Page 41 of 45 FirstFirst ... 31373839404142434445 LastLast
Results 1,001 to 1,025 of 1113

Thread: Pandora Box 3 Multi-Game 520-1 PCB

  1. #1001
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,574
    I got the King of Air & Bee Storm seem unplayable. Choppy sound & extreme slowdown through out...Anyone else had issues like this?

  2. #1002
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    IIRC My Pandora 3 didn't do PGM games so well.

  3. #1003
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,574
    Yeah Pandora couldn't play Marital Masters right at all or any PGM games but i was watching the video of the King of Air 51 in 1 in this thread & showed Bee Storm running perfectly w/ great sound.

  4. #1004
    Formerly Giltygear
    xROTx
    FilthyRear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Parking in handicap spaces, while handicapped people make handicapped faces
    Posts
    6,640
    Got mine in from RAZO yesterday.

    The CPS games look and play great. I won't say it just as good as the real thing because I've never owned a CPS game to compare it to. I was happy as shit playing The Punisher on my cab. I didn't have a kick harness yet, but SFA3 plays like it should.

    I didn't touch any of the Neo games - I have a CMVS for that.

    I'll confess that I really got this for the classic games that are on there. The filter softens the look of the wonky resolution.

    The screen filter isn't as bad as I thought it would be - Raz was right when he said it was like playing on a SNES with shitty AV output. It cuts down on a lot of the screen tearing that was on the PB3, but it gives everything a very slight blurry look. You can still make out details on ships in shooters, but its not 100% sharp. The best way I cant describe this is playing MAME on an OG XBox on a CRT before the emulators got really good. I tried to take a picture to illustrate it, but I can't get a good one on my potato phone.

    My only gripe so far is with Mario Bros. - it's windowed like a vertical game, but it's originally horizontal. It plays fine, but it doesn't look right.

    This will definitely work until I get a MAME PC in there. The CPS games alone are worth the price of this thing.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylvie View Post
    Xorthen was on my case for a few days via PM (and then some) offering to pay me $20 just to talk on the phone with me for an hour, but he chickened out or something and then decided to be an asshole in public towards me

  5. #1005
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,413
    Glad your happy bro.

  6. #1006
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003
    trenton_net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Posts
    60
    I didn't read over all 40+ pages of comments (I apologize in advance if already covered), but has anyone bothered to hack their Pandora setup yet?

    If you open up your Pandora encloser, you should find that all the data is being read from a micro SD card. If you plug that into your computer, you'll see two partitions: FAT32 (Boot), and EXT3 (Linux). A lot of configuration files can be edited there as well as what front-end/emulator you want to use. Many of these all-in-1 solutions in China are built on the same hardware, but use software configuration to display different front ends and games.

    For Pandora 4 setups for example, the SD card also has files for "The King of Air" and "mame player" on it as well. If you modify your config files, your Pandora 4 will boot up like you purchased one of the other devices.

    EDIT: From what I recall, Pandora 4 uses FBA for emulation. "The King of Air" might use something else, which is why some games work better under specific front ends.
    Last edited by trenton_net; 11-29-2016 at 01:55 PM.

  7. #1007
    Armored Scrum Object

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    253
    Quote Originally Posted by trenton_net View Post
    I didn't read over all 40+ pages of comments (I apologize in advance if already covered), but has anyone bothered to hack their Pandora setup yet?
    King of Air boards will run most games from vanilla PB4 SD card if you replace the signature file with your original from the KoA board.

    I noticed the newest version is called a "4S" and has HDMI out along with an additional 40 games. Being that the new games are mixed in with the old I didn't catch all of the additions beyond Shinobi, Batman, and a few NG titles like Magician Lord.

    Anyone snab one of these yet? I didn't know if the chip set changed and was wondering if the game performance or filter issues were any different.

  8. #1008
    Rugal's Secretary
    pipes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The T-Dot

    Posts
    3,053
    Interesting stuff.

    When's the PB5 coming out?
    NG: DEV SCOREBOARD <<<< CLOSED DUE TO EXCESSIVELY HIGH VOLUME OF PARTICIPATION

  9. #1009
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,574
    Turns out my King of Air is a bootleg of a bootleg. Damn, the only cool thing about it, is that you can switch from KOA to Pandora 4 on bootup or Cadillac & Dinosaur. Can you do that with the Pandora 3?

    *edit*
    Also, i cant seem to sync my Pandora Box 3, Pandora 4 or King of Air on my showcase cab. Have you guys experience this with other cabs & what did you do to fix it.
    Last edited by HDRchampion; 12-06-2016 at 01:48 PM.

  10. #1010
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,035
    Quote Originally Posted by HDRchampion View Post
    Turns out my King of Air is a bootleg of a bootleg. Damn, the only cool thing about it, is that you can switch from KOA to Pandora 4 on bootup or Cadillac & Dinosaur. Can you do that with the Pandora 3?

    *edit*
    Also, i cant seem to sync my Pandora Box 3, Pandora 4 or King of Air on my showcase cab. Have you guys experience this with other cabs & what did you do to fix it.
    What does your KoA look like? Mine doesn't look like a mini PS4. It plays bee storm and super x, but hotdog storm and gunnail are downright awful.

    Is it this one? http://www.ebay.com/itm/122049975264...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
    Quote Originally Posted by kernow View Post
    Serious, serious problems man, you have them.

  11. #1011
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    Quote Originally Posted by Azathoth View Post
    King of Air boards will run most games from vanilla PB4 SD card if you replace the signature file with your original from the KoA board.

    I noticed the newest version is called a "4S" and has HDMI out along with an additional 40 games. Being that the new games are mixed in with the old I didn't catch all of the additions beyond Shinobi, Batman, and a few NG titles like Magician Lord.

    Anyone snab one of these yet? I didn't know if the chip set changed and was wondering if the game performance or filter issues were any different.
    I just played one today, 4S that is. Different intro movie, HDMI is in 4:3 mode and not stretched. Everything played pretty smooth from what I can remember. I might pick one up when the prices go down a little.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Arrival-...EAAOSwHMJYL-wh

  12. #1012
    Armored Scrum Object

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    253
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    I just played one today, 4S that is. Different intro movie, HDMI is in 4:3 mode and not stretched. Everything played pretty smooth from what I can remember. I might pick one up when the prices go down a little.
    Thanks for the info, nice to hear that about the 4:3 stretching. Did you happen to notice if sound is carried over the HDMI cable? Mine is supposed to arrive this week and I've got my fingers crossed that Shinobi works well.

  13. #1013
    Another Striker
    Jeffpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    CT

    Posts
    326
    Does anyone have a dump of the PB4 SD card? I want to try it in my KoA.

  14. #1014
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    Quote Originally Posted by Azathoth View Post
    Thanks for the info, nice to hear that about the 4:3 stretching. Did you happen to notice if sound is carried over the HDMI cable? Mine is supposed to arrive this week and I've got my fingers crossed that Shinobi works well.
    Yes, sound is via the HDMI. I hope system 16 games run smooth. That would make it a must buy for me.

  15. #1015
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,062
    So does this new 4S unit actually handle the titles the older version didn't?



    For the tunes lovers!

  16. #1016
    Before you sell me something, ask how well my baby is doing and can I afford to take care of him while buying your stuff. HDRchampion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I NO SCARE!

    Posts
    2,574
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffpin View Post
    Does anyone have a dump of the PB4 SD card? I want to try it in my KoA.

    Cant you just hold Start & button 2 to switch from KOA to PB4?

  17. #1017
    Armored Scrum Object
    Shipwreck_00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Cosmos

    Posts
    247
    I bought mine a while back. It's ok for games that I can't find but overall not something that gets played very often.

  18. #1018
    Another Striker
    Jeffpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    CT

    Posts
    326
    Not sure if this is old news here, but I can confirm the King of Air board has all the Pandora 4 games on it. I mounted the micro SD card in Windows and opened the 'game' file in notepad. It will say 'kzbw' - change that to 'pb4' and save. Booted up and had over 500 titles in horizontal. I assume the opposite works on a PB4 board to turn it into a vertical KofA.

  19. #1019
    Neo Bubble Buster
    amplibax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffpin View Post
    Not sure if this is old news here, but I can confirm the King of Air board has all the Pandora 4 games on it. I mounted the micro SD card in Windows and opened the 'game' file in notepad. It will say 'kzbw' - change that to 'pb4' and save. Booted up and had over 500 titles in horizontal. I assume the opposite works on a PB4 board to turn it into a vertical KofA.
    This is new to me. Very interesting.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

  20. #1020
    Member ArinoSeb_GccxQc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Canada, Quebec

    Posts
    30
    For those who have the bootleg pandora box 3, there a hack available that may run on your box. Pandora box X 705 games in 1, it runs on my little elf 3, just had to write the image on a new micro sd card. It is a cool hack, the games are all in alphabetical order and now I have the attract mode playing before I start a game. You should check it out

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LuVtFFJZh4

  21. #1021
    Armored Scrum Object

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    253
    After languishing in customs for damn near 3 months my PB 4S HD model finally arrived today. I noticed there's actually an option in the operator menu to toggle the graphical filtering on and off, which is something that none of the previous models had. No idea if this applies to all 3 video out options, or what exactly it does, but I'll check it out tonight. I'll try to get as much info as possible but if someone else has already done this they're more than welcome to chime in. If anyone needs me to check on any other specific things I will be happy to.

    I'm also curious about this wireless controller tech they've added on the newer models. Having a consolized or Supergun Pandora's Box setup is concept I could never understand the appeal of, but I'd definitely like to know exactly what is going on hardware-wise.

  22. #1022
    Kuroko's Training Dummy

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago

    Posts
    78
    Quick question, do any of these boxes run Hyper Fighting at the correct speed?

  23. #1023
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    Quote Originally Posted by Azathoth View Post
    After languishing in customs for damn near 3 months my PB 4S HD model finally arrived today. I noticed there's actually an option in the operator menu to toggle the graphical filtering on and off, which is something that none of the previous models had. No idea if this applies to all 3 video out options, or what exactly it does, but I'll check it out tonight. I'll try to get as much info as possible but if someone else has already done this they're more than welcome to chime in. If anyone needs me to check on any other specific things I will be happy to.

    I'm also curious about this wireless controller tech they've added on the newer models. Having a consolized or Supergun Pandora's Box setup is concept I could never understand the appeal of, but I'd definitely like to know exactly what is going on hardware-wise.
    Saw the wireless one, would have been smarter to make it compatible with at least PS3 controllers instead of forcing people to buy that stick as well.

  24. #1024
    Armored Scrum Object

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    253
    Spent a few minutes trying this out this afternoon. I immediately noticed the audio amp doesn't have near the buzz/interference my PB4 had. I don't know if it was just my unit or something about my cab wiring but the 4 (and lesser extent 3) had a noticeable constant buzz. I could barely even hear it on this.

    As far as I can tell there's no noticeable gameplay improvement compared to a regular 4, unlike the big differences between a PB3 versus 4. If it didn't run well before it runs just the same now. Tried out Shinobi (a newly added title) and it seemed to work very good.

    I grabbed a shitty little 19 inch TV to check the VGA & HDMI outs. Like Xian Xi mentioned before the audio is passed over the HDMI cable. Unfortunately, I don't know if it was the cheap ass HDMI cable or the equally cheap ass TV, but the video was just a garbled mess. I'm going to swap them both out later to hopefully remedy it. VGA worked fine and ran at 800x600.

    The biggest point though is you can completely turn the rubbish filters off. That option only applies to VGA/HDMI video connections and won't even appear in the operator menu if you're not connected that way. Unfortunately that's the only video tweak option. Some didn't like how the PB4 scaled graphics over the JAMMA CRT video out and this one is the exact same.

    It's no vast leap but if you were on the fence about buying a 4 this version makes it totally obsolete. For the exact same price you get a hand full of extra games and a very significant video option if you run VGA or HDMI in your cab.

  25. #1025
    KING of teh SCOOPS!
    radiantsvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paulding, GA

    Posts
    1,035
    Hate to necro a thread but I've got a question for those of you who have the legit King of Air board (the one that looks like a mini ps4.) Mine is a bootleg that runs most of the games fine, but I cannot make games full screen on my Egret. Can any of you get your legit one full screen?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •