Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Fuse keeps blowing

  1. #1
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,901

    Fuse keeps blowing

    So i got a new power supply on ebay & was working...I tried the adjust the voltage & then i blew the fuse. I ended up ordering 250v 4A fuse which i think is the same as the previous fuse but keeps blowing too.

    Not sure if i have the correct fuse or not. If i do what can be causing the issue? This is for an Astro City PSU.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,901
    Does Slow/Fast Blow fuse make a difference? This is probably dumb but how do i go about looking for a short. Never had an issue with any of my cabs before.

  4. #4
    Armored Scrum Object
    titchgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Posts
    250
    Disconnect everything from the PSU then try it again.
    If it blows the fuse again its a fault with the PSU.

    If not then its something further down the line.

  5. #5
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,901
    The PSU fuse is the one that is blowing...

  6. #6
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,846
    copper penny or small copper pipe...
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  7. #7
    Armored Scrum Object
    titchgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by HDRchampion View Post
    The PSU fuse is the one that is blowing...
    Yeah but something (like a short) further down the line can cause fuses to blow up the line.

  8. #8
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,655
    Quote Originally Posted by HDRchampion View Post
    The PSU fuse is the one that is blowing...
    Correct but like mentioned, disconnect everything and power on then one by one attach things back to the PSU and see if/when the fuse blows. And stick with fast blow. Slow blow is for other things.

  9. #9
    Chang's Combo Meal #4
    MKL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pordenone, Italy

    Posts
    3,651
    check the bridge rectifier.

  10. #10
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,901
    Disconnect everything? As in everything that has quick disconnects?

  11. #11
    Armored Scrum Object
    titchgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Posts
    250
    As in everything thats on the output side of the PSU.

    Once all the outputs are disconnected power it up and see if its ok or not.
    If it blows again the PSU is duff.

    If not reconnect the outputs one at a time and test to see if it blows.

    This will narrow it down to one circuit.
    Remember to connect any shared grounds first.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •