Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: PC-Engine Help.

  1. #1
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,525

    PC-Engine Help.

    Alright so I have a PC Engine with a 9V D/C power adapter, hooked up to RF and set to channel setting II. i've tried all of the channels between 60 and 99 but get nothing. Is there a way to test the PCE to see if it's getting power as there isn't indicator light?
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  2. #2
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    Well, you can open it up and use a multimeter at the fuses, that's the easiest way.

    Are you using it on an analog TV? I doubt it would work on a newer tv with a digital tuner. I never tried a PCE but on my famicom I had to flip between the two channels on the Fami and fiddle with the 90's before I found one setting that actually displayed a terrible picture. That thing got AV modded with the quickness.

  3. #3
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    Nothing external, unless you have a ten no koe bank to put on the back of it. You could check the internal fuse and the 7805 regulator to see if you're getting 5v on the output.
    My favourite pigeon had a fatal run-in with a cloud...

  4. #4
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,525
    Thanks for the tips. I am using a newer TV so hopefully that's the problem. Going to have to break out the old multi meter..
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  5. #5
    Mickey's Coach
    bartre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska

    Posts
    732

  6. #6
    King's Bartender
    Jibbajaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Am Heimcomputer sitz' ich hier... programmier' die Zukunft mir...

    Posts
    5,003
    Quote Originally Posted by bartre View Post
    The guy who runs that site is a total fag.


    Quote Originally Posted by mjmjr25 View Post
    No more posts. Jibs wins internet for May 31.

  7. #7
    Bunker Buster
    goombakid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Orygun

    Posts
    1,457
    Quote Originally Posted by Jibbajaba View Post
    The guy who runs that site is a total fag.
    ^^Seconded. I mean, have you seen his videos?

    It should be channel 95 or 96 via RF. If you have an extra AV cable laying around, connect the composite video and ground on the exp port and see if you get video that way.
    ...console emulation has no soul...

  8. #8
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,525
    Quote Originally Posted by goombakid View Post
    ^^Seconded. I mean, have you seen his videos?

    It should be channel 95 or 96 via RF. If you have an extra AV cable laying around, connect the composite video and ground on the exp port and see if you get video that way.
    I may have to try that. I've now tested the RF through an analog TV and tried to route it through the VCR. No go.
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  9. #9
    Bunker Buster
    goombakid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Orygun

    Posts
    1,457
    http://www.gamesx.com/misctech/pcebp.php

    Mutlimeter at A21 (GND) and C21 or A2 (Vout) should give you 5V or so. Test it this way to see if you're getting power to the thing at least without cracking the case open.
    ...console emulation has no soul...

  10. #10
    Raiden's Valet
    chinitosoccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uruguay South America

    Posts
    586
    Western NTSC Tvs seem to be incompatible with japanese RF, I have read somewhere that some tvs sets have the option for switching to NTSC-J RF mode by accesing the service menu.

  11. #11
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,525
    Going to Craig's tonight to test the pins for voltage and maybe make an A/V cable..
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  12. #12
    Stupid Bitch.
    Craig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    2,980
    Didn't work so well... couldn't find any voltage on the out...

    But found 15.9 on the in...

    And his power supply was putting out 16vdc ... it's a 9
    volt power supply.

    Fuck if I know...

  13. #13
    Zantetsu's Blade Sharpener
    ebinsugewa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    MA crew

    Posts
    2,437
    Quote Originally Posted by chinitosoccer View Post
    Western NTSC Tvs seem to be incompatible with japanese RF, I have read somewhere that some tvs sets have the option for switching to NTSC-J RF mode by accesing the service menu.
    i've never had an issue on any tv/vcr that i've owned. you might have to change your tuning type from antenna to cable to get 95/96 to work. i've used both a famicom and a pc engine this way.

  14. #14
    Bunker Buster
    goombakid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Orygun

    Posts
    1,457
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig View Post
    Didn't work so well... couldn't find any voltage on the out...

    But found 15.9 on the in...

    And his power supply was putting out 16vdc ... it's a 9
    volt power supply.

    Fuck if I know...
    Time to crack that sucker open.
    ...console emulation has no soul...

  15. #15
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,525
    Quote Originally Posted by goombakid View Post
    Time to crack that sucker open.
    Do you think I should try to get a different power supply?
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  16. #16
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    nam9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Norway

    Posts
    116
    Check your polarity? PCE takes centre negative I believe...

  17. #17
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    Quote Originally Posted by GutsDozer View Post
    Do you think I should try to get a different power supply?
    If that PSU is putting out 16 volts it's gonna fry the voltage regulator if it doesn't pop the fuse first. Thankfully the thing uses a common fuse and common regulator so they can easily be sourced and replaced. You can use a Genesis 1, Super Famicom (not SNES) or 10v Neo power supply on it if you have any of them handy.

  18. #18
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    The voltage regulator is able to take up to around 25V input but I doubt the PCE has adequate heat dissipation systems to cope with the additional heat the extra voltage will create if used for long periods. Not sure what the fuse is rated at. GohanX has suggested the best PSUs to use; try and get one of those to use the system for long periods.
    My favourite pigeon had a fatal run-in with a cloud...

  19. #19
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    There is very little cooling inside a PCE, just a heat sink basically, that runs alongside all the audio/video caps. Probably not a good thing to have running too hot!

    The fuse is 2 or 3 amps, I forget exactly. It's a standard cylinder fuse that you have to solder.

  20. #20
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,525
    Awesome thanks for the info. I'm going to try and score a genesis 1 PSU and see If i get anything.
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  21. #21
    Zantetsu's Blade Sharpener
    ebinsugewa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    MA crew

    Posts
    2,437
    Model 1 PSU is basically the most useful one you'll own for retro stuff. Handy if you switch systems a lot.

  22. #22
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    mikejmoffitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    San Jose, CA

    Posts
    569
    My PCE is center negative, and I use a Genesis 1 10V supply. I recommend swapping out the 7805 for a drop-in switching power supply replacement. You can entirely get rid of the heatsink and it won't run hot at all.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •