Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: sega new astro city cabinet monitor dims when played rough

  1. #1
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    knoxville tn

    Posts
    15

    sega new astro city cabinet monitor dims when played rough

    I was playing my new astro city cabinet pretty hard on some mark of wolves and the picture started to flicker and then went so dark, I could barely see the picture. I hit the control panel a little to recreate what happen and the picture flickers back to bright in parts but will not go back to the way it was. I messed with the brightness nob and can get the picture to where I can see to play but it is very dull. I have no idea what happen. If anyone can help please let me know?

  2. #2
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A Hard Earned Thirst

    Posts
    11,751
    Checking all connections to the monitor is a good first step. If physical manipulation of the cabinet affects the picture then I would assume loose connection somewhere.


    !!

  3. #3
    Neo*Geomancer
    DecepticonZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Boston

    Posts
    4,549
    If you give the side of the cabinet a whack, does the picture fix itself? If so it's probably time for a cap kit on the chassis.

  4. #4
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by DecepticonZero View Post
    If you give the side of the cabinet a whack, does the picture fix itself? If so it's probably time for a cap kit on the chassis.
    This. Also, check for cold solder joints on the neck board. These things get hot and cold as time goes on so it's possible that its actually let go a little.
    Quote Originally Posted by DecepticonZero View Post
    I don't know why you're white knighting this guy, couldn't you buy the North Pole and have the elves build you anything you want?

  5. #5
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    knoxville tn

    Posts
    15
    Yea I think it's a loose connection some where but I have no idea where

  6. #6
    Mitt Romney's Hairdresser
    Lemony Vengeance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Happy Valley

    Posts
    5,070
    If it dims when you play rough, maybe you need a safe word
    It's impossible to be a nice guy on the internet.

  7. #7
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Portland, OR

    Posts
    3
    I had an issue like this with the K7000 in my MVS. It was a bad solder joint somewhere and I had the monitor chassis screwed down too tight. It ended up breaking that connection. Once I unscrewed the chassis a few turns my picture came back to normal and stable. I'll probably have to reflow the whole thing some day.

  8. #8
    Kyo's Flame
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA http://www.twitch.tv/danadamkof

    Posts
    8,191
    Random suggestion, check the remote board. I've seen on a few cabs that if things are plugged in loosely, or sometimes if the pots are dirty, they cause weird sporadic stuff like this. Could be way off but it should be simple to check.

  9. #9
    Juzoh's Gym Trainer
    ebinsugewa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    MA crew

    Posts
    2,469
    If it were a pot issue I'd expect the brightness to be 'jumpy', do you see that OP?

  10. #10
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    knoxville tn

    Posts
    15
    so I replaced the little control board, but the problem has progressed. It will start then the picture will darken warm up then about an hour sometimes less sometimes more the picture will come back from the dim state. If i smack the side of the cab or the control panel the picture brightens sometimes for a couple second or minute or just stays on. What do i need to do to fix my issue any help would be awesome.

  11. #11
    They call him "Mr. Windy". wataru330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    jiyugaoka

    Posts
    6,911
    Reread post #7.

    You have a cold or broken solder joint(s) on your chassis.

    Reflow it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Peart View Post
    Innocence gave me confidence, to go up against reality...

    Analog_Delivery_System=*when you absolutely, positively,
    must rock every person in the room*


    "I don't think your kids should see us playing Joust in this parking lot..."
    -300wins

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •