Dumb JAMMA question

grandmascrack

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
Please excuse my ignorance, but I'm a noob at best when it comes to voltage/wiring/etc, but I'm working on an idea I have and I'm trying to figure out how to trip the COIN pin on a JAMMA board to add a token to the machine.

I've wired a JAMMA fingerboard to act as a middleman between the cabinet and the arcade board and have wired an extra wire to pin 16 that goes to a pin on an Arduino board. I then use the Arduino to send send a signal and trip the pin to add a token.

In theory, this makes sense in my head, but so far it's not working and my first thought is that maybe I don't have the right/enough voltage to trip the pin on the JAMMA harness, or if an Arduino can do it at all?

Thoughts?

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
All I/O signals are active low, you need to ground the signal not pull up.

You could also just put the JAMMA board in free play mode or wire the coin button to an unused button on the CP or add a small push button somewhere. There's also a product called easycoinup I think that is a flat button that looks like a quarter that you can put almost anywhere on the cab.

grandmascrack

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
Ah, ok, I think I might be using the wrong terminology.

So on the Arduino board, I have the wire connected to pin 16 on the JAMMA adapter in pin 6. In the code, pin 6 is set to Output and High, initially. The Arduino board is hooked up to an RFID antenna and, when a certain card is read, pin 6 is set to Low to interrupt the signal for a token to be credit.

Apologies, hope the above makes a little more sense in response to your comment?

Thanks for the help!

::edit::