Results 1 to 25 of 91

Thread: CPS2 - Important information to anyone using the hardware.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,160

    icon16.gif CPS2 - Important information to anyone using the hardware.

    The problem
    A CPS2 system which is not supplied enough voltage can work but at a slightly reduced speed. This can affect suicide free boards and also boards that have darksofts multikit attached. It also affects normal non suicide CPS2 games. Results so far indicate the multikits are prone to this situation, this may even out however as more tests are received.

    Symptoms
    The result of under power is games not playing as designed on a fully operating CPS2 system. The symptoms will be different from game to game and some games may show no symptoms at all. QSound problems can also happen (pops and crackles) due to potential fluctuating timings.

    How to check your CPS2 setup
    I have updated the free suicide tester tool to check for this situation for anyone who wants or feels the need to test their CPS2 suicide free or multicart system. The expected result is always a number or either 0x1EAE 0x0x1EAF. Numbers below this show the CPS2 system is not running as it should for the frame tested. Instructions are in the readme on how to use.

    http://www.www.cps2shock.com/download/suicidetesterv2.zip

    http://www.www.cps2shock.com/download/suicidetesterv2multikit.zip

    The Fix
    If your test results show you are suffering this problem your power supply may be on its way out or set incorrectly. Upping the voltage if available may fix the problem. Devices attached to the CPS-2 'b' board may affect the voltage required, care should be taken regardless to unsure you do not damage your system when changing voltages.

    More information is always better. if your able to do these tests, please post your results.

    -------------------- original post below --------------------

    Hi, I am trying to obtain some information on CPS2 hardware over all PCB revisions. If you own one and are able can you please run the test code and report back. I'm supplying it ready to be programmed onto a 03 EPROM for use on a phoenix board or as a file that can be injected into the SD card of a SSF2 set on the multi kit.

    http://www.www.cps2shock.com/download/testcps2eprom.zip

    http://www.www.cps2shock.com/download/testcps2multi.zip

    To test simply power on the unit and you should see a number (may be hard to read depending on the GFX held on the system). Make a note of the first number. Pressing button one will make the number will update. Over the period of a minute keep pressing button 1 and take a note of the range the numbers fall into (max and min number). Finally also report the CPS2 'b' board revision tested.

    So I need...

    The first number displayed, The number hi/low range over a minute and the 'b' board revision number.

    Thanks in advance, Raz
    Last edited by Razoola; 11-03-2015 at 04:46 AM.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  2. #2
    CPS2 Person.
    mainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Torrance, California, USA

    Posts
    3,478
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    Hi, I am trying to obtain some information on CPS2 hardware over all PCB revisions. If you own one and are able can you please run the test code and report back. I'm supplying it ready to be programmed onto a 03 EPROM for use on a phoenix board or as a file that can be injected into the SD card of a SSF2 set on the multi kit.

    http://www.universebios.com/testcps2eprom.zip

    http://www.universebios.com/testcps2multi.zip

    To test simply power on the unit and you should see a number (may be hard to read depending on the GFX held on the system). Make a note of the first number. Pressing button one will make the number will update. Over the period of a minute keep pressing button 1 and take a note of the range the numbers fall into (max and min number). Finally also report the CPS2 'b' board revision tested.

    So I need...

    The first number displayed, The number hi/low range over a minute and the 'b' board revision number.

    Thanks in advance, Raz
    You wanted the software tested on multiple revision cps 2 boards. I could have done that but you didn't specify that what you wanted initially.


    Throne of Games


    Quote Originally Posted by darksoft View Post
    Don't hide it, you are angry beacuse if a multiboot is made, you will not be the only one that can Play Progear

  3. #3
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,160
    Yes, I did not think I would need that info initially but now it looks like I will because there is a variance I want to try and track down.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  4. #4
    Armored Scrum Object
    kahel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Montreal, QC

    Posts
    257
    Just Ran the test.

    Revision 6 board (93646B-6)

    Start: 00001E9A
    Low (not including start): 00001EAB
    High: 00001EAE

  5. #5
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,160
    Quote Originally Posted by kahel View Post
    Just Ran the test.

    Revision 6 board (93646B-6)

    Start: 00001E9A
    Low (not including start): 00001EAB
    High: 00001EAE
    Many thanks, can I have a little more information from you.

    Did the high and low numbers give random results in that range during the minute of did they slowly rise from 00001EAB to 00001EAE to fall from 00001EAE to 00001EAB? Also as the minute test went on did the numbers become stable?

    Were the numbers easy to read, Are you 100% sure the number was 00001EAB and not 00001EAF?

    Finally, If you were using a EPROM what speed was it rated at? Or were you using a multikit?
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  6. #6
    Armored Scrum Object
    kahel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Montreal, QC

    Posts
    257
    It went like this:

    1E9A 1EAC 1EAB 1EAC 1EAD 1EAC 1EAD 1EAE 1EAD 1EAE and then it alternated only between AD and AE for the rest of the test.

    The number were clear and i am pretty sure it was AB but i only saw it once at the start.

    This was done with the multi-kit.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •