Anyone collect board games? Just babbling about them.

beigemore

Camel Slug
10 Year Member
A few drinks into the night and am feeling board gamey...

I've been playing board games off and on for maybe the past 8 years or so. I don't have an insane wall of games like some people do. I kind of prefer to just keep games I actually like and want. I really feel that I need to downsize a little right now, trim some fat, and get some fresh games in.

I'm planning on, at some point hopefully this year, getting rid of Carcassonne, Mice & Mystics, Munchkin Quest, Tomb, Dixit, Descent 1st Edition, Small World, and *maybe* even Twilight Imperium. I may even get rid of Doom and the expansion since it kind of goes for a lot now, and Descent 2nd edition is just a modified version of Doom for the most part (minus theme, of course) anyway.

I just ordered Star Wars: Imperial Assault which looks fantastic. It's a modified rule set of Descent 2nd edition and is seemingly more thematic.

In Descent 2e, one of the problems with the game is that all heroes get to go back to back, then the overlord (the person playing the bad guy) plays all of his minions, then it goes back to the entire group of heroes. Star Wars is basically back and forth every single unit, which makes for much more interesting choices, plus the game/dice includes the ability for defensive die to nullify an attacker's surge, which are kind of like special extra attacks or abilities that can be performed if the attack rolls the right dice combinations. Tom Vasel did a really good overview/review of it here in case this game sounds even remotely interesting to you guys, I recommend checking it out.