The bicycling thread.

cdamm

Trust the French?
10 Year Member
I used to cycle when i was in college. Backed away from it for a while. Then I hastily bought a craigslist bike (an old trek 800 that was slightly too small) a couple years back. I rode it for a little while then went back to the gym.

Recently I have been stuck in a fitness plateau where my cardio cant match where the rest of me is and I end up gassed before i get any real work in. I started riding again on the old trek and now I have been bitten by the bug again.

The trek needs to go- I need something that fits me better. I cant afford a crazy expensive bike (nor is my skill level there yet) so after a lot of research I'm planning on picking up a highly upgradable (but very entry level) bike with a great starter frame. I'll do some upgrades early on and have it riding like a much higher class of bike soon enough.

Anyways- Im hitting a local beginner trail that is about a 5 mile loop and im doing that every day combining with some mild hiking hill climbs a couple times a week in addition to my gym work and it really seems to have reinvigorated my workout regimen.

Who else is riding?

team_andromeda

Armored Scrum Object
I used to cycle when i was in college. Backed away from it for a while. Then I hastily bought a craigslist bike (an old trek 800 that was slightly too small) a couple years back. I rode it for a little while then went back to the gym.

Recently I have been stuck in a fitness plateau where my cardio cant match where the rest of me is and I end up gassed before i get any real work in. I started riding again on the old trek and now I have been bitten by the bug again.