Framing questions

ResO

water damaged
20 Year Member
I'm fairly new to buying oil paintings that aren't already on canvas or framed. Well, I recently purchased a fairly expensive oil on paper painting. I know I want some museum quality UV glass, but I've never been a huge fan of matting. What are my realistic options here? The painting was 4 figures, so I don't really want to skimp out.

School me, art guys!

Spacers? Rag cotton? Frame color/material, contrast or blend with the colors? Jeez, I'm overwhelmed.

@M

Vanessa's Drinking Buddy,
20 Year Member
If you already put that much money down on it, you might want to just spring to have a professional frame it for you too. If you do a search of local art shops/dealers you'll probably find someone that can help you out.

I had to mat several of my illustrations when I took art classes in college, which isn't too hard to do. When it comes to framing, I just buy one that fits (tip: you can find some cheap, yet awesome, ones at thrift stores) and shove my photo/art inside of it--as long I don't bend or damage the paper/cardstock in the process, I consider the process to be a success. I'd say that you'd generally want the frame to contrast with the art, and you should also consider where you're going to hang it and try to pick an appropriate hue/design that will go with the corresponding wall/room.

Chempop

BESTEST Buttrider in chat.Officially No.10 at Schm
What size it the painting? Mats are important for a few reasons, they help preserve art (a print, or paper in this case), help it bowing/rippling over time, and they make the art stand out a bit more, which might not be the desired effect you want.

Just about any framer will tell you to use a mat, but I do fully understand why it wouldn't look right in some cases, just look at some of the Reon Argondian fantasy pieces, I can't picture them matted.
Spoiler:
dscf2623_1.jpg

http://reon.cz/index.php?lang=en&page=portfolio