Results 1 to 25 of 254

Thread: Metal Slug 2 slowdown reduction patch

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Shmups Overlord

    system11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    94

    Metal Slug 2 slowdown reduction patch

    http://blog.system11.org/?p=1442

    Now you can enjoy smoother Metal Slug 2 without overclocking. Actually with OC it might even run as fast as X, but my motherboard is just a standard one.

    Enjoy.


  2. #2
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,697
    This
    Is
    Rad

    More proof that 2 > X

  3. #3
    Raiden's Valet
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    582
    Cool. Interesting to know that SNK built Metal Slug X from the ground up. I was always of the opinion that X > 2, but after playing 2 quite a lot it does feel a little better (and with this, hopefully better still). Can't wait to try this.

  4. #4
    Shmups Overlord

    system11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    94
    Yeah it's not night and day, but it feels better to play, sadly that's as far as it can really go without disabling graphical features or rewriting lots of code. Trap15 had a look into this for me after I .. encouraged him to spend some time on it for me, but there were no other obvious big wins to be had. I guess that's why SNK wrote a new engine in the first place.
    Last edited by system11; 03-29-2015 at 04:36 PM.

  5. #5
    Choi's Barber
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,218
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Panda View Post
    This
    Is
    Rad

    More proof that 2 > X
    You mean this wasn't enough?


  6. #6
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    The Hague

    Posts
    60
    That looks like a pretty significant improvement! Fantastic job!
    Now I'm just wondering how well this would run in 2 player mode. I love Metal Slug 2 but 2 player in that just goes way overboard with the slowdown.

  7. #7
    Shmups Overlord

    system11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by Ray View Post
    That looks like a pretty significant improvement! Fantastic job!
    Now I'm just wondering how well this would run in 2 player mode. I love Metal Slug 2 but 2 player in that just goes way overboard with the slowdown.
    It would still be terrible in 2p I'm afraid. The train level is still pretty rough too, apparently the code which tracks the train movement is somehow really slow.

  8. #8
    Paris-Dakar Rally Driver
    Dakar 2003

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    The Hague

    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by system11 View Post
    It would still be terrible in 2p I'm afraid. The train level is still pretty rough too, apparently the code which tracks the train movement is somehow really slow.
    Yeah, I figured that would be the case... Still, even with the slowdown MS2 is still a blast to play with 1 player, and this fix would help a lot, especially with some of the more notorious choking points like the bridge on the final mission.

  9. #9
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,621
    Very nice work.

    I wonder if this is something the unibios could catch via a cheat?? I may have a look if I find some free time to see if that's doable if your ok with that.

    Raz
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  10. #10
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,500
    Nice work!! can a M27C160 be used with the fixed code in the lower half and the original code in the upper half (or viceversa) and solder a switch to the highest address line to switch between version? also, I guess some jumpers gotta be moved in the board, right?

    Regards.
    Last edited by aha2940; 03-29-2015 at 05:40 PM.

  11. #11
    Shmups Overlord

    system11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
    Very nice work.

    I wonder if this is something the unibios could catch via a cheat?? I may have a look if I find some free time to see if that's doable if your ok with that.

    Raz
    I'd actually like it to be kept standalone for a few reasons.

  12. #12
    Lazy SNK Employee
    gtdoering's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Las Vegas

    Posts
    53
    Thanks for this! so excited to try this out!

  13. #13
    Crossed Swords 2 Bootleg Artist.

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Hells Kitchen, California

    Posts
    1,548
    This is really neat, I guess I need to go buy another Metal Slug 2 and find someone to send the new P1 to me. Thanks OP.

  14. #14
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Scotland

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Fakk2 View Post
    This is really neat, I guess I need to go buy another Metal Slug 2 and find someone to send the new P1 to me. Thanks OP.
    Plz PM me if you find someone to do a patched P1 chip. I too would love a faster MS2 but cannot justify buying a Eprom programmer just for 1 chip.

  15. #15
    Crazed MVS Addict
    nam9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Norway

    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by mjsaville View Post
    Plz PM me if you find someone to do a patched P1 chip. I too would love a faster MS2 but cannot justify buying a Eprom programmer just for 1 chip.
    I'm in on this bandwagon too...

  16. #16
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,500
    Quote Originally Posted by nam9 View Post
    I'm in on this bandwagon too...
    Send Fox1 a PM. I can help too, but since I'm located in South America, shipping costs may be too much.

  17. #17
    Fio's Quartermaster
    Yagyu Jubei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area

    Posts
    644
    Quote Originally Posted by mjsaville View Post
    Plz PM me if you find someone to do a patched P1 chip. I too would love a faster MS2 but cannot justify buying a Eprom programmer just for 1 chip.
    Add me to that list too. Por favor...

  18. #18
    Angel's Love Slave
    ShootTheCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Logan UT USA

    Posts
    1,074
    I can also program P1 chips for folks for the price of the chip and shipping. PM me if interested.

  19. #19
    Another Striker
    ChrisB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    England

    Posts
    319
    Quote Originally Posted by mjsaville View Post
    Plz PM me if you find someone to do a patched P1 chip. I too would love a faster MS2 but cannot justify buying a Eprom programmer just for 1 chip.
    hello mate, im in the uk, I have a eeprom burner to do this and would be happy to help.

  20. #20
    Windjammers Wonder
    BladeDancer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City

    Posts
    1,397
    Has anyone tried to run MS2 Turbo on an overclocked system?

    I tried it and it keeps randomly restarting, my system has a 16 MHz crystal

  21. #21
    Neo Bubble Buster
    Dandan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    everywhere

    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisB View Post
    hello mate, im in the uk, I have a eeprom burner to do this and would be happy to help.
    I would be more than happy to pay you to help me out with this, just booted MS2 up today and the slowdown just ruins this wonderful game.
    And yeah MS2>MSX

  22. #22
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,500
    Quote Originally Posted by Yagyu Jubei View Post
    Anyone patch an AES cart yet?

    I dont think so, because of the high price of the game, but it should work exactly the same as in MVS.

  23. #23
    H = Heinously
    M = Massive
    G = Gonad
    HMG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    4,073
    I can't imagine anyone seriously upgrading their real Slug 2 AES with this patch. Nobody ever plays real quadruple digit AES games anyway.

    Now a (pre-existing) conversion, that would be a lot more appropriate.

  24. #24
    Fio's Quartermaster
    Yagyu Jubei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area

    Posts
    644
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyMachineGun View Post
    I can't imagine anyone seriously upgrading their real Slug 2 AES with this patch. Nobody ever plays real quadruple digit AES games anyway.

    Now a (pre-existing) conversion, that would be a lot more appropriate.
    I can see that. I still play my high ticket games. Prolly also makes sense to have your original AES as your collector copy and a patched MVS as your gamer copy.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •