Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5678910 LastLast
Results 201 to 225 of 248

Thread: PCM Sound & Stability Fixes Multicarts - 120 in 1, 138 in 1, 161 in 1 and others.

  1. #201
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    I think it's probably acting as a filter, but the original carts used the same design. I did also wonder if it was adding a slight delay - that's possibly why it works.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  2. #202
    Pupil of Bonus-Kun

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    California

    Posts
    7
    I reset the backup memory, and also took of all three 47pF caps, but I still get the freezing with bank error as soon as the game starts. Any suggestions gratefully received!


  3. #203
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    ...

    Posts
    1,692
    Sorry if this is a hair off topic, but I have that 161in1 cart and I know it easily has been brought up before at a place like this, but the difficultly on a per game basis is all over the board, but a good many annoyingly are set to LV8. Is there any way on a standard cabinet to mess with this cart to reset those, or are you bound by the 8 game memory of soft dips the MVS does and it will just roll out of there beyond that point? I recall seeing somewhere through google someone thought you could go into a menu (may have been a smaller in 1) and go one by one and do it but I find that unlikely.

  4. #204
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Quote Originally Posted by alkenstein View Post
    I reset the backup memory, and also took of all three 47pF caps, but I still get the freezing with bank error as soon as the game starts. Any suggestions gratefully received!

    I wonder if your voltage regulator is not working properly? did you fit an AMS1117 3.3v regulator? I can see a regulator there, just wondering if its 1.8v or something instead of 3.3v? The only other possibility is there's a short (solder blob / particle) somewhere there shouldn't be, or a bad connection on one of the NVPROM / CPLD chips. Re-tracing your steps and inspecting very closely is what's required I think, and check that there are no shorts where there shouldn't be. Might be worth removing the voltage regulator and putting 2 diodes back in to see if that sorts it.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  5. #205
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Quote Originally Posted by Tanooki View Post
    Sorry if this is a hair off topic, but I have that 161in1 cart and I know it easily has been brought up before at a place like this, but the difficultly on a per game basis is all over the board, but a good many annoyingly are set to LV8. Is there any way on a standard cabinet to mess with this cart to reset those, or are you bound by the 8 game memory of soft dips the MVS does and it will just roll out of there beyond that point? I recall seeing somewhere through google someone thought you could go into a menu (may have been a smaller in 1) and go one by one and do it but I find that unlikely.
    I think the 161 in 1 clears the backup RAM anyway - although I am not 100% sure on that. With regards to the DIP settings on each game, you are best using a Unibios, hold down some of controller buttons (I forget which, I just do it instinctively lol) on power up and alter the soft dips. But settings are not saved I think.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  6. #206
    Pupil of Bonus-Kun

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    California

    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    I wonder if your voltage regulator is not working properly? did you fit an AMS1117 3.3v regulator? I can see a regulator there, just wondering if its 1.8v or something instead of 3.3v? The only other possibility is there's a short (solder blob / particle) somewhere there shouldn't be, or a bad connection on one of the NVPROM / CPLD chips. Re-tracing your steps and inspecting very closely is what's required I think, and check that there are no shorts where there shouldn't be. Might be worth removing the voltage regulator and putting 2 diodes back in to see if that sorts it.
    Thanks for the suggestions!! I'm pretty sure it's a 3.3v reg, this is the one I bought:

    http://www.digikey.com/product-searc...ST33T3GOSCT-ND

    I have been over all the steps carefully several times and I'm convinced there's no shorts.. As far as bad as bad connection on the NVPROM / CPLD, this might be harder to diagnose? I have checked that the places that I revealed traces haven't broken connection from the edge to the chip. Which diodes were there previously? I'll buy some and try that :-)

  7. #207
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Something like a 1N4001 should work fine. They are rated 1amp and the board doesn't pull anywhere near that.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  8. #208
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    ...

    Posts
    1,692
    Thanks gadget. I intend to order one of them in a couple weeks I believe. Now as far as the topic here goes I'm thinking modding my cart doesn't look too hard. I'm not good with soldering but it looks fairly basic if I can track down the right pieces to attach to it.

  9. #209
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    111
    I got an 120in1 too. On the game select screen the up down reacts very delayed. I cant go past game 5 or so. Buttons dont do anyrhing. StartcButton turns the screen black and the list jumps to 69 or so ...

    Is my module broken? How do I fix it? 161in1 qorks fine in the same setup .. I have no Idea where tocstart.

  10. #210
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,420
    Quote Originally Posted by nio View Post
    On the game select screen the up down reacts very delayed. I cant go past game 5 or so. Buttons dont do anyrhing. StartcButton turns the screen black and the list jumps to 69 or so ... Is my module broken?
    Wrong thread/off topic. However: If you have a legit cart that works (and the 161in1 works as well) your 120in1 has the issue, obviously. Send it back to the seller and ask for a replacement - these bootlegs are prone to failure. You could check if your board has enough power (5V line), but I'm pretty sure your cart is dead.

  11. #211
    Lazy SNK Employee
    retronerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Sweden

    Posts
    58
    I get graphic glitches on the neogeo boot screen 120 in 1 with unibios 3.2 but i dont get it with the original bios. Also in pulstar When i take continue i get glitched graphic, can this be fixed?

  12. #212
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    The Pulstar issue doesn't occur on the 161 in 1, so in that case its probably the way they hacked the ROM on the 120 in 1.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  13. #213
    Lazy SNK Employee
    retronerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Sweden

    Posts
    58
    Hello! I have a new version of the 161 in 1 cart. have done your mods but i get crackling sound in puzzle bobble? Here is my cart!



    Last edited by retronerd; 08-26-2016 at 01:39 PM.

  14. #214
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Mods look OK! It looks like there are cap positions on that PCB for the 2 x 47pF caps to fix the PCM issue. See C5 and C6 (or is it C4, I cannot see the number). Test with connectivity, but I suspect those are connected to the 2 PCM lines you bypassed with the 47pF caps. The 120 in 1 has positions for the caps there, I just never noticed them on this new board until now. Also it looks like it is a new board revision so you might have some additional ringing or parasitic capacitance issue on that board. Is there any chance you could upload a recording (video or audio) of the problem with Puzzle Bobble? I don't remember crackling issues with that game. There's also a chance that you've just got a slightly corrupt V ROM on that cart - these carts are not 100% perfect in every instance. For example I've heard of 161 in 1's where one game just doesn't work at all (different checksum vs other 161 in 1's) and similarly with graphics glitches. For the most part they seem OK but the odd one slips past whatever QA checks they do on them.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  15. #215
    Lazy SNK Employee
    retronerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Sweden

    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    Mods look OK! It looks like there are cap positions on that PCB for the 2 x 47pF caps to fix the PCM issue. See C5 and C6 (or is it C4, I cannot see the number). Test with connectivity, but I suspect those are connected to the 2 PCM lines you bypassed with the 47pF caps. The 120 in 1 has positions for the caps there, I just never noticed them on this new board until now. Also it looks like it is a new board revision so you might have some additional ringing or parasitic capacitance issue on that board. Is there any chance you could upload a recording (video or audio) of the problem with Puzzle Bobble? I don't remember crackling issues with that game. There's also a chance that you've just got a slightly corrupt V ROM on that cart - these carts are not 100% perfect in every instance. For example I've heard of 161 in 1's where one game just doesn't work at all (different checksum vs other 161 in 1's) and similarly with graphics glitches. For the most part they seem OK but the odd one slips past whatever QA checks they do on them.
    Here is a audio clip, dont be confused with the cart i just gave it a face lift
    the crackling 0:46 , 1:08 1:19 1:31


  16. #216
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    241
    Same issue on my 138-in-1. It's a bad ROM.

  17. #217
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Yes, tested last night and there are a couple of dodgy sounds in Puzzle Bobble. Not something I've played much on the 161 in 1 as I have an original PB cart.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  18. #218
    Lazy SNK Employee
    retronerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Sweden

    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    Yes, tested last night and there are a couple of dodgy sounds in Puzzle Bobble. Not something I've played much on the 161 in 1 as I have an original PB cart.
    On the 138 in 1 are cyber lip and metal slug 5 workin as they should?

    It would have been good if someone managed to read the chip on the multicarts and burn in new functional roms.

  19. #219
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Quote Originally Posted by retronerd View Post
    On the 138 in 1 are cyber lip and metal slug 5 workin as they should?

    It would have been good if someone managed to read the chip on the multicarts and burn in new functional roms.
    Metal Slug 5 seems fine to me, I've not noticed any problems. It's a bootleg P1 ROM but they haven't changed anything regards gameplay or difficulty etc, they just hacked a menu into it and decrypted the original ROMs. Cyberlip has a missing voice over sample on the intro. Most the other games are perfect on the 138 in 1 - from memory Super Sidekicks 1 has the protection still built in so that cannot really be played.

    We need to find a programmer that will read and program the fujitsu chips, one that doesn't cost $2000... that's the problem!
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  20. #220
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    donluca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Rome

    Posts
    241
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    We need to find a programmer that will read and program the fujitsu chips, one that doesn't cost $2000... that's the problem!
    That's what I've been saying for a long, long time.

    If we manage to reprogram the 138-in-1 I might be set with Neo Geo, without the need of a fully featured flashcart.
    I believe I'm not the only one on this.

  21. #221
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    If we could find a data sheet for the chips we could create our own programmer.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  22. #222
    Lazy SNK Employee
    retronerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Sweden

    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    If we could find a data sheet for the chips we could create our own programmer.
    i did some research and found this!

    The TopMax2/ChipMax2/ProMax/UniMax Universal Device Programmer all handle the Fujitsu MSP series devices. Perhaps the updated software allows the programming of the MSP55LV100S & don't forget the 70-pin socket adapter, you may have to create your own?!?!?!
    Verified that these programmers (TopMax2/ChipMax2/ProMax/UniMax) work with these chips;
    FUJITSU MSP55LV128 SOP 44 PA44SO44D
    FUJITSU MSP55LV256 SOP 44 PA44SO44D
    permalänkembedförälder

  23. #223
    Krauser's Henchman
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,075
    Yeah, I've been pointed towards those before - not very cheap though =/
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  24. #224
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    5
    hi, i think the one i have is a new version of 161 in 1, some games don´t work properly, but not all time, sometimes crashes and sometimes works ok, i´m not sure if that version has sound problems,
    but you can see missing capacitors in the 2 boards. I don´t know if this 2 pcb´s needs to be fixed because are different than the others fixed by GadgetUK.
    Can you take a look?
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?a4ead4da24...7d81b3fedo.jpg
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?2f785bd6b2...do.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?873d2bd89f...4o.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?629082f2e0...0o.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?f1267caf59...0o.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?8678e0d86e...eo.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?bc7df90615...2o.jpg#codigos

    thank´s

  25. #225
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    north america

    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by amx30 View Post
    hi, i think the one i have is a new version of 161 in 1, some games don´t work properly, but not all time, sometimes crashes and sometimes works ok, i´m not sure if that version has sound problems,
    but you can see missing capacitors in the 2 boards. I don´t know if this 2 pcb´s needs to be fixed because are different than the others fixed by GadgetUK.
    Can you take a look?
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?a4ead4da24...7d81b3fedo.jpg
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?2f785bd6b2...do.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?873d2bd89f...4o.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?629082f2e0...0o.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?f1267caf59...0o.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?8678e0d86e...eo.jpg#codigos
    http://subefotos.com/ver/?bc7df90615...2o.jpg#codigos

    thank´s
    I've seen this revision posted about before on the CRT collective. A guy on there has one. He said adding caps to all the vacant spots did fix audio issues on games like Pulstar and Sengoku 3, but there is other issues going on with the audio on Neo Turf Masters, Last Blade 2, and I think also he said Raguy has no audio at all.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •