Page 4 of 34 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 845

Thread: NEOSD MVS Support thread !

  1. #76
    ネオジオ
    massimiliano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    On the green!!

    Posts
    2,796
    Given how faulty the original batteries have become anyway, I thought it was common already to replace the battery with a CR2320+holder and remove the recharge circuit resistor/track. That gives a constant battery feed to the pcb when off for long periods.
    But I agree with Raz, the nvram data should be written on gameover, rather than be overwritten at boot.

    Also it would be nice having a "signed" highscore system so users could share records
    Last edited by massimiliano; 11-25-2016 at 09:52 AM.
    凄いゲームを連れて。。。売った。

  2. #77
    Stakes Winner

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by massimiliano View Post
    Given how faulty the original batteries have become anyway, I thought it was common already to replace the battery with a CR2320+holder and remove the recharge circuit resistor/track. That gives a constant battery feed to the pcb when off for long periods.
    Absolutely. Mine has this mod. :-)

  3. #78
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,160
    as a matter of interest, how long does the CR2320 last before it needs replacing when doing this?
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  4. #79
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    34
    everything works like ecpected!

    2 small problems
    - no '@' in menu/gamelist available
    - BOOT:MENU + ARCADE MODE:YES + no SDCard inserted = neverending RESET

  5. #80
    Metal Slug Mechanic
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,184
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    as a matter of interest, how long does the CR2320 last before it needs replacing when doing this?
    They seem to last a year or more before needing to be swapped out

  6. #81
    Stakes Winner

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    as a matter of interest, how long does the CR2320 last before it needs replacing when doing this?
    To tell the truth, dunno! xD
    I'm using this system since two months ago with no battery problem so far. Based on the duration of this kind of batteries, I suppose it could last for years before backup data disappear.

  7. #82
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,160
    Quote Originally Posted by blastar View Post
    - no '@' in menu/gamelist available
    You were always gonna be the one that found this issue!
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  8. #83
    Tech Support Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Dunedin, FL

    Posts
    1,644
    I don't have a battery in my dev system(s). I need the backup ram to be clear between testing sessions. While developing a game, menu options will be added/tweaked and wrong data getting loaded into settings is an issue.

    I'd like to see an option to turn off auto backup ram saving.

    Jeff

  9. #84
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,160
    Quote Originally Posted by JMKurtz View Post
    I don't have a battery in my dev system(s). I need the backup ram to be clear between testing sessions. While developing a game, menu options will be added/tweaked and wrong data getting loaded into settings is an issue.

    I'd like to see an option to turn off auto backup ram saving.

    Jeff
    Jeff, there is an option to do that so your fine.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  10. #85
    ネオジオ
    massimiliano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    On the green!!

    Posts
    2,796
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    as a matter of interest, how long does the CR2320 last before it needs replacing when doing this?
    I do not have specs around, but I can tell mine served at least 2 years with the cab mostly off... it would be nice doing some calculation though.
    Last edited by massimiliano; 11-25-2016 at 02:09 PM. Reason: typo
    凄いゲームを連れて。。。売った。

  11. #86
    Tech Support Moderator

    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Dunedin, FL

    Posts
    1,644
    Cool - thanks for letting me know. I won't get to play with my NeoSD until Christmas :/

    Jeff

    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    Jeff, there is an option to do that so your fine.

  12. #87
    Astra Superstar
    dragonpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ネオジオCO、ポルトガル

    Posts
    813
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    as a matter of interest, how long does the CR2320 last before it needs replacing when doing this?
    Had one in a 1slot for 2+ years without issues, battery still had the normal stock voltage...
    Hyper Neo Geo 64 / Neo Geo CD - Top Loader / Neo Geo Poket Color/ Neo MVS - MV1FZ / 1B / 4F

  13. #88
    Galford's Armourer
    poodude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN

    Posts
    453
    For those interested in SD card benchmark speeds, here you go:
    Spoiler:


    Test Setup:
    Lexar Professional workflow UR1 microsd card reader was used for all tests except when noted
    CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 x64 was used to produce all the test results and was set up with 2 passes and 100MB read/write size
    All cards up to 32GB are formatted as FAT32 with 32KB allocation unit size

    Test Results (Numbers are Sequential Read, Sequential Write, 4K Random Read, 4K Random Write in MB/s, speeds greater than 10MB/s were rounded to the whole numbers)

    16 GB Alphabetically
    Lexar 633x** -- 88, 25, 8.7, 1.2
    Panasonic U3** -- 93, 42, 11, 0.7
    Sandisk Extreme Pro -- 95, 80, 7.6, 2.6

    32 GB Alphabetically
    Delkin U3 -- 93, 59, 11, 0.6
    Kingston 90R/80W -- 93, 58, 11, 0.6
    Lexar 1000x -- 90, 57, 10, 1.4
    Patriot EP -- 90, 35, 10, 0.6
    PNY Turbo Performance -- 91, 55, 6.9, 0.9
    Samsung Pro gray -- 92, 82, 10, 3.6
    Sandisk Extreme Pro -- 94, 87, 9, 3.0
    Sony up to 95MB/s -- 91, 51, 4.8, 0.9
    Transcend Ultimate 633x -- 93, 85, 8.1, 1.4

    Fastest Sequential Read:
    All tested cards were able to accomplish > 90MB/s

    Fastest Sequential Write:
    Sandisk Extreme Pro, Samsung Pro+, Transcend Ultimate 633x

    Fastest Random Read:
    Kingston 90R/80W.

    Fastest Random Write:
    Samsung Pro+

    Best overall:
    Samsung Pro+ and Sandisk Extreme Pro
    Last edited by poodude; 11-25-2016 at 11:03 PM.

  14. #89
    New Challenger
    manic23's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    London, UK

    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by JMKurtz View Post
    Cool - thanks for letting me know. I won't get to play with my NeoSD until Christmas :/

    Jeff
    Ha, me too Jeff, I feel your pain

  15. #90
    Rugal's Thug

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    107
    Is it possible to enter the chat without flash? i need help with that passwort thingy ...

  16. #91
    Calvin & Hobbes

    Rot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    InChatKthx

    Posts
    8,868
    Quote Originally Posted by nio View Post
    Is it possible to enter the chat without flash? i need help with that passwort thingy ...
    I will give you a ONE time... n00b PM permission thingy...

    xROTx

    PS. Unless of course you have a Death Wish...

    EDIT: For all those not wanting to come into chat... or can't come into chat... I will say... you may PM me... ONCE!

  17. #92
    Rugal's Thug
    NeoHomeBrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    94
    NeoSD cart has been arrived and works great even with my homebrewed code
    Is there a possibility to add a custom screen shot for the NeoSD menu?

  18. #93
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,160
    lets see some homedrew stuff running on the NeoSD.. please post some photos or video jojo23
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  19. #94
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,046
    Not sure if its a Vista thing or what, I get this error from the command line:-
    C:\NeoBuilder>neobuilder pnyaa.zip
    NeoBuilder v1.05

    Unhandled Exception: System.IO.FileNotFoundEx
    embly 'MamePostProcessing.dll' or one of its
    could not be found.
    at NeoBuilder.Program.CheckRuntimeInstalle
    at NeoBuilder.Program.Main(String[] args)

    Despite .NET 4.5.5 installed, and VC++ 2015 Update 3 Redistributable installed too.

    The UI app says the VC++ 2015 Update 3 Redistributable needs installing. Not sure where I go from here, I need to find a Windows 7 or Windows 10 machine I think.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  20. #95
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    481
    Hello,

    You need the Redistributable, 32bits version.

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    Not sure if its a Vista thing or what, I get this error from the command line:-
    C:\NeoBuilder>neobuilder pnyaa.zip
    NeoBuilder v1.05

    Unhandled Exception: System.IO.FileNotFoundEx
    embly 'MamePostProcessing.dll' or one of its
    could not be found.
    at NeoBuilder.Program.CheckRuntimeInstalle
    at NeoBuilder.Program.Main(String[] args)

    Despite .NET 4.5.5 installed, and VC++ 2015 Update 3 Redistributable installed too.

    The UI app says the VC++ 2015 Update 3 Redistributable needs installing. Not sure where I go from here, I need to find a Windows 7 or Windows 10 machine I think.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  21. #96
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,046
    The redistibutable (32 bits) is on there - its a 32bit OS. I've given up trying on Vista and moved onto a Windows 7 machine. On Win 7 I am using the command prompt to try and convert 1 game and I've tried a few different sets, all give filename errors (because in most of the sets I have the files are labelled ID-c1.bin rather than ID-c1.c1. I get past that error by unzipping and renaming all the ROMs to match what the tool is expecting, but then hit CRC errors. Can I skip that CRC error at all, because then it should work OK.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  22. #97
    Calvin & Hobbes

    Rot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    InChatKthx

    Posts
    8,868
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    The redistibutable (32 bits) is on there - its a 32bit OS. I've given up trying on Vista and moved onto a Windows 7 machine. On Win 7 I am using the command prompt to try and convert 1 game and I've tried a few different sets, all give filename errors (because in most of the sets I have the files are labelled ID-c1.bin rather than ID-c1.c1. I get past that error by unzipping and renaming all the ROMs to match what the tool is expecting, but then hit CRC errors. Can I skip that CRC error at all, because then it should work OK.
    Why can't you just do what everyone else has done Gadget pal... and download the stuffs from post 44 of this thread...

    I understand that the tool is needed if you want to convert the stuff you find lying around the internet... and I UNDERSTAND why neosd has done it this way...

    BUT I have different concerns... and this is why I was willing to do the things I have done...

    xROTx

    PS. I ALSO understand that when writing a review... you will need to look at all aspects of the device... from conversion tool to actual gameplay...

  23. #98
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,046
    Update: I've got it working with a different 'set' OK - but it would be really really nice if it didn't error on a CRC difference - there's no reason to do that imo, perhaps provide it as a warning but allow creation anyway.

    PS: I am not sure what you mean by the stuffs from page 44? I've downloaded the tools from their page and followed their precise instructions!

    Incidentally, I had some graphical noise or something after flashing and first boot of the game, but after pulling the cart out and putting it back in that seems to have cleared up, so I am guessing it was just a bad connection.

    So far I am really impressed with the hardware, not so much the tools lol, but I accept its early days =D
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  24. #99
    Calvin & Hobbes

    Rot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    InChatKthx

    Posts
    8,868
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    Update: I've got it working with a different 'set' OK - but it would be really really nice if it didn't error on a CRC difference - there's no reason to do that imo, perhaps provide it as a warning but allow creation anyway.

    PS: I am not sure what you mean by the stuffs from page 44? I've downloaded the tools from their page and followed their precise instructions!

    Incidentally, I had some graphical noise or something after flashing and first boot of the game, but after pulling the cart out and putting it back in that seems to have cleared up, so I am guessing it was just a bad connection.

    So far I am really impressed with the hardware, not so much the tools lol, but I accept its early days =D
    Look at post 44 pal... on page 2... click linkie...

    xROTx

    PS. Then come talk to me...

  25. #100
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,046
    Thanks Rot - yes I was being dumb for not seeing that link! Doh! That will certainly be easier than messing around with the tool for now.

    I did spot what might be a bug though - I flashed Pochi & Nyaa and I've got those graphical noise lines I mentioned, they come back if I go into the Neo SD menu then chose to start the loaded game. If I power off an on they then disappear, so it would appear to be something to do with having gone into the menu before loading the game from a cold start.

    EDIT: Confirmed, I can re-create that graphical glitch by doing what I described - flash N&P, start the game - little lines of pixels appear over sprites. Power system off and have it auto boot the game and the intefering pixels are gone.
    Last edited by GadgetUK; 11-26-2016 at 09:58 AM.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •