Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011
Results 251 to 259 of 259

Thread: PCM Sound & Stability Fixes Multicarts - 120 in 1, 138 in 1, 161 in 1 and others.

  1. #251
    Galford's Armourer
    segasonicfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    CA

    Posts
    469
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    There's a CPLD on the left hand side (not shown on your photos there) - that does the address decoding for the M1 ROM. The M1 ROM is just above it. I would check all the connectivity out around that area. That CPLD takes 4.3v from the middle of the two diodes which power the board. Look on under side of the PCB where the 2 diodes join - There should be a trace which leads off and is jumpered (probably with a tiny particle of solder) to a trace which goes to a via. Check the connectivity around there to ensure that 4.3v is getting to the CPLD. You could reflow the solder on M1 and that nearby CPLD. I presume you've narrowed it down to this board by swapping the top and bottom boards etc?
    Thanks so much for this!! (And the thread in general). I have this exact same issue with my old version 161-in-1 (no sound but else seems working). I did caps, new regulator, etc. but issue remains. Ill try reflowing M1 chip and CPLD but has anyone tried JTAGing that chip? If I could get the code off its not hard to get a new one.

    -Segasonicfan
    MY WEBSITE:

  2. #252
    Galford's Armourer
    segasonicfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    CA

    Posts
    469
    Also I made videos of the new version 161-in-1 upgrades and explaining some of their analog engineering flaws:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfD...T1uMF0g/videos

    Sorry GadgetUK I forgot your name in the first video but I give you credit in the second one.

    -Segasonicfan
    MY WEBSITE:

  3. #253
    .
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    2
    segasonicfan your videos are gone as of right now, anywhere I can view them? I really need to fix the sound on my newer 161

  4. #254
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    Finch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Santa Cruz, California

    Posts
    341
    Quote Originally Posted by DasiyAge View Post
    segasonicfan your videos are gone as of right now, anywhere I can view them? I really need to fix the sound on my newer 161
    Yeah I came here to say that too. I PM'd him, hopefully he can clear it up. As far as I can tell you can also follow these pics. As they were able to do the mods based on segasonicfan's videos before they disappeared.
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?facfb216b...5o.jpg#codigos
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?e3b1c3a87...do.jpg#codigos
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?fe0c17c89...ao.jpg#codigos
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?b63219b5a...5o.jpg#codigos
    -Finch

  5. #255
    Genjuro's Frog
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,171
    There are 2 pads on the board designed for those caps on the newer 161 in 1 (C5 and C6 - put 47pF caps there). You might want to add any missing 100nF caps too (eg. underneath the CPLDs). The voltage regulator is optional - one board may use a regulator now, I am not sure. But as people have pointed out, in theory it might be better for the MVS if the cart chips are overvoltaged above 3.3v (via use of the diodes). Personally I've had no problem with any of my carts or MVS systems since I did mods to use 3.3v regulators on those carts. But clamping could cause a failure at some point, so you take a risk either way with the diode / regulator mod imo. What I do know is the carts tend to fail sooner rather than later when left with just the 2 diodes to drop from 5v to ~3.6v. If your 5v is 5.2v, the chips on the cart will get ~3.8v vs the expected 3.3v...
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  6. #256
    Another Striker
    Mai_Lover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    320
    GadgetUK, I have an AES and a Daedalus for use with the MVS carts. I just ordered a 161 in 1 cart yesterday. Way back in this thread someone had asked if there would be any problem with this setup regarding power consumption, etc. There was no follow-up.

    Can you verify that it will work with a Daedalus? Also, do these current 161 in 1 carts still need the PCM and regulator mods? Thank you for any advice.


  7. #257
    Genjuro's Frog
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,171
    Quote Originally Posted by Mai_Lover View Post
    GadgetUK, I have an AES and a Daedalus for use with the MVS carts. I just ordered a 161 in 1 cart yesterday. Way back in this thread someone had asked if there would be any problem with this setup regarding power consumption, etc. There was no follow-up.

    Can you verify that it will work with a Daedalus? Also, do these current 161 in 1 carts still need the PCM and regulator mods? Thank you for any advice.
    It should work with a Daedalus as far as I understand - PSU permitting. The two caps can be added to the spaces on the board for them, the regulator mods are optional. Someone suggested that the clamping provided by the 3.3v chips could affect the life of some of the MVS chips (extra current drawn). Personally I don't buy into that as the change from high to low very frequently means there's not a constant current draw, but I am no expert in that area.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  8. #258
    Another Striker
    Mai_Lover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    It should work with a Daedalus as far as I understand - PSU permitting. The two caps can be added to the spaces on the board for them, the regulator mods are optional. Someone suggested that the clamping provided by the 3.3v chips could affect the life of some of the MVS chips (extra current drawn). Personally I don't buy into that as the change from high to low very frequently means there's not a constant current draw, but I am no expert in that area.
    Many thanks for the response. My AES is a Japan model, so I'm not quite sure of the power tolerance. Here in the colonies, it's 120V which should be no problem but amperage and such is what I'm unclear of. Regardless, once the cart arrives I'll go through the paces (check Pulstar, Strikers, etc.) and see whether or not it needs the PCM mod. Cheers.


  9. #259
    Member superfry63's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    34
    Thanks for posting these links - just confirmed the 161 I got in the mail is version 2 and I am just trying to get everything together for all of the known fixes.

    Are the caps in these pics pretty much all that is required for version 2 and maybe the stability fix listed here:

    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...-stability-fix

    Again big thanks to GadgetUK for all his work.


    Quote Originally Posted by Finch View Post
    Yeah I came here to say that too. I PM'd him, hopefully he can clear it up. As far as I can tell you can also follow these pics. As they were able to do the mods based on segasonicfan's videos before they disappeared.
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?facfb216b...5o.jpg#codigos
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?e3b1c3a87...do.jpg#codigos
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?fe0c17c89...ao.jpg#codigos
    https://subefotos.com/ver/?b63219b5a...5o.jpg#codigos

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •