Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Toodles FGW

  1. #1
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473

    Toodles FGW

    Can anyone recreate the PIC? for the FGW?

    It looks like he won't make them anymore but a lot of people I requested these things for their superguns and lately they have started to fail. I tried reaching out to Marcus with no reply. I had to fix one by swapping in a new chip from a new kit I had an extra of.

    I have two more kits, so if someone just needs one to pull the logic off it to recreate it, that'd be no problem.

  2. #2
    Kyo's Flame
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA http://www.twitch.tv/danadamkof

    Posts
    8,144
    I haven't heard of someone recreating the FGW but I believe etokki carried a PSX/PS2->discrete output decoder at one point, if that helps at all.

  3. #3
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    This is sad, the world needs more FGW's.

  4. #4
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    Quote Originally Posted by DanAdamKOF View Post
    I haven't heard of someone recreating the FGW but I believe etokki carried a PSX/PS2->discrete output decoder at one point, if that helps at all.
    Nah, those are different. Looking for something that will drop right in so I don't have to rewire everything, some of these superguns have 4 x FGWs. Plus I've come across those laugh ones that have failed as well.

  5. #5
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    England

    Posts
    5
    Any progress with sourcing a replacement yet? I've tried emailing Marcus but had no response either.

    I doubt you could pull the logic from them due to the copy protection features on the MC without using a more invasive method. I need 2 as well for a SG build and I guess GLC won't be returning any time soon.

    If the encoders seem to be failing it might be worth looking at alternates, I know RGB does a small pcb for Saturn controllers.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    mikejmoffitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    San Jose, CA

    Posts
    569
    What exactly does this do? Does it more or less decode SFC/SNES/Saturn/PS controllers into button outputs, meant to connect to a JAMMA edge or Neo?

  8. #8
    KING of BLING
    [place bling here]
    pixeljunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    in a glass of Orval

    Posts
    5,234
    Quote Originally Posted by mikejmoffitt View Post
    What exactly does this do? Does it more or less decode SFC/SNES/Saturn/PS controllers into button outputs, meant to connect to a JAMMA edge or Neo?
    yeah, think PSX controller ports on a supergun and you got the idea
    ROT IS DELETING PHOTOBUCKET LINKS!... SOON... he'll be changing usernames... xROTx

  9. #9
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    Yes, it can take inputs from either a Playstation, Saturn, or SNES controller and convert the signal to individual signals. So you could then either make it output DB15 for a simple Neo/Supergun adapter or tie them with another PCB to make a PS1/Saturn/SNES to whatever converter.

  10. #10
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    England

    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Nope, not yet but I think RGB can make a better one. I'll check with him.
    That's a shame, got a feeling something better will come along, would be good to see RGB take this on.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikejmoffitt View Post
    What exactly does this do? Does it more or less decode SFC/SNES/Saturn/PS controllers into button outputs, meant to connect to a JAMMA edge or Neo?
    Pretty much, the inputs can then be assigned to the jamma edge as required, then just adapt a console extension lead to which ever controller is required.

    I guess the draw back with the FGW you can only assign one controller, would be nice to see a converter that could cycle the inputs and select the correct controller logic.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •