Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Need region free bios for JVC X'EYE

  1. #1
    All About Shooters Thread Mod. If you fuck with me, I'll step on you.
    Kiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Minnesota

    Posts
    7,734

    Need region free bios for JVC X'EYE

    Need one of these and it seems the file doesn't exist anymore. Help me.

    Burned on a chip would be best but I can probably make a file work.
    instagram: @fullextentofthejam

  2. #2
    Vice's Love Slave
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,171
    If you already have a toggle switch in place for the cartridge regions, I would get an eprom large enough to fit the both USA and JP bios and tie the high address line to the toggle switch. I did this to my x'eye ages ago and it worked.

  3. #3
    All About Shooters Thread Mod. If you fuck with me, I'll step on you.
    Kiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Minnesota

    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by shadowkn55 View Post
    If you already have a toggle switch in place for the cartridge regions, I would get an eprom large enough to fit the both USA and JP bios and tie the high address line to the toggle switch. I did this to my x'eye ages ago and it worked.
    Not yet but I will have a switch for the carts, inquiring minds would like to know more...
    instagram: @fullextentofthejam

  4. #4
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    Apocalypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    New-Zealand

    Posts
    337
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiel View Post
    Need one of these and it seems the file doesn't exist anymore. Help me.

    Burned on a chip would be best but I can probably make a file work.
    http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=...84081765987734
    Current SNK projects:
    - Samurai Spirits (Shodown) RPG English version for the NGCD:
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...nch-to-English)
    - AES to MVS converter (plays AES games on MVS):
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...-games-on-MVS)


  5. #5
    All About Shooters Thread Mod. If you fuck with me, I'll step on you.
    Kiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Minnesota

    Posts
    7,734
    awesome, thank you
    instagram: @fullextentofthejam

  6. #6
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Canada

    Posts
    234
    A few months ago I acquired an X'Eye with corrupt bios. I ended burning an EPROM with the region free and installing it. Too bad SOP EPROM's with that pinout don't exist. JVC made these ROMs custom made!

    Here's what I had to do:


  7. #7
    All About Shooters Thread Mod. If you fuck with me, I'll step on you.
    Kiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Minnesota

    Posts
    7,734
    Ugh, this is what I have to look forward to huh?

    Also did you make a thread about this on assembler?
    instagram: @fullextentofthejam

  8. #8
    Ukyo's Doctor
    wyndcrosser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Midwest

    Posts
    1,242
    I've done something similar, when there's too many wires I did a custom PCB that I could screw into the board and I didn't have to worry about desoldering SM chips. Also, you can do the neobiosmasta way too.
    Looking for UK copies of Dive Alert Becky's Version, Puzzle Link 1 and 2, Gals Fighters, and Pocket Reversi.
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=41108&dateline=145772  3980

  9. #9
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Canada

    Posts
    234
    Why leave a dead bios chip behind. A hot air reflow station can remove the old chip in a few seconds.

  10. #10
    All About Shooters Thread Mod. If you fuck with me, I'll step on you.
    Kiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Minnesota

    Posts
    7,734
    SOmebody get me an easy solution
    instagram: @fullextentofthejam

  11. #11
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    Apocalypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    New-Zealand

    Posts
    337
    Quote Originally Posted by leonk View Post
    A few months ago I acquired an X'Eye with corrupt bios. I ended burning an EPROM with the region free and installing it. Too bad SOP EPROM's with that pinout don't exist. JVC made these ROMs custom made!
    Can you provide the pinout here?
    I would be most useful for others.
    Current SNK projects:
    - Samurai Spirits (Shodown) RPG English version for the NGCD:
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...nch-to-English)
    - AES to MVS converter (plays AES games on MVS):
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...-games-on-MVS)


  12. #12
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Canada

    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by Apocalypse View Post
    Can you provide the pinout here?
    I would be most useful for others.
    It's been a while.. but I do believe it's pin for pin the same. For some crazy reason, JVC created a BIOS ROM chip (SOP) using the standard DIP pinout! There doesn't exist a SOP EPROM one can burn and solder in place of the SOP ROM! It uses the standard 27C1024 pinout. It's the exact same BIOS chip that one can find in the standard Sega CD devices .. but Sega used DIP in their CD units.

    I think this is very similar to what Neo Geo did with their late model MVS 1-slots. They moved from DIP to SOP and if you want to install a unibios, you need to do something very similar to my picture above.

  13. #13
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Canada

    Posts
    234
    Some other advise (based on spending a lot of time trying to bring this X'Eye to life), one can use a standard Sega CD 2 service manual to fix an X'Eye.. they're very similar (I never found a PDF of the X'Eye). The BIOS is a very cleaver thing. The console detects that no cart is inserted, so it boots the BIOS chip. You can technically burn a game onto the 27C1024, and if no cart is inserted, the game will start.

    I believed I used the service manual to trace every one of the 40 pins back to the Sega main processor that sits next to the BIOS and figured out it's standard 27C1024 pinout.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •