Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: SNES Stereo to mono

  1. #1
    War Room Troll
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sesame Street

    Posts
    1,548

    Question SNES Stereo to mono

    I am working on trying to get a SNES working in my arcade cab and I have a question... snes produces stereo and I need mono for the jamma edge. What is the best way to do that in terms of sound performance?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,502
    There's no amplifier in the Snes, so to get sound you'll need to build an amplifier in which case you can just merge the stereo audio to mono like that.

  3. #3
    Mitt Romney's Hairdresser
    Lemony Vengeance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Happy Valley

    Posts
    4,166
    you can't just connect both lines into one, you need to build a circuit that will merge them without overloading stuff.

    And yes, unless your cabinet has an amp, You will need to put a mono amp in there.
    It's impossible to be a nice guy on the internet.

  4. #4
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,502
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemony Vengeance View Post
    you can't just connect both lines into one, you need to build a circuit that will merge them without overloading stuff.

    And yes, unless your cabinet has an amp, You will need to put a mono amp in there.
    What about running the audio out in series instead of parallel? That would increase the ohms and lessen the load on the output.

  5. #5
    War Room Troll
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sesame Street

    Posts
    1,548
    So any ideas how the circuit should look or any ideas for a mono amp that would do the job ? I just got into this kind of stuff and quite noobish. thanks for the help.

  6. #6
    Trollbox Trade Federation
    bustedstr8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston Burbs

    Posts
    943
    Combined L/R>Trimpot>Amp>Jamma Mono

    Jamma amps are around 18W, Class AB. You might find a mono amp or just use one channel of a stereo amp.

  7. #7
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    mikew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX

    Posts
    243
    Quote Originally Posted by MuppeT View Post
    So any ideas how the circuit should look or any ideas for a mono amp that would do the job ? I just got into this kind of stuff and quite noobish. thanks for the help.
    The standard way to do this is with a summing op-amp, basically an audio mixer.

    Here's an example:

    http://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/opamp/opamp_4.html

  8. #8
    Raiden's Valet
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    578
    Or if you want to do it on the cheap, a 4.7k resistor on both the L & R channels into a single mono output...I'd prefer the op-amp suggested above though.

  9. #9
    War Room Troll
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sesame Street

    Posts
    1,548
    thanks for feedback guys. How about this ?

    stereomono.jpg

    as per site i found
    You probably won't need this often as most games are mono anyway and games which are stereo usually have a mono option (for the JAMMA standard) but if you have a multi-slot Neo Geo motherboard here's how to stop it from sounding a bit one sided:

    Parts:

    Optional - JAMMA fingerboard
    2 ohm resistor X 2
    4 ohm resistor
    "Standard" Formula for converting Stereo to Mono:

    Mono = L/2 + R/2 = (L+R)/2

    Dividing a signal's amplitude by 1/2 is simple -- just use a voltage divider formed with 2 equal resistors. The "adder" in your case can be just hooking the wires together.

    Okay... That's the textbook answer, here's what it means! Bridge the + and - speaker wires with a 4ohm resistor and use 2ohm resistors instead of wires to connect the +ve signals. This will keep it all at 4 ohms and roughly the same volume. Add capacitors to taste for 1st order crossover (not THAT necessary).
    The optional JAMMA fingerboard is to make things easier to connect, after all you don't want to have to disconnect wires inside your cab/supergun to perform the mod!!! Also, if you're making a multislot Neo Geo loom you'll also need to make the correct connections for the test button and the game select buttons as well as its NOT JAMMA like the one slots are.
    I am looking for something simple that I could do myself.


    Also don't they sell amps that get in stereo and output mono ? I went on ebay and found many small amps for around $10-15 ... but do't know which one will do the job... here are few :

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/201207717721
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/271463838799
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/250530515447
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/221665079882

    any suggestions ?
    Last edited by MuppeT; 03-31-2015 at 09:50 PM.

  10. #10
    Raiden's Valet
    mikejmoffitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    San Jose, CA

    Posts
    578
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemony Vengeance View Post
    you can't just connect both lines into one, you need to build a circuit that will merge them without overloading stuff.

    And yes, unless your cabinet has an amp, You will need to put a mono amp in there.
    No, you can definitely do this. Nintendo's manual even suggests it if you only have mono sound.

    EDIT: Doesn't the SNES generate mono to feed to the RF encoder? You may be able to simply use that.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •