Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unibios for Neo Geo CD?

  1. #1
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    joe8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    2,689

    Unibios for Neo Geo CD?

    Are all of the Neo CD console variants region-free?
    Is there any bios mod for them? Could the Unibios be updated to work with them?
    Does anyone have photos of the internals of a Neo CD?

  2. #2

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    8,457
    Quote Originally Posted by joe8 View Post
    Are all of the Neo CD console variants region-free?
    Yes. Also, if you want to choose between English and Japanese modes, it's easy to install a language switch.

    Quote Originally Posted by joe8 View Post
    Is there any bios mod for them? Could the Unibios be updated to work with them?
    No. It's been asked many times, and although it's probably possible, the short answer is it's not really worth all the effort.

    Quote Originally Posted by joe8 View Post
    Does anyone have photos of the internals of a Neo CD?
    I'm sure you can find some. There are directions for the language switch mod all over.

  3. #3
    Amano's Drinking Buddy
    joe8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    2,689
    Are the CD versions all uncensored? Are the games censored according to which bios you have?

  4. #4
    "Hey, are we done here?...
    Cause I'm losing my buzz!"
    Jag-Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    1,012
    They are censored depending on what system they are loaded on. i.e. a Japanese system will load in Japanese, uncensored. A U.S. system will load in English and will be censored. Most games have an option to change the language option, which in most cases will unlock blood, (uncensored mode). Some of the newer titles on cd will not however show blood, as in Samurai Shodown 3-4. Install a switch if you'd like, it's a lot less of a pain in the ass if you want uncensored content on the cd.

  5. #5
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    tomlee80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Binfield, Berkshire U.K

    Posts
    114
    Sorry to bump this thread almost six years after it was started but I believe the Neo Geo CD Uni Bios has been released here:

    http://unibios.free.fr/cdsystem.html

  6. #6
    . Bigbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Singapore

    Posts
    2
    how can i install the unibios on my Neogeo CD console?

  7. #7
    Hollywood Hulk Gohan GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hollywood, CA

    Posts
    10,765
    On a front loader you just replace the BIOS chip with the Unibios eprom. On a top loader you'd use a CD NeoBiosMasta (I don't know if Turfy still has any or not) and on a CDZ you'd pretty much need to send it to a highly skilled modder, it's pretty hard to do without making a mess of the inside of the system.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •