Tips for playing Art of Fighting 2?

johhnnyD14

Hardened Shock Trooper
I'm new to AOF2, and man. This game is BRUTAL. Even though I have some skill at playing fighting games, I can't get anywhere in this game.

Can I get some tips to help me play a little better?

GohanX

Horrible Goose
20 Year Member
image.jpg

Ip Man

BBLLOOOO__HHAARRDDDDDD!!!!,
15 Year Member
brutal? more like broken. i think the furthest i ever managed to get in art of fighting 2 was the third opponent. art of fighting 3 is the only game in the franchise that i find playable.

oliverclaude

General Morden's Aide
brutal? more like broken.

Granted, there's another perspective tho, for it's a pattern based game: find out its weak point and exploit it. It's broken all right, but with a method behind it, like Hopkins' character in Silence of the Lambs or any Fred Quimby cartoon for that matter.

LoneSage

A Broken Man
20 Year Member
Granted, there's another perspective tho, for it's a pattern based game: find out its weak point and exploit i it.

This. Opponents follow a strict pattern. Memorize it like you would shooters of the era.

joe8

margarine sandwich
15 Year Member
I'm new to AOF2, and man. This game is BRUTAL. Even though I have some skill at playing fighting games, I can't get anywhere in this game.

Tip- play as Takuma (Mr. Karate), and use the flaming jump kick on opponents, when they get up after you have knocked them down (then again, when they are blocking). It doesn't matter if you have run out of spirit gauge, you will still jump forward a little, and chip off a little of their energy. It's super-cheap, but so are the computer opponents.

Last edited: