New to the NGPC system: tips? price check? resources?

ifkz

n00b
Last night I was very surprised to find two loose Neo Geo Pocket Color games at my local Half Priced books. I bought Metal Slug 1st Mission and KOF R2. Now I need to track down a system! Does anyone have pricing guidance for 2016? They seem to start at $75 at auction which seems a tad high.

I am brand new to the handheld, are there any tips? I know it is region free, but that's it. Links? Resources? Memories of how great it was in the early 00's?

(...I apologize if this is a bad section for the post...)

ggallegos1

Cholecystectomy Required.,
10 Year Member
Last night I was very surprised to find two loose Neo Geo Pocket Color games at my local Half Priced books. I bought Metal Slug 1st Mission and KOF R2. Now I need to track down a system! Does anyone have pricing guidance for 2016? They seem to start at $75 at auction which seems a tad high.

I am brand new to the handheld, are there any tips? I know it is region free, but that's it. Links? Resources? Memories of how great it was in the early 00's?

(...I apologize if this is a bad section for the post...)

That's very high, they can usually be had from around $40. There's also a NGPC thread somewhere in the handheld section that gets occasional updates.

Colorado Rockie

Terry Bogard's Taylor
It's an amazing little handheld and congrats on those 2 games.

I haven't bought a system in a while but I would say $65 w/ some loose games would be a fair deal. Make sure you get a color version and not a black and white one.

Some recommendations:
Baseball Stars
SvC: Match of the Millenium
Faselei
Neo Cup '98
Pocket Tennis Color

If you are ok with loose games then you can get a good amount of games for pretty cheap.

Vectorman0

SouthTown StreetSweeper
20 Year Member
This is the right section for NGPC discussion.