Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 38

Thread: which gaming monitor do you use?

  1. #1
    Windjammers Wonder
    BladeDancer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City

    Posts
    1,396

    which gaming monitor do you use?

    Or heck just which one do you have, doesnt have to be a gaming monitor.

    I currently have this, Acer XB270H
    1080P, 144Hz

    Not my monitor in this pic but its exactly what I have.

    Gil Perales

  2. #2
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    6,043
    At my parents house I'm rocking this monitor for Pc gaming. Awesome Monitor, I recommend anyone who's into pc gaming to go 144hz and it's affordable.
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    For my main setup at my crib I'm using a Dell U3011. It doesn't do 144 but I get a higher res and it's bigger.

  3. #3
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,660
    A 21" Dell Trinitron CRT. Yeah, I haven't updated in a while...

  4. #4
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    6,043
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    A 21" Dell Trinitron CRT. Yeah, I haven't updated in a while...
    I was using a Sony GDM-Fw900 crt for awhile but the problem was space. I still have that shit hooked up to my xrgb3 for gaming but no longer using for my pc.

  5. #5
    Ikari Warrior
    Jibbajaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Livin' in VBA's head, rent free...

    Posts
    5,310
    I'm thinking about grabbing this for use as a TV/Framemeister monitor/computer monitor. Thoughts?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...16C-0014-00022
    Neo-Geo AES US #000003 | Neo-Geo MVS #55378008 | Neo-Geo CD US #71077345



    Quote Originally Posted by mjmjr25 View Post
    No more posts. Jibs wins internet for May 31.

  6. #6
    Another Striker
    -SD-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    324
    I have the Dreamcast, PS3, Mac Mini emulationstation and the AES/CD (via Framemeister) hooked up to a BenQ RL2755HM 27" gaming monitor.

  7. #7
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,660
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    I was using a Sony GDM-Fw900 crt for awhile but the problem was space. I still have that shit hooked up to my xrgb3 for gaming but no longer using for my pc.
    I have an XRGB2. XRGB + Trini CRT = Ohmegerd

    I don't have it connected right now for the same reason. Needed room for the 27" SDTV.

  8. #8
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    6,043
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    I have an XRGB2. XRGB + Trini CRT = Ohmegerd

    I don't have it connected right now for the same reason. Needed room for the 27" SDTV.
    Ohmegerd is right. The Monitor and Xrgb required some calibration but in the end it's probably the best looking setup. I like it better than my pvm setup because I could turn up the horizontal scanlines. I don't like to mess with the vertical scanlines.

  9. #9
    Galford's Poppy Trainer
    Wachenroder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles

    Posts
    2,613
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    At my parents house I'm rocking this monitor for Pc gaming. Awesome Monitor, I recommend anyone who's into pc gaming to go 144hz and it's affordable.
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    For my main setup at my crib I'm using a Dell U3011. It doesn't do 144 but I get a higher res and it's bigger.
    PC im on an Insignia. Nice little 24inch LED monitor. Things are pretty affordable too

    For non HD stuff its my 1954Q or 1354Q depending one where i am

  10. #10
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd
    AJtheMishima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston, Tx

    Posts
    1,664
    Asus vh236
    ***CLICK HERE FOR FIGHTCADE TUTORIAL***

    TWITTER: MountainDewFKR
    PSN: MountainDewFKR
    FIGHTCADE: MountaindewFKR

    GAMER > COLLECTOR

  11. #11
    赤裸裸的汽車人
    Tripredacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Buffalo

    Posts
    3,997
    22" ASUS LCD for computer connected with DVI.
    No game systems hooked up right now. I'll get back to you on that later.

    dude, you're awful at this, you didn't even tried.
    This forum requires that you wait 60 seconds between posts. Please try again in 1 seconds.

  12. #12
    OldSkool4Life
    Gamefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, Colorado

    Posts
    3,664
    Not sure the brand but my laptop is 17" 1080p and sometimes I hook it up to my Samsung 50" via HDMI.

  13. #13
    NEST Puppet
    elGRIZZbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    North Carolina

    Posts
    173
    I've heard that some people use "industrial LCD monitors" as replacements for the CRT in their arcade cabinets. I'd sure love to learn more about that as I've never seen an LCD that handles an image in quite the same way as a CRT does.
    "All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident." - Arthur Schopenhauer

  14. #14
    赤裸裸的汽車人
    Tripredacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Buffalo

    Posts
    3,997
    Quote Originally Posted by elGRIZZbo View Post
    I've heard that some people use "industrial LCD monitors" as replacements for the CRT in their arcade cabinets. I'd sure love to learn more about that as I've never seen an LCD that handles an image in quite the same way as a CRT does.
    Those certainly exist. I can't say anything about the viewing quality, but I do know they are more expensive. For example, it is the only way to get a 4:3 flat panel with an HDMI port.

    dude, you're awful at this, you didn't even tried.
    This forum requires that you wait 60 seconds between posts. Please try again in 1 seconds.

  15. #15
    NEST Puppet
    elGRIZZbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    North Carolina

    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by Tripredacus View Post
    Those certainly exist. I can't say anything about the viewing quality, but I do know they are more expensive. For example, it is the only way to get a 4:3 flat panel with an HDMI port.
    The guy in this video used an industrial monitor which he says cost him about 500 bucks.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6eU68CEYQsY
    "All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident." - Arthur Schopenhauer

  16. #16
    Ukyo's Doctor
    NGCDFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Club Sega.

    Posts
    1,248
    Real sync monitor for my dreamcast.

  17. #17
    King's Dry Cleaner
    Rocko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Stockholm

    Posts
    386
    I play PC games on a BenQ FP241WZ which I paid top dollar for ten years ago. It probably sucks by today's standards.

    I play console games on a Samsung LE40A656 I bought eight years ago. It is showing its age and I'm probably replacing it soon for a 4k TV.

  18. #18
    Windjammers Wonder
    BladeDancer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City

    Posts
    1,396
    Well I decided to pull the trigger on an Acer XB270HU, looks exactly like the one on the original post but this one is 1440p and IPS, should be here tomorrow.



    Last edited by BladeDancer314; 11-21-2016 at 04:31 PM.
    Gil Perales

  19. #19
    Ikari Warrior
    Jibbajaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Livin' in VBA's head, rent free...

    Posts
    5,310
    I just placed an order for a Samsung S32D850T 32" 1440p monitor. Not IPS, but is vertical alignment, so it should have really nice black levels. Will mostly be using it for video editing and Framemeistering. 5ms response time should be fine, but we'll see.
    Neo-Geo AES US #000003 | Neo-Geo MVS #55378008 | Neo-Geo CD US #71077345



    Quote Originally Posted by mjmjr25 View Post
    No more posts. Jibs wins internet for May 31.

  20. #20
    Windjammers Wonder
    BladeDancer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City

    Posts
    1,396
    Im returning that 1440p monitor, I honestly dont see a dif. between 1080p and 1440p.
    Gil Perales

  21. #21
    Ikari Warrior
    Jibbajaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Livin' in VBA's head, rent free...

    Posts
    5,310
    Quote Originally Posted by BladeDancer314 View Post
    Im returning that 1440p monitor, I honestly dont see a dif. between 1080p and 1440p.
    If it's just for gaming, then I can't imagine the difference being that drastic. The advantage that higher resolution has is the increased screen real estate that you get. Will be a huge benefit for me when doing video editing.
    Neo-Geo AES US #000003 | Neo-Geo MVS #55378008 | Neo-Geo CD US #71077345



    Quote Originally Posted by mjmjr25 View Post
    No more posts. Jibs wins internet for May 31.

  22. #22
    Windjammers Wonder
    BladeDancer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City

    Posts
    1,396
    Quote Originally Posted by Jibbajaba View Post
    If it's just for gaming, then I can't imagine the difference being that drastic. The advantage that higher resolution has is the increased screen real estate that you get. Will be a huge benefit for me when doing video editing.
    Yeah the only benefit would be the added real estate and the fact that the 1440p panel is IPS, oh yeah and it also overclocks to 165Hz.
    Gil Perales

  23. #23
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A Hard Earned Thirst

    Posts
    10,969
    Recently bought an Acer K272hul 27" 1440p IPS monitor with 4ms response time. Was pretty cheap and hence not as good as the more expensive models but hey I don't really notice anything bad about it while gaming so hey!



    !!

  24. #24
    Windjammers Wonder
    BladeDancer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City

    Posts
    1,396
    Quote Originally Posted by lachlan View Post
    Recently bought an Acer K272hul 27" 1440p IPS monitor with 4ms response time. Was pretty cheap and hence not as good as the more expensive models but hey I don't really notice anything bad about it while gaming so hey!
    wha cpu/gpu combo do you have?
    Gil Perales

  25. #25
    Zero's Tailor

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    PL

    Posts
    719
    I am using an AOC G2460PG:

    maxresdefault.jpg

    Its FHD / 144hz / 1ms / G-Sync.
    Even though its a TN panel colours still look really nice IMHO.
    Only real downer is lack of any other video inputs beside a single DisplayPort but taking all the features into consideration and the price it is still a good deal.
    Regards, MtothaJ

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •