Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: Double Dragon Video Sync Issue

  1. #1
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431

    Double Dragon Video Sync Issue

    Here's a link to a video of the problem

    http://youtu.be/gBubLbLEtck

    I am ordering the parts for The mmmonkey sunk stripper

    http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/other/sync.htm

    Can someone please verify the specific capacitor and resistors? I'm positive that the capacitor says 104M on it, but I can't be certain what the 680k resistor is, when I do a search I get several different choices.

  2. #2
    Unholy Trinity.
    ReplicaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mass

    Posts
    2,355
    I have to ask, where are you buying all these problematic boards from?

  3. #3
    Neo*Geomancer
    wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tampa, FL

    Posts
    4,529
    Also, if you want a sync stripper, do yourself a favor and just buy one of bustedstr8's boards.

  4. #4
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by ReplicaX View Post
    I have to ask, where are you buying all these problematic boards from?
    The converters or the arcade boards?
    The GBS-8200 converters are from Gearbest, on sale for $16.something.
    I don't think the arcade boards are the issue honestly.

    Quote Originally Posted by wyo_vr4 View Post
    Also, if you want a sync stripper, do yourself a favor and just buy one of bustedstr8's boards.
    I'm currently cut off from the marketplace here so...
    Also I'm looking to spend less by doing things myself, I also want to learn so I don't have to ask so many damn questions and can eventually actually help some other noobs.
    How much are this guys sync strippers? I wouldn't mind having one that worked right so I had something to go by when I make my own.

  5. #5
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Anyone listening to the audio in the video, you know why the audio makes that tapping sound?
    It does that when hooked up direct to a speaker as well as in a line to RCA converter.

  6. #6
    Trollbox Trade Federation
    bustedstr8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston Burbs

    Posts
    1,010
    Quote Originally Posted by White Devil View Post
    The converters or the arcade boards?
    The GBS-8200 converters are from Gearbest, on sale for $16.something.
    I don't think the arcade boards are the issue honestly.



    I'm currently cut off from the marketplace here so...
    Also I'm looking to spend less by doing things myself, I also want to learn so I don't have to ask so many damn questions and can eventually actually help some other noobs.
    How much are this guys sync strippers? I wouldn't mind having one that worked right so I had something to go by when I make my own.

    My sync strippers won't help as a guide to build your own since they're made with smaller smd components, but if you want one they are on Klov as well.

    Shameless plug.
    Clowns Suck


  7. #7
    Earl's Long Lost Brother
    Black IcE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Utah

    Posts
    904
    Your sync strippers look pretty darn cool! How much are they ?

  8. #8
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by Black IcE View Post
    Your sync strippers look pretty darn cool! How much are they ?
    The link with the prices are in the spoiler right thurrr

    I just impulse ordered 3

  9. #9
    Calvin & Hobbes

    Rot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    InChatKthx

    Posts
    9,035
    Quote Originally Posted by White Devil View Post
    I'm currently cut off from the marketplace here so...
    Also I'm looking to spend less by doing things myself, I also want to learn so I don't have to ask so many damn questions and can eventually actually help some other noobs.
    How much are this guys sync strippers? I wouldn't mind having one that worked right so I had something to go by when I make my own.
    You have the option of BOTH now...

    I've been keeping my eye on a lot of people... and I deem your efforts enough to give you your privileges back...

    xROTx

    PS. Good luck with the projects...

  10. #10
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by Rot View Post
    You have the option of BOTH now...

    I've been keeping my eye on a lot of people... and I deem your efforts enough to give you your privileges back...

    xROTx

    PS. Good luck with the projects...
    Wow,
    That's a lot sooner than I thought any change would happen,
    Thanks dude!
    It's been a pleasure and an honor being a part of this community. A lot of good people looking to help eachother out. I think that rocks.

  11. #11
    Calvin & Hobbes

    Rot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    InChatKthx

    Posts
    9,035
    Quote Originally Posted by White Devil View Post
    Wow,
    That's a lot sooner than I thought any change would happen,
    Thanks dude!
    It's been a pleasure and an honor being a part of this community. A lot of good people looking to help eachother out. I think that rocks.
    Don't blow smoke up my ass... I'd happily funster your account for laughs....

    xROTx

  12. #12
    Who?
    Atro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Game Room.

    Posts
    8,317
    If you're using the GBS8200 on that you have to use the AUTO button to get sync.
    A lot of boards are bitchy with that upscaler. You really need a sync cleaner to use with the GBS.
    Otherwise you'll have trouble with most boards.

  13. #13
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by Rot View Post
    Don't blow smoke up my ass... I'd happily funster your account for laughs....

    xROTx
    I don't know what funster means...

    & I was just saying that stuff in general terms. My hobbies keep me sane.
    When I saw your post I got really happy.
    So, view it as you may dude. I'm just in a really good mood is all.

  14. #14
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by bustedstr8 View Post
    My sync strippers won't help as a guide to build your own since they're made with smaller smd components, but if you want one they are on Klov as well.

    Shameless plug.
    I got my sync strippers in.
    It completely solved my X-Men sync issue.
    I think the double dragon sync issue has to do with power filtering.
    I had noticed a power filter cap was missing. And took the identical one off my parts board, didn't fix the problem. Then I took one off the parts board again. Didn't fix the problem.
    The sync stripper steadied the gameplay part more so, but un steadied the title screen. This tells me that it's more so an issue with the power smoothing... Anyone think I'm completely off here?
    Any help would be appreciated. Remember. I'm a noob.
    And if anyone is selling a Double Dragon PCB for a super great price please let me know. I'd still like to get this one working but at this rate don't think it'll happen by the time of my bday thing where I want it set up to play.

  15. #15
    Trollbox Trade Federation
    bustedstr8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston Burbs

    Posts
    1,010
    DD runs at an oddball 57.5Hz that will give most modern digital displays problems.
    Clowns Suck


  16. #16
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by bustedstr8 View Post
    DD runs at an oddball 57.5Hz that will give most modern digital displays problems.
    What about a 2005ish CRT?
    It does the same on my insignia CRT. Think I got in 2004-2005

  17. #17
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    Quote Originally Posted by White Devil View Post
    What about a 2005ish CRT?
    It does the same on my insignia CRT. Think I got in 2004-2005
    TVs are made to display a 60hz signal. Depending on the brand it will have a wider scan range, I don't know if they will go down to 57.5hz though as some have trouble at 59hz.

  18. #18
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    What's the best way to address this with a modern digital monitor?

  19. #19
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    Quote Originally Posted by White Devil View Post
    What's the best way to address this with a modern digital monitor?
    Alter the sync pulse/timing with a custom circuit.

  20. #20
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Any tutorials out there?

    something weird about all this, when I hold the two soldered points for where the wires come off the sync stripper and meet the wires to the converter and from the board with my bare hands and hold them real tight the jumpy picture almost completely stops. It's weird. Like having the sync current run and meet through my body corrects it like 98%. That mean I'm helping to ground the signal?

  21. #21

  22. #22
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Then try using a pull down resistor.
    May I ask that you recommend one?
    Never heard of that before
    Looks like only one comes up in eBay.
    http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item...d=351325342080

    That what I should buy?
    And how would I connect it?

  23. #23
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Xian Xi,
    Are you an electronic engineer?
    Can't help but wonder

  24. #24
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,473
    A pull down resistor is just a resistor connected to ground. So you would connect one end to the sync where you are touching it and the other end to ground. Try a 1k resistor.

  25. #25
    Hardened Shock Trooper
    White Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Montgomery NJ

    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    A pull down resistor is just a resistor connected to ground. So you would connect one end to the sync where you are touching it and the other end to ground. Try a 1k resistor.
    If the lowest resistor I happen to have is 4.7k would it be okay to try that? Or better to order the 1k?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •