Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Denjin Makai II (Guardians) Sync issues

  1. #1
    Fug:DDDDD
    Pasky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    2,968

    Denjin Makai II (Guardians) Sync issues

    I got a Korean Denjin Makai II board and it plays fine on my Sony PVM L5 but my blast city cabinet nor my capture card get a signal. The blast city has a scrambled image but you hear the game sound playing, the capture card doesn't detect a signal at all.

    I told the seller and he sent a replacement without even asking for the old one back, got the replacement and it does the exact same thing. Anyone else with the Korean PCB have sync issues? I know it has an odd refresh rate (58.34hz) but from everyone else I've spoken to it worked fine in their cab.

    Just looking for some feedback, thanks.

  2. #2
    WWJCVDD?
    Zak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    earth (uk)

    Posts
    364
    Quote Originally Posted by Pasky View Post
    I got a Korean Denjin Makai II board and it plays fine on my Sony PVM L5 but my blast city cabinet nor my capture card get a signal. The blast city has a scrambled image but you hear the game sound playing, the capture card doesn't detect a signal at all.

    I told the seller and he sent a replacement without even asking for the old one back, got the replacement and it does the exact same thing. Anyone else with the Korean PCB have sync issues? I know it has an odd refresh rate (58.34hz) but from everyone else I've spoken to it worked fine in their cab.

    Just looking for some feedback, thanks.
    Are both your monitors tri-sync?
    Yo.

  3. #3
    Fug:DDDDD
    Pasky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    2,968
    Quote Originally Posted by Zak View Post
    Are both your monitors tri-sync?
    Only have 1 cabinet, and yes it's a tri-sync.

  4. #4
    WWJCVDD?
    Zak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    earth (uk)

    Posts
    364
    Quote Originally Posted by Pasky View Post
    Only have 1 cabinet, and yes it's a tri-sync.
    You could try linking a wire between 2 pins to see if it sorts it, Pin 1 and Pin 14 (video ground) on the jamma harness.

    I had this problem with all system18 games on my tri-sync.

    FYI:

    http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=33944

    Hope that helps.
    Yo.

  5. #5
    Fug:DDDDD
    Pasky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    2,968
    THanks but that doesn't appear to be the issue, checked continuity with pin 14 and pin 1 and they are connected so 14 is being grounded.

  6. #6
    Pao Pao cafe VIP
    Caprica Orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Netherlands

    Posts
    286
    Quote Originally Posted by Pasky View Post
    THanks but that doesn't appear to be the issue, checked continuity with pin 14 and pin 1 and they are connected so 14 is being grounded.
    Did you ever find a fix for this? I was looking into getting a Guardians PCB for my Blast City and stumbled across this topic...

  7. #7
    I wish my name
    IRL... Was Rich.
    SCOOPIN' USA!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Isle of the Vewlix, in the Castle of Scoops

    Posts
    1,368
    Quote Originally Posted by Caprica Orange View Post
    Did you ever find a fix for this? I was looking into getting a Guardians PCB for my Blast City and stumbled across this topic...
    Last I checked with him he didn't. Some boards just don't like certain monitors.

  8. #8
    Pao Pao cafe VIP
    Caprica Orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Netherlands

    Posts
    286
    Quote Originally Posted by radiantsvgun View Post
    Last I checked with him he didn't. Some boards just don't like certain monitors.
    Damn, thanks though!

  9. #9
    WWJCVDD?
    Zak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    earth (uk)

    Posts
    364
    There are 3 versions of this PCB. The Japanese PCB, World and a cheaper Asian variant missing some mask roms.

    You can see the difference here:

    https://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewto...rdians#p495573

    The version which is missing the mask roms won't sync on a tri-sync cab. All other versions will work just fine.
    Yo.

  10. #10
    Fug:DDDDD
    Pasky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    2,968
    According to that, I have two legitimate World versions, they're not missing mask roms. So that thread is wrong. It's not just the 'bootleg' version giving issues. It's definitely a h-hold or v-hold issue with the sync.

  11. #11
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    segasonicfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    CA

    Posts
    510
    You say scrambled image in the first post, which is not really the same thing as a vertical or horizontal hold issue. It would be best if you could upload a video or at least some pictures of the problem you're having.

    Also, for anybody with arcade pcbs I say the JROK sync cleaner is an absolute must. It helps a lot with issues like this, and if that doesn't work you can fix it using an extron
    MY WEBSITE:

  12. #12
    Fug:DDDDD
    Pasky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    2,968
    Quote Originally Posted by segasonicfan View Post
    You say scrambled image in the first post, which is not really the same thing as a vertical or horizontal hold issue. It would be best if you could upload a video or at least some pictures of the problem you're having.

    Also, for anybody with arcade pcbs I say the JROK sync cleaner is an absolute must. It helps a lot with issues like this, and if that doesn't work you can fix it using an extron
    I already explained the problem with the sync in the other thread. The game is drawing in the Vblank area causing some displays to freak out, the ms2931 being one of them. Some rgb monitors will work but will show wonky colors and distortions because of the Vblank area being messed with. Shifting the image out of the Vblank using an extron fixes it.

  13. #13
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    segasonicfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    CA

    Posts
    510
    OK. I didnt see another thread. Anyway, pics and video is always super helpful with monitor issues. Especially since someone else chimed in wanting to know...it helps create a useful database for everyone to troubleshoot.
    MY WEBSITE:

  14. #14
    WWJCVDD?
    Zak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    earth (uk)

    Posts
    364
    I tried a Japanese PCB with a MS2933 tri sync. It looks fine on that. Almost identical to an MS2931.
    Yo.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •