Neo Geo NoOb saying whatup

warbucks

n00b
Finally able to post a welcome thread. I am new to the world of Neo Geo so I am sure I will be asking a bunch of noob questions (of course after googling it and searching forums for the answers.) ;)
I am 37 from Florida, I do not have any Neo Geo items at this point.. but that will soon change.

I am a huge Nintendo collector (have around 625 nes games (going for complete set) as well as a ton of N64, SNES,Virtual Boy, GB, GBA, etc... I also collect turbografx, atari lynx, and a ton of other systems.

I saw a Neo Geo 4 slot cab a few weeks ago that got away from me now I am on the hunt for one. I am from the Tampa Bay area in Florida. I haven't had any luck tracking one down. I am ready to shell out some bucks but nothing to shell it out on :(

I did find a craigslist ad about 6 hours away from me for a 6 slot cab for $600 but I haven't heard positive things about 6 slots. Do you think I should pick up the 6 slot (the guy says it works fine) and replace it with a 4 slot setup? Is that even possible?

Any advice and guidance in getting into Neo Geo MVS carts and cab would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

wyo

King of Spammers
10 Year Member
Welcome to the forum. I am also in Tampa (and so are a few other members). MVS is the way to go but even that's quite expensive now. Deals are few and far between but persistence is occasionally rewarded. The cab supply around these parts is pretty dry so you might consider the consolized MVS route. 6-slots are considered unreliable but so are 4-slots in my experience. There is a wealth of tech knowledge here though, if you're able and willing to get your hands dirty.

PunkicCyborg

Fio's Quartermaster
10 Year Member
Whats up Tampa bro, we have a local group you should join. A lot of us get together often for epic game nights and hit up all the local game spots and play a lot of awesome games https://www.facebook.com/groups/TampaBayRetroGamers/