Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: MV-1C Too Bright on the Framemeister

  1. #1

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112

    MV-1C Too Bright on the Framemeister

    I can't figure out why my MV-1C is too bright on the Framemeister. I have 75 ohm resistors on the R, G, and B lines. Before, I was mostly using this on a consumer CRT with a YBPr converter, so it probably wasn't bothering me very much, since I can just adjust the brightness on the TV.

    I can't remember if this used to work, or if it has always been this bright. I have the Framemeister on the default settings, which looks fine on all the other consoles I use on it (black edges of the screen are just as black as the unused space on the left and right of the LCD. The brightness is 25, gamma 10, black level 0. The TV I use doesn't matter.

    Any ideas what I might have missed or am overlooking?
    20170120_235637_opt.jpg20170120_235647_opt.jpg20170120_235655_opt.jpg20170120_235707_opt.jpgresistor.jpg

  2. #2
    Hollywood Hulk Gohan GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hollywood, CA

    Posts
    10,382
    Reduce your A/D setting in the FM and see if that helps. Otherwise you might need stronger resistors. When I had a mini I was using 75 ohm and it was perfect, but everyone's setup may vary.
    Whatcha gonna do?

  3. #3

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    The A/D level makes the whole screen too dark. Adjusting the black level helps the most, but the whites still look too bright.

    I'm frustrated. I need this to be perfect and 75 ohm is what everyone says to use.

  4. #4

  5. #5

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    That seemed very specific, so I'm going to buy some. Thanks!

  6. #6

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    I put in 124 ohm resistors, and it's only marginally better. There is still a big difference between the unused sides of the wide screen and the 4:3 display area. Adjusting the black level on the Framemeister seems to help more now:
    20170128_113147_opt.jpg
    I'd like it to look more like my Famicom, where the blacks are almost the same as the unused part of the screen:
    20170128_113404_opt.jpg
    Maybe I should wire pots and measure the resistance when it looks good?

    EDIT:
    Well, I did my experiment with the pots and there was no setting that gets rid of the bright blacks. I guess it's not possible? I should adjust the black level on the Framemeister?
    Last edited by Neo Alec; 01-28-2017 at 12:33 PM.

  7. #7
    Lazy SNK Employee
    RRR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    HI

    Posts
    51
    You could try a THS7314 RGB amp

    This thread might be helpful: http://assemblergames.com/l/threads/...e.51917/page-2

  8. #8

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    Interesting thread. I've seen it before. The guy raining on everyone's parade in there is right, but I'm not sure it's worth bothering with for me. I'll probably just make the black level setting part of my framemeister profile for the Neo Geo.

    124 ohms seems to be best. Maybe still a little on the bright side, I don't know. Thanks again, Xian.

    Those who still insist on putting a resistor on the sync line, please note, I tried putting a pot on the sync line and it resulted in nothing but the ability to set it too high for the Framemeister.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    34
    I'm also going into a Framemeister with an mv1fz, and some of the lighter colors are really washed out. I may also try some resistors on RGB and report back.

    EDIT: 100 Ohm resistors on each of the RGB lines (*not* sync) did it. The picture on my FM is amazing now.
    Last edited by pollsoda; 02-16-2017 at 08:58 PM. Reason: tried resistors on RGB

  10. #10
    Crazed MVS Addict
    nam9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Norway

    Posts
    142
    I needed to add a 220ohm resistor to the sync line to fix distortion across the top of the image

    Link with pic

    I tried various values, but this one worked.
    Not sure what the issue here is as everyone seems to have different results (its probably the TV...)

  11. #11
    Raiden's Valet
    mikejmoffitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    San Jose, CA

    Posts
    578
    Try inline 220uF capacitors, + facing towards the MVS and - facing towards the output.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    34
    Just did the same thing (100ohm resistors on RGB) on the MV-1C that I just got in and that worked great as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Crazed MVS Addict
    nam9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Norway

    Posts
    142
    Going back to this point:

    Quote Originally Posted by RRR View Post
    You could try a THS7314 RGB amp

    This thread might be helpful: http://assemblergames.com/l/threads/...e.51917/page-2
    I have a working solution based on a modified PCE RGB amp:

    2017-02-19 20.39.02.jpg

    The results are encouraging:

    2017-02-19 12.49.07.jpg2017-02-19 12.59.00.jpg

  14. #14

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    Thanks for replying to my thread! I was thinking about starting a new thread about this.

    So, do you guys need to set the black level on your Framemeister? Mine currently must have the black set to 8 with 124 ohm resistors on the lines.

    No amount of resistance makes the blacks truly black. The color levels change, but the blacks stay bright.

  15. #15
    Raiden's Valet
    mikejmoffitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    San Jose, CA

    Posts
    578
    You might just have the bias (or brightness) too high.

  16. #16

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    Too high on the Framemeister? What settings do you use?

  17. #17
    Raiden's Valet
    mikejmoffitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    San Jose, CA

    Posts
    578
    I've never used a Framemeister, so I can't say exactly, but there may be a "brightness" or "black level" setting to mess with. If it's just the Neo-Geo doing this, though, then that may not be it. If you haven't tried capacitors inline like I said earlier, that's worth a try as well.

  18. #18

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    I just wanted to make an update on the problem I was having.

    I was able to get the output levels on my MV-1C perfect, without the blacks being brighter than the black borders around the 4:3 image on my TV. And I didn't need to use an amp, although I'm sure that method would have been the best.

    A lot of good information about video circuits seems to have hit the retrogaming community since I started this thread. This thread on reddit got me thinking more about it:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/retrogaming..._ossc_without/

    I followed this diagram, except I added a 220uF capacitor to the sync line, since that seems to be the consensus about TTL sync:


    Adding the caps seemed to fix the black level problem.

    There seems to be agreement that the brightness levels vary between different MVS boards; even within the same model board. So these days people suggest using pots for the RGB levels. I don't have any room for pots on my CMVS, so I experimented with a pot on the green line until I dialed it in. 330 ohm resistors seem to be the right level for my board. Now I can use FBX's Neo Geo Framemeister profile without having to turn down the A/D and turn up the black level.

    The only remaining issue is that the analog picture is a bit noisier/less clean than most of my consoles, including my NGCD. This has always been an issue with my MV-1C, even before fixing the RGB levels with the new resistors. There doesn't seem to be anything that can be done to fix the noisy analog signal, other than installing an amp. However, turning up the black level from 1 to 2 in the color settings of the Framemeister all but corrects the issue. You can only see it on bright solid colors when you're right up next to the TV, and that is pretty normal for an analog video signal on the Framemeister.

    So overall, I'm pretty happy with where I've dialed it in now. It's better than where it was. You'll be able to see the new adjustments in my Youtube videos, which hopefully won't look any different than before. Now I probably have sync level adjustments, etc that need to be made on my other consoles. I don't know when or if I'll ever bother fixing them. My SNES Jr. probably needs Voultar's board and proper sync attenuation.

  19. #19

  20. #20

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    You're probably right. I have a second power supply and it doesn't make much difference. I'm kind of married to using the two old supplies I have. I wonder how much trouble it will be to recap them.

  21. #21

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,112
    I bought one of these replacement 5v AES AC adapters, and will use the official one as a backup. Seems to work pretty well although the cord is ridiculously short:
    https://ebay.us/7rTCXL

    No change in screen noise. I wonder if perhaps my video lines are picking up interference from somewhere. I moved the main ground wire that had been criss-crossing the video lines out of the way, but it seemed to make little difference.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •