Page 44 of 45 FirstFirst ... 34404142434445 LastLast
Results 1,076 to 1,100 of 1113

Thread: Pandora Box 3 Multi-Game 520-1 PCB

  1. #1076
    There can be only one. Syn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Crap they're tearing down the Palace of Auburn Hills. I guess it's I-75 & M-59 now.

    Posts
    5,528
    Quote Originally Posted by ShootTheCore View Post
    Funny, the opposite happened for me - the Pandora 4S pushed me over to getting a CPS2 Multi. I picked up a Pandora because I'd heard good things, but I'm sensitive to VSync and the screen tearing on all the games was a total deal breaker. Now the Pandora is off to a different loving home, and I'm going the original hardware route where I can for now.
    I'm using 3 sometimes 4. Might get a 4s for stereo.

    I just wasn't using the cps2 multi and I'm trying to move stuff on if that's the case. One less thing to dust

  2. #1077
    Armored Scrum Object

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    253
    Annndd now the Pandora's Box 4S+ is released with 815 games. Looks like they added a mostly vertical screen titles, plus you can now get your dose of Pit Fighter and the first Mortal Kombat.

    I don't know if the hardware is the same as the 4/4S, but if it is I'd assume MK won't be running that well.

  3. #1078
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    Also, the original Pandora's Box 3 520-in-1 is now as low as 25. Was there a way to add/replace games in that version?

  4. #1079
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    Alright, while doing research I've discovered that Retroarch has been ported to the Pandora's Box.

    https://github.com/sebastian404/aus_...eases/tag/0.1a

    http://www.jammaplus.co.uk/forum/for...hacking#753457

    This is awesome news, I've been looking forward getting a raspberry pi and a Rpi2Jamma, but you can't really beat a 30€ box which comes loaded with Retroarch. If they manage to hack in resolution switching so that it switches resolution upon starting a game we may very well have the best low cost solution for an arcade cabinet.

  5. #1080
    Over Top Auto Mechanic
    aoiddr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Georgia, USA

    Posts
    1,011
    Quote Originally Posted by donluca View Post
    Alright, while doing research I've discovered that Retroarch has been ported to the Pandora's Box.

    https://github.com/sebastian404/aus_...eases/tag/0.1a

    http://www.jammaplus.co.uk/forum/for...hacking#753457

    This is awesome news, I've been looking forward getting a raspberry pi and a Rpi2Jamma, but you can't really beat a 30€ box which comes loaded with Retroarch. If they manage to hack in resolution switching so that it switches resolution upon starting a game we may very well have the best low cost solution for an arcade cabinet.
    Is it still only a very specific version of the board (the L-shaped one?) that allows images to be loaded or do even the square HDMI-enabled ones allow it also?
    Last edited by aoiddr; 07-25-2017 at 04:58 PM.

  6. #1081
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    The thing that I want to check out is how well Numan Athletics runs on the hardware since last I remember that it wasn't 100% emulated.

    I got notified two weeks ago about this new version. I can get them pretty cheap but I'm not sure how many units are on hand.

  7. #1082
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by aoiddr View Post
    Is it still only a very specific version of the board (the L-shaped one?) that allows images to be loaded or do even the square HDMI-enabled ones allow it also?
    On github the guy says that it will work in any Pandora version which has the AUS logo, it has been tested on two boards, one L shaped and the other square.

  8. #1083
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Demitri1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Georgia

    Posts
    82
    The birthday is coming up and i have been tossing around the idea of getting one one of the HDMI/VGA models (4S+). I think i have a grasp on what most of the problems on these are but i am curious about a few items i cant seem to find. Would anyone who has on be so kind as to clarifying:

    1. Does the VGA output support 640 X 480 60Hz?

    2. Does the Quality Optimization turn off the filter completely? A picture of it off vs on would be awesome if possible as i cant find it anywhere.

    3. Anyone try to use an SL generator on these?

    Any information would be helpful. Thank you.

  9. #1084
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,573
    Quote Originally Posted by donluca View Post
    Alright, while doing research I've discovered that Retroarch has been ported to the Pandora's Box.

    https://github.com/sebastian404/aus_...eases/tag/0.1a

    http://www.jammaplus.co.uk/forum/for...hacking#753457

    This is awesome news, I've been looking forward getting a raspberry pi and a Rpi2Jamma, but you can't really beat a 30€ box which comes loaded with Retroarch. If they manage to hack in resolution switching so that it switches resolution upon starting a game we may very well have the best low cost solution for an arcade cabinet.
    Is there a step by step on how to put retroarch into pandora?

    *edit*
    My pc cant read the memory card, is there a program for this?
    Last edited by HDRchampion; 07-31-2017 at 04:20 PM.

  10. #1085
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    You need something to read EXT2/3 filesystem, but I'm not sure you really need it.

    AFAIK, you download the image, slam it on an SD and slap it into your Pandora. The SD has a FAT32 partition where you put the games, so you don't need any special software to write into it.

  11. #1086
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,573
    I tried & all i get is a black screen...Tried putting back the original files & now im just getting a complete black screen nothing. Is it FUBAR?

  12. #1087
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    Make sure you have properly written the image on the SD, I have a friend over at an arcade italian forum who's been using it for days and is really happy about it. I'm waiting for my Pandora to arrive as well.

    Remember this only works on AUS Pandoras (there's an "AUS" logo on them)

  13. #1088
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,573
    Quote Originally Posted by donluca View Post
    Make sure you have properly written the image on the SD, I have a friend over at an arcade italian forum who's been using it for days and is really happy about it. I'm waiting for my Pandora to arrive as well.

    Remember this only works on AUS Pandoras (there's an "AUS" logo on them)
    What are the steps to properly write to sd card? You can't just copy and paste?

  14. #1089
    Armored Scrum Object

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    253
    Quote Originally Posted by HDRchampion View Post
    I tried & all i get is a black screen...Tried putting back the original files & now im just getting a complete black screen nothing. Is it FUBAR?
    If you have an authentic PB and you deleted the original files with no backup, you've got a paperweight.

    I know nothing about the Retroarch image, but on the original SD no game files are on the FAT32 partition.

  15. #1090
    Zero's Tailor
    ShootTheCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Logan UT USA

    Posts
    700
    Quote Originally Posted by HDRchampion View Post
    What are the steps to properly write to sd card? You can't just copy and paste?
    Nope, because of filesystems and what not. Use an SD image writing program like SD Imager to write the IMG file to the card.

  16. #1091
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,573
    Quote Originally Posted by ShootTheCore View Post
    Nope, because of filesystems and what not. Use an SD image writing program like SD Imager to write the IMG file to the card.
    Thanks i got retroarch to boot up but how do you play games on it? How do you add roms to the files? Will i still be able to play Pandora Box games & King of Air?

  17. #1092
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    If you put the SD in your computer a readable/writeable partition should pop up and you can put in games. I don't remember the exact folder, but if you look at the author's website it should be noted there somewhere.

  18. #1093
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    West's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    New York

    Posts
    249
    Anyone have any of the the latest Pandora's Box(s)? Particularly the 4s+, 4sx, and the 5? I was having a look at what's on Highscoregames.com and figured I'd see if anyone had any experience with the latest editions.

    https://www.highscoresaves.com/multi...sion-kits.html

    Thanks to anyone with a thought on it. Might just go with a RaspPi solution but I approached that road once and there was an overabundance of configuring and fuckery that went along with it. The PB's for all their inaccuracies and faults do just kinda work.
    Last edited by West; 09-02-2017 at 12:11 PM.

  19. #1094
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    Just to let everyone know, I've recently bought a Pandora's Box 3 for 28€ (~30$) and modded it to use Retroarch on it and it's the almost definitive solution for a super cheap multi game arcade board for your cabinet. I even went a bit further and modified the retroarch image to improve some small bits here and there.

    The only thing missing is automatic resolution switching for when you change the game, so you don't have black bars added. Other than that it's an almost pixel perfect solution.

  20. #1095
    Formerly Giltygear
    xROTx
    FilthyRear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Parking in handicap spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces
    Posts
    6,640
    Quote Originally Posted by donluca View Post
    Just to let everyone know, I've recently bought a Pandora's Box 3 for 28€ (~30$) and modded it to use Retroarch on it and it's the almost definitive solution for a super cheap multi game arcade board for your cabinet. I even went a bit further and modified the retroarch image to improve some small bits here and there.

    The only thing missing is automatic resolution switching for when you change the game, so you don't have black bars added. Other than that it's an almost pixel perfect solution.
    can we see some pictures of some of the games, UI, etc.? What "changes" did you make?

    I have a PB4 (the first one, the one that looks like a PS4), and I want to see if it would be worth the headache.

    It's one thing to say that "you did it", then tell everyone that they should do it, and its another to show us the end result so we know what we're working for.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvie View Post
    Xorthen was on my case for a few days via PM (and then some) offering to pay me $20 just to talk on the phone with me for an hour, but he chickened out or something and then decided to be an asshole in public towards me

  21. #1096
    Likes Football.
    Lives in teh USA.
    Go Figure.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    1,434
    Good points. Share the info if it helps, before it gets lost.
    Take a bite out of crime.

  22. #1097
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    236
    Here's the page of the Retroarch on Pandora's box project:

    https://github.com/sebastian404/aus_japb_retroarch

    it has most of the info you need, including the compatible versions of pandoras.

    Here's the thread were developments are discussed: http://www.jammaplus.co.uk/forum/for...hacking#753457

    It's a general pandora thread, so the information about retroarch is mixed with many other posts about pandora's box.

    Here's my custom image: http://www.mediafire.com/file/a3d5wj...troarch.img.7z

    Just write it to an 8GB SD (the one which came with the Pandora should be fine, be sure to back it up first), and put the roms in the empty disk that pop ups.

    Right now there are some people having issues with the rom partitions because it seems there are no tools on Windows which are able to write properly the image to the SD. No issues on Mac and Linux.
    I've just tried Etcher on Windows ( http://etcher.io ) and that seemed to work fine for me, but further tests are needed.

    Quoting myself from another thread about the changes I've made:

    Several small tweaks has been done: a slight overclock, 1P Start + 1P Button 1 to return to retroarch menu (instead of the physical button on the Pandora's Box), 382x240 resolution (so 320x240 games are displayed correctly, as well as CPS1/2 which are 384x224 - black borders are added where needed, you'll have to adjust your monitor geometry), smaller message font (so they are entirely readable) and, of course, the FAT32 partition where you can directly dump the ROMs in. (otherwise you'd need a Linux machine to read the EXT3 partition and put roms in)
    I think I've made some other very small changes but right now I can't remember, maybe something on the audio resampler to have a lesser impact on the CPU although I don't remember if I reverted it back in the end or not.

    Tomorrow I'll post some pics for you guys.

    EDIT: Just to make it clear

    Quote Originally Posted by FilthyRear View Post
    It's one thing to say that "you did it", then tell everyone that they should do it,
    I'm not telling someone to go and do it, I've just stated my opinion on the matter, based on my own experience, so YMMV as with anything else.
    Someone might like it, somebody else might prefer the tearing and issues of the original Pandora.
    The UI is really barebones (it's RGUI for those familiar with Retroarch) but it's ok for me as I just care for the games.
    Last edited by donluca; 09-02-2017 at 06:53 PM.

  23. #1098
    Formerly Giltygear
    xROTx
    FilthyRear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Parking in handicap spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces
    Posts
    6,640
    Quote Originally Posted by donluca View Post
    Here's the page of the Retroarch on Pandora's box project:

    https://github.com/sebastian404/aus_japb_retroarch

    it has most of the info you need, including the compatible versions of pandoras.

    Here's the thread were developments are discussed: http://www.jammaplus.co.uk/forum/for...hacking#753457

    It's a general pandora thread, so the information about retroarch is mixed with many other posts about pandora's box.

    Here's my custom image: http://www.mediafire.com/file/a3d5wj...troarch.img.7z

    Just write it to an 8GB SD (the one which came with the Pandora should be fine, be sure to back it up first), and put the roms in the empty disk that pop ups.

    Right now there are some people having issues with the rom partitions because it seems there are no tools on Windows which are able to write properly the image to the SD. No issues on Mac and Linux.
    I've just tried Etcher on Windows ( http://etcher.io ) and that seemed to work fine for me, but further tests are needed.

    Quoting myself from another thread about the changes I've made:



    I think I've made some other very small changes but right now I can't remember, maybe something on the audio resampler to have a lesser impact on the CPU although I don't remember if I reverted it back in the end or not.

    Tomorrow I'll post some pics for you guys.

    EDIT: Just to make it clear



    I'm not telling someone to go and do it, I've just stated my opinion on the matter, based on my own experience, so YMMV as with anything else.
    Someone might like it, somebody else might prefer the tearing and issues of the original Pandora.
    The UI is really barebones (it's RGUI for those familiar with Retroarch) but it's ok for me as I just care for the games.
    Good enough for me. Thank you.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvie View Post
    Xorthen was on my case for a few days via PM (and then some) offering to pay me $20 just to talk on the phone with me for an hour, but he chickened out or something and then decided to be an asshole in public towards me

  24. #1099
    Kula's Candy
    jhonny d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    291
    new pandora 5s featuring a whopping 986 games https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWQRqdDfLUw

  25. #1100
    Likes Football.
    Lives in teh USA.
    Go Figure.
    JoeAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    1,434
    Quote Originally Posted by jhonny d View Post
    new pandora 5s featuring a whopping 986 games https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWQRqdDfLUw
    But is it "official", or some hack of the 4s?
    Take a bite out of crime.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •