Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Sync Stripper issues (PVM 2950Q)

  1. #1
    Dodgeball Yakuza
    bartre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska

    Posts
    781

    Sync Stripper issues (PVM 2950Q)

    so I'm wanting to add a sync stripper to my Scart -> BNC cable following this guide:
    http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/composite-...ripper-lm1881/

    I've put it together, grounded to pin 4 on the scart socket, pulling power from pin 8, and pulling video from pin 20 on the socket and passing it out through the sync BNC connection.

    problem is, it's no good.
    after a little chat help, I thought it might be power, so I added a wall PSU that's providing 8.4v under load (and my genesis Model 1 by the look of it)

    but still, no luck.
    any clues?
    Last edited by bartre; 05-17-2016 at 04:34 PM.

  2. #2
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,849
    Just to make sure, you've used the RGB on that monitor before, correct?

  3. #3
    Dodgeball Yakuza
    bartre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska

    Posts
    781
    I have not, but it was purchased from a member here, so I don't think it's the problem.
    as is, I get a rolling picture, so I know it's a sync issue, right?

  4. #4
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,869
    Quote Originally Posted by bartre View Post
    I have not, but it was purchased from a member here, so I don't think it's the problem.
    as is, I get a rolling picture, so I know it's a sync issue, right?
    You broke the monitor putting it in the car, I seen't it!

  5. #5
    Bao's Babysitter
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,827
    Just curious but what TV is it, and are you using H&V sync BNCs or just one?
    Also what consoles work without the stripper, or if none, which ones are you trying to get to work?

  6. #6
    Vanguard Pilot
    skate323k137's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth, Dimension C137

    Posts
    3,208
    Dumb question but if it's a PVM have you set the ext sync option/switch?

    Knowing your monitor and setup could help us help you. Also when in doubt check or replace the caps/resistor in the lm1881 circuit... they only cost pennies to rule out.

  7. #7
    Dodgeball Yakuza
    bartre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska

    Posts
    781
    okay, some more information (at least the information I know)
    Monitor - PVM 2950Q
    Consoles tested - RGB twin Famicom, RGB PC Engine, Model 1 Genesis (none Worked)

    skate - what do you mean by ext sync option/switch?

    ballz -my adapter only has one output for sync, so I'm not sure how to answer.

    oh, and I know the monitor itself is good (at least to a degree) I hooked up my 64 and PS2 via S-video and they looked great.

  8. #8
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,849
    Like mentioned, if it's rolling it means there's a lack of sync/incorrect sync rate. If it's a PVM/BVM like skate said, you need to push the int/ext sync button.

  9. #9
    Vanguard Pilot
    skate323k137's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth, Dimension C137

    Posts
    3,208
    ext sync is an option on PVMs to tell it to actually use the sync from the sync BNC input. Otherwise it can look for sync on green or other methods.

    Depending on the model it's either in a menu or a physical switch. According to the manual for the 2950Q it auto-selects this, which is different from any sony monitors I've owned.

    tl;dr your monitor should already automatically find the sync source, so carry on.

  10. #10
    Chang's Combo Meal #4
    Opethian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    AL

    Posts
    3,677
    ask arcade game or themot they got your model working with the same problems at first.

  11. #11
    Dodgeball Yakuza
    bartre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska

    Posts
    781
    okay, so Does it matter which ext sync i plug into?
    there's HD/Comp and VD, which according to the manual represent H sync/Composite Sync or Vertical Sync.

    which also makes me think, do I need a stripper?
    and does it need power of exactly 5v or 12v, or is it okay if it's simply in that range?

  12. #12
    Master Brewer, Genzai Sake Co.
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    5,889
    Hmm, some more ideas/suggestions... Within 5v-12v range is fine. 4.9v or 12.1 won't work. I've never owned a 2950 but IIRC ballz had/has one so he might be able to help more. Try the SCART to BNC cable without a sync stripper and with a SCART wired to c-sync. Also, check the menu options/buttons thoroughly on the monitor. Connect sync to H input, not V. Try with the sync stripper on a different monitor. If you get a picture, it's working, so must be an issue with the 2950. Need to do some process of elimination here.
    Neo Geo AES #011035 #036442 | Neo Geo CD #0002814 #0015959 | MVS Executive | Razion 1cc Club President | NG.com Top Trader
    ATTN NOOBS: Jamma Nation X makes the best CMVS & Superguns, PERIOD! | Unofficial MVS and AES Price Guide
    Quote Originally Posted by SNKSOUL View Post
    I ask a complete account removal extraction

    I ask the deletion authorized by Neo Geo Admin Judge Dredd.

    Thanks a lot.

  13. #13
    Kyo's Flame
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA http://www.twitch.tv/danadamkof

    Posts
    8,244
    Pretty sure 2950Q doesn't need to be told to use Ext Sync, it's automatic. I've never had to mess with that on mine.

    CSync gets plugged into the HSync jack as wyo said.
    Follow me on Twitch: twitch.tv/danadamkof | Unofficial Neo-Geo Forums Discord: discord.gg/tzDDAgJ

  14. #14
    Raiden's Valet
    PunkicCyborg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Tampa, Florida

    Posts
    575
    I had a bad LM1881. Test the output with a probe to make sure it's passing data

  15. #15
    Bao's Babysitter
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,827
    I have a 2950 and it's picky as heck, and seems to prefer composite video sync. First off just to rule out something, have you tried putting the sync BNC on each of the sync inputs or are you only ever using one?
    The monitor has either a component or RGB setting for this input so make sure you don't have it on component on accident, hit RGB on the remote.

    Some of the consoles I've had to add some resistors to the sync line for their Scart cables (Saturn and my MVS come to mind) but some systems just worked fine without like model 1 genesis, snes, PCE, N64. All of the cables I used were wired for composite video sync.

    Honestly the best thing I ever did with this monitor was get a Sync Strike unit from VBA when he sold it. I don't know what wizardry the thing does over a traditional LM1881, but it handles everything I've thrown at it, and I never had to fiddle with a sync stripper circuit again.

  16. #16
    Maxima's Barber
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,357
    Are you using a female scart to bnc cable or a male connector plugged into a scart box?

  17. #17
    Dodgeball Yakuza
    bartre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska

    Posts
    781
    okay, progress update-
    I rebuilt the circuit, removed the power adapter, and double checked all the connections in the adapter.
    I got everything checked out, and viola!
    works great now.

    I will say, when I play famicom games, i get a bit of an audio buzz that isn't present (at least i can't notice it) when I'm playing Genesis, any clues?

  18. #18
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    Apocalypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    New-Zealand

    Posts
    337
    Quote Originally Posted by bartre View Post
    and viola!
    It's "voila". Sorry to be anal but I see this error too often.
    "viola" means (he) rapped.
    Current SNK projects:
    - Samurai Spirits (Shodown) RPG English version for the NGCD:
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...nch-to-English)
    - AES to MVS converter (plays AES games on MVS):
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...-games-on-MVS)


  19. #19
    Mr. Big's Thug

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Downey C.A.

    Posts
    212
    I have a few of those PVM 2950's and they do in fact require a sync stripper added to the composite sync on the your Scart to BNC cable in order to have full compatibility without any issues.



  20. #20
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,849
    Quote Originally Posted by bartre View Post
    I will say, when I play famicom games, i get a bit of an audio buzz that isn't present (at least i can't notice it) when I'm playing Genesis, any clues?
    From what I was told, buzzing is normal from an NES/Fami. Something about the audio via the CPU or something.

  21. #21
    Yamazaki's Pupil
    joe8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    2,727
    Is there any way to set a 2950Q to external sync mode?
    Last edited by joe8; 11-23-2019 at 06:14 AM.
    Shock Troopers high score- 17,364,600

  22. #22
    Kyo's Flame
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA http://www.twitch.tv/danadamkof

    Posts
    8,244
    Quote Originally Posted by joe8 View Post
    Is there any way to set a 2950Q to external sync mode?
    Itís automatic on the 2950Q.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Follow me on Twitch: twitch.tv/danadamkof | Unofficial Neo-Geo Forums Discord: discord.gg/tzDDAgJ

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •