Caps Changed - Crazy No Sound Problem

Cavia

n00b
Hi guys,

here is my crazy story. I'm building a supergun with a MV-1FZ. Initially, the MV-1FZ had working audio with some problems:
- it was very low,
- it was impossible to turn the MV-1FZ volume up, because sound spikes would immediately shut down the sound completely (up to the next cold boot).

Reading on the forum, I decided to change Caps.
I bought the following:
9x 4.7µF100V 105C
4x 470µF25V 105C
4x 100µF63v 105C
(I hope, I didn't make a mistake here since I'm no expert in circuits).

I carefully, replaced all the caps by making good soldering on TOP and BOTTOM of the board for each capacitor. I also double checked the connections after the capacitors were installed.
(I can post detailed pictures of the board if required)

I cleaned the working sections with anti-flux. Everything looked shiny to me.

When I connected the MVS to the supergun, I did the following tests (in temporal order).
1) MVS sound test. Worked.
2) Started a game. No Sound.
3) MVS sound test. Worked.
4) Cleaned the cartridge and started the game. No sound.
5) MVS sound test. NOT Working anymore.

And now, I have completely no sound at all.

Guys, what the hell is going on? This stuff is making me crazy. Please help me.

Thanks.

Edit:
1) I changed all the caps with high quality Rubycons. The problem persists. I'm building a stereo mod to test the audio processor.
2) Built an MKL circuit. I don't get any sound from Ch1, Ch2 or Ch3 points on the board (see the StereoFix docs for more details), could be the audio chip :(

Last edited:

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
It isn't the caps. It's either the Ym2610 or a trace from the cart slot.

Cavia

n00b
Thanks for the prompt reply Xian.

But why, before changing the caps, I could play with a very low volume (on the board) without losing the sound at all?
Also, is there a way for me to double check and confirm your idea?

Thanks!

Rot

Calvin & Hobbes, ,