Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Jamma dreamcast box

  1. #1
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,041

    Jamma dreamcast box

    So I tried this project several years ago and failed hard. I only got the controls working. I want to attempt this again and hopefully get it working.

    I want to make a jamma dreamcast box that takes the extra 3 buttons and use them with a cps2/3 kick harness.

    Now that jammaboards.com is closed, where can I get a easy to use fingerboard? Also, the connector for the kick harness, where can I get that? I have read a few guides and it states that even if I hack up a dreamcast scart cable, I still need an audio amp. Will this one work?
    http://www.hollandcomputers.com/stor...nnel-p6247.htm
    Quote Originally Posted by kernow View Post
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  2. #2
    King's Bartender
    Lemony Vengeance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    A dried up lake bed

    Posts
    5,043
    Quote Originally Posted by radiantsvgun View Post
    So I tried this project several years ago and failed hard. I only got the controls working. I want to attempt this again and hopefully get it working.

    I want to make a jamma dreamcast box that takes the extra 3 buttons and use them with a cps2/3 kick harness.

    Now that jammaboards.com is closed, where can I get a easy to use fingerboard? Also, the connector for the kick harness, where can I get that? I have read a few guides and it states that even if I hack up a dreamcast scart cable, I still need an audio amp. Will this one work?
    http://www.hollandcomputers.com/stor...nnel-p6247.htm
    That amp should do you just fine. I've noticed video issues if you use one powered by 5v so this is just fine.

    As for the edge situation, I'm in the same boat. I've got something in the works, but in the meantime, using a JAMMA fingerboard and a socket will have to do.

    And don't hack up a SCART cable. Get a SCART socket from eBay and mount it on the side of whatever box you're using.
    It's impossible to be a nice guy on the internet.

  3. #3
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,041
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemony Vengeance View Post
    That amp should do you just fine. I've noticed video issues if you use one powered by 5v so this is just fine.

    As for the edge situation, I'm in the same boat. I've got something in the works, but in the meantime, using a JAMMA fingerboard and a socket will have to do.

    And don't hack up a SCART cable. Get a SCART socket from eBay and mount it on the side of whatever box you're using.
    Hold up- so I don't have to hack up a scart cable? I can just plug it into the socket and wire from the socket to the fingerboard? If so, that's awesome.
    Quote Originally Posted by kernow View Post
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  4. #4
    Shigen's Fitness Trainer
    AJtheMishima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston, Tx

    Posts
    1,625
    man, ive wanted one of these for awhile. Want something i can use to hook up my ps2/ps3/dc to my big red.
    good luck, seems like alot of work.
    ***CLICK HERE FOR FIGHTCADE TUTORIAL***

    PSN: MountainDewFKR
    FIGHTCADE: MountaindewFKR

    GAMER > COLLECTOR

  5. #5
    King's Bartender
    Lemony Vengeance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    A dried up lake bed

    Posts
    5,043
    Quote Originally Posted by radiantsvgun View Post
    Hold up- so I don't have to hack up a scart cable? I can just plug it into the socket and wire from the socket to the fingerboard? If so, that's awesome.
    You're going to need an RGB amp of some type or else your video will be Dim
    It's impossible to be a nice guy on the internet.

  6. #6
    King's Bartender
    Lemony Vengeance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    A dried up lake bed

    Posts
    5,043
    Quote Originally Posted by AJtheMishima View Post
    man, ive wanted one of these for awhile. Want something i can use to hook up my ps2/ps3/dc to my big red.
    good luck, seems like alot of work.
    I still make these on the regular, but since radiantsvgun wants to make his own, I'm happy with giving advice
    It's impossible to be a nice guy on the internet.

  7. #7
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,041
    Quote Originally Posted by AJtheMishima View Post
    man, ive wanted one of these for awhile. Want something i can use to hook up my ps2/ps3/dc to my big red.
    good luck, seems like alot of work.
    Thanks man- PS2 jamma box is actually something that would work perfectly. The timer boards have an awful jamma setup with buttons wired all over the place. I've got a modded ps2 and lots of verts so it would be ideal really.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemony Vengeance View Post
    I still make these on the regular, but since radiantsvgun wants to make his own, I'm happy with giving advice
    I didn't know anyone still made these on a regular basis. I'd still like to get all the parts and give it a try, but if I can't get it going- would you be able to finish it for me? (I'd pay you of course.)
    Quote Originally Posted by kernow View Post
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  8. #8
    King's Bartender
    Lemony Vengeance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    A dried up lake bed

    Posts
    5,043
    Only if you get stuck. I'm seriously cool with helping you out so if you do get stuck, we'll work something out
    It's impossible to be a nice guy on the internet.

  9. #9
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,041
    https://iankellogg.com/index.php?mai...roducts_id=117

    Anyone ever order off this site? Also, what gauge wire should I use? Since I've moved, the only stuff I have left for these projects is a solder iron, solder and a multimeter.
    Quote Originally Posted by kernow View Post
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  10. #10
    King's Bartender
    Lemony Vengeance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    A dried up lake bed

    Posts
    5,043
    nope, but that particular part would be best used to convert one game to work in a jamma cabinet.

    I typically use 22 AWG wire in the things I make. Voltage could stand to be 20-18 AWG, but since the length isn't very long you should be ok.
    It's impossible to be a nice guy on the internet.

  11. #11
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,041
    Which controllers are best to hack up? I had problems with the 1st party one. I've heard the astropad or the madcatz are easier.
    Quote Originally Posted by kernow View Post
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  12. #12
    Shigen's Fitness Trainer
    AJtheMishima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston, Tx

    Posts
    1,625
    i know madcatz are pretty easy to hack up, only problem is they all arent common ground. its a gamble
    ***CLICK HERE FOR FIGHTCADE TUTORIAL***

    PSN: MountainDewFKR
    FIGHTCADE: MountaindewFKR

    GAMER > COLLECTOR

  13. #13
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,041
    Worked on this some today. I've decided to use the 15k VGA box hack, and that didn't go so well. I've got it to output 15k, but I couldn't get the switch installed. Didn't realize that my iron's tip needed to be replaced until I started. I'll have a new iron and most of the parts on monday, so hopefully I can get more work done monday night.

    Edit- I am going to try to get video working first. Now that the vga box outputs 15k, I was planning on using a vga breakout cable and using the rgb and sync from that to the fingerboard. Also, using the vga box method, how do I wire in the sound to the amp? I see where it has speaker + and -.
    Last edited by radiantsvgun; 04-02-2016 at 10:14 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by kernow View Post
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  14. #14
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Stockholm

    Posts
    444
    This is what I use when I connect my Dreamcast to my Atomiswave cabinet:
    [tIMG]http://i.imgur.com/RfA4zYQ.jpg[/tIMG]
    Threeway switch, comp/s-video 15KHz RGB 32KHz RGB.
    I'm lucky though since I don't need to go through the fingerboard and that the monitor can handle different voltage levels on the input automatically.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Fio's Quartermaster
    Hellfromabove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northridge, CA

    Posts
    644
    Good luck on the project. Eager to see what comes of it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •