Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 860

Thread: NEOSD MVS Support thread !

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    596

    NEOSD MVS Support thread !

    Hello everyone,

    Lets ask TECH/support NEOSD MVS questions here.
    No shipment/other stuff please.


    Thanks
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  2. #2

    Nostromo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    The World

    Posts
    1,094
    So I have the entire Mame 0.179 in a single folder. After I choose the folder and press START I get the error:

    NeoBuilderUI has stopped working and the program crashes.

    If I copy only a few files into another folder, so it has much less files in it, it works ok.

    Any ideas how I fix this please? Thank you.

  3. #3
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Floob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
    So I have the entire Mame 0.179 in a single folder. After I choose the folder and press START I get the error:

    NeoBuilderUI has stopped working and the program crashes.

    If I copy only a few files into another folder, so it has much less files in it, it works ok.

    Any ideas how I fix this please? Thank you.
    You would only need the ~200 Neo Geo romsets though - not the whole mame set?

  4. #4
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    596
    Hello,

    You can try opening a command prompt and running "neobuilder -d your_mame_roms_directory", it will show the processing progress on screen and you can see the last file it was trying to read, and remove it from the directory. It was not intended to be run against the entire mame romset, but against just the neogeo romsets.

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
    So I have the entire Mame 0.179 in a single folder. After I choose the folder and press START I get the error:

    NeoBuilderUI has stopped working and the program crashes.

    If I copy only a few files into another folder, so it has much less files in it, it works ok.

    Any ideas how I fix this please? Thank you.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  5. #5
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Floob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    123
    You could copy your Neo Geo romsets out with a batch file a bit like this:
    http://pastebin.com/raw/6C6KfK39

    Obviously rename your destination dir as you see fit.

  6. #6
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,212
    hmmm, I did not have this problem because I have my neogeo things seperate but I can see that many people will have everything in one dir so the error really needs addressing.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  7. #7
    Ninja Combat Warrior
    aku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    WHQ

    Posts
    684
    works pretty well - 188 converted of 268. most of the roms that were not converted are custom stuff (hacks etc.) "unknown, skipped". the strange part is that some of the "normal roms" like pulstar, strhoop etc. got an "internal error"...

    i ll get other versions of those and retest...

    edit: tested pulstar & strhoop from another source, processed with 0 errors & fine.
    edit: the first romset i took was not good, retested - 250 files converted to *.neo

    only these are missing - but i think i am done...

    missing.JPG

    Quote Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
    For some reason it did not like the folder name were my MAME Roms are found (it was something like "Mame Roms 0.179" - I now renamed it to just "Mame" and it seems to be working.
    confirmed - it seems that neobuilder does not like "." - f.e: Y:\MAME 0.123\roms and it crashed - Y:\MAME 0\roms worked without a problem
    Last edited by aku; 11-22-2016 at 04:00 PM.

  8. #8
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,212
    Quote Originally Posted by Floob View Post
    You could copy your Neo Geo romsets out with a batch file a bit like this:
    http://pastebin.com/raw/6C6KfK39

    Obviously rename your destination dir as you see fit.
    That seems to be missing many neogeo sets from MAME, there are 259 sets the NeoBuilder makes, there are only 204 in that bat. The NeoBuilder really needs to handle directories with 33,000 files if that is the cause of the crash.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  9. #9
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Floob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    That seems to be missing many neogeo sets from MAME, there are 259 sets the NeoBuilder makes, there are only 204 in that bat. The NeoBuilder really needs to handle directories with 33,000 files if that is the cause of the crash.
    This should be them all hopefully:
    http://pastebin.com/raw/6C6KfK39

  10. #10

    Nostromo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    The World

    Posts
    1,094
    For some reason it did not like the folder name were my MAME Roms are found (it was something like "Mame Roms 0.179" - I now renamed it to just "Mame" and it seems to be working.

  11. #11
    Bashful Neophyte
    AMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austria

    Posts
    13
    Thanks for the advise.....very helpful🙂😉.

    sent from mobile device

  12. #12
    Bashful Neophyte
    AMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austria

    Posts
    13
    I will try to open the converter and post some pictures. 🙂

    sent from mobile device

  13. #13
    Crazed MVS Addict

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    belgium

    Posts
    138
    here neodev,this are pictures from a neo magic converter 2013
    just cleaned contacts also,they where dirty.







    Last edited by fille1976; 12-05-2016 at 07:01 AM.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by fille1976 View Post
    here neodev,this are pictures from a neo magic converter 2013
    just cleaned contacts also,they where dirty.







    Thanks for the pics. I'll trace some of the lines I suspect that might be causing problems to check if they are passed straight to cart.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  15. #15
    Crazed MVS Addict
    greatfunky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    France

    Posts
    145
    Quote Originally Posted by neodev View Post
    Thanks for the pics. I'll trace some of the lines I suspect that might be causing problems to check if they are passed straight to cart.
    Tracing lines visually could be not easy , i'm owning that converter too so i could help,
    if you're not sure about a line , just indicate on the picture which pin should be connected , i can verify continuity with a tester.

  16. #16
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    God those adapter PCBs are aweful quality! And WTF is that epoxied unecapsulated IC on the left on its own crappy PCB! I was considering buying one of those adapters at one point, and now I am glad I didn't! I wonder if the Neo SD team could make and sell AES to MVS adapters too?
    Last edited by GadgetUK; 12-05-2016 at 06:30 PM.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  17. #17
    Neosd Developer neosd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Europe

    Posts
    596
    GadgetUK,

    We think we will be able to send you a new firmware update today, it contains a "surprise" as an extra, we think everyone is going to love the surprise.

    Thanks
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo AES & MVS Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  18. #18
    Bashful Neophyte
    AMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austria

    Posts
    13
    Hi fille1976, Thanks for posting the pictures. I was a little bit afraid to open the converter.

    sent from mobile device

  19. #19
    Stakes Winner

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    98
    @neosd / @neodev

    Just another minor issue here:

    Puzzle de Pon!. The softdip menu shows it as 'Neo Pong' and option names are invisible, though their values are displayed and can be configured. However, the very same romset doesn't have this problem when played on MAME/NeoRage. Maybe it's an UniBIOS 3.2 issue (yet it shows it properly as 'Puzzle de Pon') rathen than NeoSD, not sure.
    In addition, the snapshot for Puzzle de Pon! on the NeoSD menu is that of Puzzle de Pon! R! instead of its own.

    Thanks!

  20. #20
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,212
    Quote Originally Posted by Sceptre_JLRB View Post
    @neosd / @neodev

    Just another minor issue here:

    Puzzle de Pon!. The softdip menu shows it as 'Neo Pong' and option names are invisible, though their values are displayed and can be configured. However, the very same romset doesn't have this problem when played on MAME/NeoRage. Maybe it's an UniBIOS 3.2 issue (yet it shows it properly as 'Puzzle de Pon') rathen than NeoSD, not sure.
    In addition, the snapshot for Puzzle de Pon! on the NeoSD menu is that of Puzzle de Pon! R! instead of its own.

    Thanks!
    That more sounds like something went wrong with the backupRAM loading and saving (probably because neopong does not handle it correctly). I suggest turning off the feature and clearing the MVS backupRAM to fix the issue.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  21. #21
    Stakes Winner

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    That more sounds like something went wrong with the backupRAM loading and saving (probably because neopong does not handle it correctly). I suggest turning off the feature and clearing the MVS backupRAM to fix the issue.
    Yeah, that makes totally sense, specially having into account that some homebrew games are somehow 'built' over the features (ID, softdip config, etc) of pre-existing ones (i.e., Puzzle de Pon!, Super Sidekicks, SVC... As far as I've noticed).

    I wonder if it could be fixed by just deleting the backup RAM file created on the NeoSD (maybe, after re-writing the backup RAM memory of the MVS board by saving configurations for another 8 games)...

    Thanks, Raz!

  22. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Sceptre_JLRB View Post
    Yeah, that makes totally sense, specially having into account that some homebrew games are somehow 'built' over the features (ID, softdip config, etc) of pre-existing ones (i.e., Puzzle de Pon!, Super Sidekicks, SVC... As far as I've noticed).

    I wonder if it could be fixed by just deleting the backup RAM file created on the NeoSD (maybe, after re-writing the backup RAM memory of the MVS board by saving configurations for another 8 games)...

    Thanks, Raz!
    Yez, it looks like neopong might be using the same gameid than puzzle de pon, and so, neosd is using the same backup ram data file. You can just clear the mvs backup ram, or delete the corresponding .bup file while a different game is loaded, so it won't be able to restore the backup data and the mvs will create a new one.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  23. #23
    New Challenger
    LDigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Cardiff, U.K.

    Posts
    25
    My MVS cart arrived today and it's great but I have a few issues. It seems to crash and reset randomly. On the few games I have tried. I have been using the pre converted pack that someone high up helped with.

    Blazing star was one of the games that crashed during its intro. I did a crc check and it came back as NG

    My system is a 1fz



    Any idea what might be wrong?

    Thanks

  24. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by LDigital View Post
    My MVS cart arrived today and it's great but I have a few issues. It seems to crash and reset randomly. On the few games I have tried. I have been using the pre converted pack that someone high up helped with.

    Blazing star was one of the games that crashed during its intro. I did a crc check and it came back as NG

    My system is a 1fz



    Any idea what might be wrong?

    Thanks
    Please, send us an email to contact@neosdstore with your serial number, we have an improved firmware that fixes some of those issues in some boards and it might be fix it for you.
    NEOSD - The ONLY Neo Geo MVS & AES Flash Cart - TEAM Member


  25. #25
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Quote Originally Posted by LDigital View Post
    My MVS cart arrived today and it's great but I have a few issues. It seems to crash and reset randomly. On the few games I have tried. I have been using the pre converted pack that someone high up helped with.

    Blazing star was one of the games that crashed during its intro. I did a crc check and it came back as NG

    My system is a 1fz



    Any idea what might be wrong?

    Thanks
    As well as engaging with the neosd team - you might want to consider checking if the crystal on your 1FZ is grounded correctly - often they have had glue knocked off and the ground strap over the crystal is floating. Sometimes they don't even have a ground strap over the crystal. All of the 1FZ I tested here at the time exhibited CRC issues until I grounded the crystal cans. I even went as far as to remove the ground connection strap which re-introduced my CRC issues, then joined up again and problems gone away. Might not be relevent to your problem, but something to consider. I've not had clock jitter issues with 4 slot and other 1 slot boards though.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •