Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: AES Repair

  1. #1
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22

    Question AES Repair

    Good morning,

    Is there somewhere trusted I can send my AES for repair/mod?

    I would like to run my Japanese system on my flat panel. As it is it won’t run on my DLP nor my 4Ks. Even the old CRT I had for my retro gaming setup is only displaying garbled video.

  2. #2
    Bashful Neophyte
    Carless Walker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tallahassee Florida

    Posts
    15
    Have you cleaned the pins on the cartridges you're testing with? Does it do it on all Carts? What about when you turn it on with no cart inserted, solid blue screen?

  3. #3
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    All carts. Cleaned. Even the empty blue screen is garbled up. I’ll try a different av cable but I hold little hope.

  4. #4
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    No one has had their AES repaired?

    Google search is a joke for results.

    Is it possible to do an HDMI somewhere?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Scottish And Proud.
    We All Have Our
    Burdens To Bear.
    JockMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Auld Reekie

    Posts
    2,394
    neotropolis / kenny has done HDMI mods on AES consoles - try him.

    He’s not a popular name round these parts though...

  6. #6
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by JockMan View Post
    neotropolis / kenny has done HDMI mods on AES consoles - try him.

    He’s not a popular name round these parts though...
    Why’s that?

  7. #7
    We have purposely
    trained him wrong
    ...as a joke.
    ChuChu Flamingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US

    Posts
    1,940
    Hit Xian Xi up aka jamma nation x, he should be able to fix it.

    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/member.php?12537-Xian-Xi
    Last edited by ChuChu Flamingo; 07-02-2018 at 10:33 PM.


    he spends hundreds on scarves, of course he's a fag and then ChuChu Flamingo preserved the aftermath in a plastic case making sure it wasn't exposed to unstable air
    You're just upset that you're too goddam stupid to understand the games and whiff infinites.
    Nintendo 64 Pikachu Edition Serial #NS294668665 Nintendo 64 "Funtastic Series" Jungle Green Serial #NS28721865

  8. #8
    Scottish And Proud.
    We All Have Our
    Burdens To Bear.
    JockMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Auld Reekie

    Posts
    2,394
    Quote Originally Posted by PrepVet View Post
    Why’s that?
    He’s a flipper of stuff bought here and sold for over the odds on ebay.

  9. #9
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by ChuChu Flamingo View Post
    Hit Xian Xi up aka jamma nation x, he should be able to fix it.

    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/member.php?12537-Xian-Xi
    I don’t have permission to access that page.

    Do I need to have a higher post count?

  10. #10
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Also as I was thinking about it... could I have a power brick and/or AV cable that is causing the issues? When I bought the AWS direct from Japan I have a power brick and av cable I bought off of eBay and Amazon. Would originals possibly fix it?

  11. #11
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,616
    It's possible, and it's also possible you have the wrong power cable, as there are two different ones that work with home systems.

  12. #12
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    It's possible, and it's also possible you have the wrong power cable, as there are two different ones that work with home systems.
    Any suggestions as to where to get them? Just check eBay?

  13. #13
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,616
    If you have a 10 volt system a Genesis 1 power supply will work. If you have a 5v system that's a little harder, but if you search around you can probably find a compatible 5v 3A supply that will work. If you plugged a 10v PSU into a 5V system then you probably fried something and need to send the system in for repair. If you plug a 5V PSU into a 10V system it's not going to hurt it but it's not going to work either.

  14. #14
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    The system says 8v and the power pack says 5v...

  15. #15
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    The official SNK psu I bought is the Pro- UL NEO-0 at 5v

    I also have two others that fit. I think one may have come with it when I bought it from Japan but I’m not sure.

    1: Hasbro BI13-060220-AdU @ 6v 350mA
    2. Switching Adpter SWJ-0900500-US @ 9v 500mA

  16. #16
    Crazed MVS Addict
    CZroe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Newnan, GA, USA

    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by PrepVet View Post
    The system says 8v and the power pack says 5v...
    We call systems that take a regulated 5v center-negative PSU “5v consoles” and we call systems that that take a range of voltages and originally included 10v or 11v center-negative PSUs “9v consoles.” Almost universally, everyone says not to trust the label. If you have a 9v console running with a 5v PSU then even the blue screen with no game inserted will look garbled, much like this:
    https://youtu.be/pn4lyZHsSTE&t=0m50s
    (jump to 50 seconds if the link doesn’t do that for you)

    It’s possible to fry a 5v console with a 8v+ PSU, so open it up and verify first. 5v consoles typically have a daughterboard or an early board revision.

    TL;DR: if yours looks like the one in the video at 0:50 then there’s a chance that it works fine and you just need a higher voltage PSU. MAKE SURE you aren’t going to fry a 5v system before you try that.
    -El Duderino (not into the whole "brevity" thing)

  17. #17
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    That YouTube link comes up not found.

  18. #18
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Without that video I’m not sure but I did a search and didn’t really find much that was similar.

    I’ll open the console up next week, I’m hoping it is just the wrong psu but I don’t want to fry it.

    If it is not a simple fix where would you guys suggest I send it for repair?

    Also is there an hdmi mod? Or how would I best go about getting the best possible picture on a flat panel hdtv? I have a spare upscaler for component to hdmi.

  19. #19
    Crazed MVS Addict
    CZroe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Newnan, GA, USA

    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by PrepVet View Post
    Without that video I’m not sure but I did a search and didn’t really find much that was similar.

    I’ll open the console up next week, I’m hoping it is just the wrong psu but I don’t want to fry it.

    If it is not a simple fix where would you guys suggest I send it for repair?

    Also is there an hdmi mod? Or how would I best go about getting the best possible picture on a flat panel hdtv? I have a spare upscaler for component to hdmi.
    Try it without the &t=0m50s and skip to 50seconds:
    https://youtu.be/pn4lyZHsSTE

    I guess that method for linking specific times doesn’t work with a shortened YouTube URL.
    -El Duderino (not into the whole "brevity" thing)

  20. #20
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22




    I assume then this requires the larger psu?

  21. #21
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    12
    Should be 5v/3A negative tip PSU, and I think if you look again it says 8w not 8v. I can't quite remember but believe the inclusion of the inductor next to the reset button means it should have 9-10v protection. What does it say on the bottom of the console to use?

  22. #22
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Suplex View Post
    Should be 5v/3A negative tip PSU, and I think if you look again it says 8w not 8v. I can't quite remember but believe the inclusion of the inductor next to the reset button means it should have 9-10v protection. What does it say on the bottom of the console to use?
    Yes 8w.

    Are you referring to the ac on the back of the console?


  23. #23
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Florida

    Posts
    11
    You have a 9V system. This part is a switching supply taking the unregulated input dropping it to 5V

    Untitled12V.jpg
    Last edited by xwred5; 07-09-2018 at 05:53 PM.

  24. #24
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by xwred5 View Post
    You have a 9V system. This part is a switching supply taking the unregulated input dropping it to 5V

    Untitled12V.jpg
    You’re a god among men. Thank you.

  25. #25
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin

    Posts
    22
    Which SNK psu would I get then? Does it matter?

    Thanks again!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •