pot called?
    Last edited by Loefye; 01-30-2017 at 06:03 PM.

  19. #19
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,183
    Quote Originally Posted by Loefye View Post
    OK going to try to open it up and find those. Just to be sure, all I need is a rubber ended screwdriver and the monitor can be on? Some forums were suggesting people use ceramic stuff or "trimmers" whatever those are.

    Also, was going to try to mess a bit with the bowing at the bottom as it is distorting the image a bit on rectangular text windows which can't be hidden by stretching the image. What is that pot called?
    Just a screwdriver with a rubber handle is fine.

    Bowing and such can get pretty complicated, you'll have to read a manual in detail to get an idea for what things like 'trapezoid' and 'spc' etc do and it will take a lot of trial and error. I spent several hours trying to calibrate my 3230.

    Edit: also stuff in the corners can be convergence issues that can only be fixed with convergence strips. There are YT videos on how to apply them, but that process is a bit more dangerous.
    Last edited by kuze; 01-30-2017 at 06:21 PM.

  20. #20
    Kyo's Flame
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA http://www.twitch.tv/danadamkof

    Posts
    8,138
    I'm in Norcal if you need help.

  21. #21
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by DanAdamKOF View Post
    I'm in Norcal if you need help.
    I'm in Sacramento. I may roll down to Sunnyvale sometime though, maybe we can meet up and play some games, grab some food or what not and you can help me out. I think you're only about 2 hours away and I have a friend I need to catch up with down that way anyway.

  22. #22
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    Just a screwdriver with a rubber handle is fine.

    Bowing and such can get pretty complicated, you'll have to read a manual in detail to get an idea for what things like 'trapezoid' and 'spc' etc do and it will take a lot of trial and error. I spent several hours trying to calibrate my 3230.

    Edit: also stuff in the corners can be convergence issues that can only be fixed with convergence strips. There are YT videos on how to apply them, but that process is a bit more dangerous.
    What stuff in the corners are you referring to? I think my problem is mainly just geometry but I'm no pro.

  23. #23
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,183
    Quote Originally Posted by Loefye View Post
    What stuff in the corners are you referring to? I think my problem is mainly just geometry but I'm no pro.
    Look at YouTube videos on fixing convergence and you'll know if that's your issue, or something that can be fixed by geometry pots.

    It's basically where red green and blue don't align properly and you sort of get a rgb 'rainbow' effect

  24. #24
    Lt. Laser
    Loefye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    California

    Posts
    2,781
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    Look at YouTube videos on fixing convergence and you'll know if that's your issue, or something that can be fixed by geometry pots.

    It's basically where red green and blue don't align properly and you sort of get a rgb 'rainbow' effect
    I don't think I have that issue.

    I did make a album with better pics showcasing my issues with the issues being in each description. You can also see some color issues. Let me know how normal this is for a recapped monitor.

    http://imgur.com/a/d5EQ5

  25. #25
    This is the hand that launched a thousand batches. 90s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto

    Posts
    1,044
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    You need to go into the service menu to change that, but it's not particularly easy in most models. I will warn you from experience, if you adjust overscan with a genesis you're going to be chopping off the edges of other systems. Those borders are part of the video signal of a lot of Genesis games but were lost in the overscan area of most tvs.
    I asked the same thing in the CRT thread at some point. I have pretty much just learned to live with with the borders and they don't detract from the games for me. I'm not savvy or interested enough to open my PVM and mess around with it.

    Nice monitor Loefye. I have a 2530 as well. It's pretty cool just how much the adjustment knobs on the back and the picture adjustment buttons can help you fix problems or get a picture you like, at least from my experience. I think I even used the sync on green at some point.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •