Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 118

Thread: Sega Saturn / Rhea

  1. #26
    Another Striker
    Jeffpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    CT

    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by opt2not View Post
    Awww, I haven't even got my payment request yet!

    Do you know if shipped you a V3.1 board?
    Yep, receipt says 3.1.

  2. #27
    Angel's Love Slave
    opt2not's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    1,055
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    He said on the blog that all units being shipped from now on will be solder free, so I'd imagine so.
    He did? Where?

    All I saw was this:
    I have but a couple of these new PCBs right now, some more should be available soon.
    Nothing that notes that all current units being shipped are the solder-free ones.

  3. #28
    Another Striker
    Jeffpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    CT

    Posts
    327
    I did see somewhere that said units would be solder free. His site is whack, it seems like he posts stuff in 2 different spots.

  4. #29
    Another Striker
    Jeffpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    CT

    Posts
    327
    https://gdemu.wordpress.com/2015/02/...ed-more-power/

    "From now on all Rheas will be solder-less"

  5. #30
    Mickey's Coach
    MidnightMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Frederick, MD

    Posts
    725
    The one you're going to get in the mail isn't solderless or 3.1, Jeffpin. I just got mine in today (ordered last Wednesday). No big deal, really. Just a +5v and ground. so simple. Now figuring out how to actually use the thing... that's a different story. I'm thinking he means that every one assembled and shipped after the batch that has already been made will all be solderless.

  6. #31
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,367
    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightMonkey View Post
    The one you're going to get in the mail isn't solderless or 3.1, Jeffpin. I just got mine in today (ordered last Wednesday). No big deal, really. Just a +5v and ground. so simple. Now figuring out how to actually use the thing... that's a different story. I'm thinking he means that every one assembled and shipped after the batch that has already been made will all be solderless.
    I guess we'll see, but since his invoice says 3.1, I'd imagine that's what he'll get.

  7. #32
    Angel's Love Slave
    opt2not's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    1,055
    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightMonkey View Post
    The one you're going to get in the mail isn't solderless or 3.1, Jeffpin. I just got mine in today (ordered last Wednesday). No big deal, really. Just a +5v and ground. so simple. Now figuring out how to actually use the thing... that's a different story. I'm thinking he means that every one assembled and shipped after the batch that has already been made will all be solderless.
    Yeah that's the impression I got as well.

    And I agree his site is whack.
    I hate how his OPERATION, ORDERING, TECHNICAL DETAILS and UPDATING FIRMWARE pages only covers the GDEMU and not the Rhea.

  8. #33
    Mickey's Coach
    MidnightMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Frederick, MD

    Posts
    725
    In in talks with him right now. Trying to gather as much info on the Rhea as possible to make a single comprehensive PDF to post on his site (by a native english speaker). If he provides me what I asked for, it'll get posted here first.

    And my invoice said 3.1 too. The board has v3 printed on it with the date 11/11/14

  9. #34
    Angel's Love Slave
    opt2not's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    1,055
    Awesome! Thank you for taking the initiative!

  10. #35
    H = Hot
    M = Macho
    G = Gay
    HeavyMachineGun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    3,941
    My Saturn-loving friend directed me to the Rhea. Holy shit it's 130 euros. That is um, a lot... I'm gonna wear out my modchip first and then consider a Rhea.

  11. #36
    There can be only one. Syn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Crap they're tearing down the Palace of Auburn Hills. I guess it's I-75 & M-59 now.

    Posts
    5,828
    That's my thought too. I like the idea but not how it was implemented.

  12. #37
    In truth be told
    You Have a
    Crappy username.
    100proof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Carolina

    Posts
    1,100
    Dammit. Well I know what my next purchase is gonna be. For those who have the GDEmu or Rhea, does it de-sync the audio at all? One of the reasons I don't use emulators for the more recent systems is that the audio is always off which makes rhythm games unplayable and games with a lot of CG play like shit. I assume it would be fine since you're playing on actual hardware but those first-gen CD systems were so persnickety.

  13. #38
    Mickey's Coach
    MidnightMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Frederick, MD

    Posts
    725
    It doesn't emulate anything. There's no audio discrepancies. It basically just acts like the cd-rom.

  14. #39
    In truth be told
    You Have a
    Crappy username.
    100proof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Carolina

    Posts
    1,100
    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightMonkey View Post
    It doesn't emulate anything. There's no audio discrepancies. It basically just acts like the cd-rom.
    What I figured but you always have to be sure with these kinds of things. Gracias.

  15. #40
    Angel's Love Slave
    opt2not's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    1,055
    Finally got my shipping notice!

    I ended up acquiring a Saturn with a broken cd-rom drive for this install, can't wait to get it up and running. Now it's time to start gathering up some SD cards.

  16. #41
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,367
    Quote Originally Posted by opt2not View Post
    Finally got my shipping notice!

    I ended up acquiring a Saturn with a broken cd-rom drive for this install, can't wait to get it up and running. Now it's time to start gathering up some SD cards.
    Got my shipping notice as well!

    Looks like he has added rhea specific pages to the blog now. Also there is a new firmware released.

  17. #42
    Morden's Lackey
    KRiSX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia

    Posts
    374
    fuck i really want to order one, but i don't have a saturn it can go into and he asks to know if you've got a VA0 or VA1+ system... grrrr

    need to find me a early model saturn asap
    Omega CMVS Owner - Most Wanted MVS Carts: ViewPoint

    XBOXLive: KRiSX85 - PSN: KRiSX - Steam: KRiSX

  18. #43
    Armored Scrum Object
    kahel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Montreal, QC

    Posts
    257
    Quote Originally Posted by KRiSX View Post
    fuck i really want to order one, but i don't have a saturn it can go into and he asks to know if you've got a VA0 or VA1+ system... grrrr

    need to find me a early model saturn asap
    The VA0 vs VA1+ question is just for the plastic legs that hold the rhea stable. Maybe you can ask him to send you both pair or just send you the longer one and you can cut them if they are too long for your model.


    The new firmware is nice , it fixed a bug that i had with Elevator Action returns not starting the music unless i played the track in the cd player before.

  19. #44
    Angel's Love Slave
    opt2not's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southern California

    Posts
    1,055
    Quote Originally Posted by kahel View Post
    The VA0 vs VA1+ question is just for the plastic legs that hold the rhea stable. Maybe you can ask him to send you both pair or just send you the longer one and you can cut them if they are too long for your model.
    That's what I did. He said he doesn't mind sending both pegs as they're fairly inexpensive.

    Thanks for mentioning the firmware update. Looks like he released it while my Rhea is in-transit, so I'll probably have to flash it when it gets here.

    How are you handling your games kahel? Do you have a few games copied onto small capacity SD's, or are you storing them one at a time?

  20. #45
    Armored Scrum Object
    kahel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Montreal, QC

    Posts
    257
    Quote Originally Posted by opt2not View Post
    How are you handling your games kahel? Do you have a few games copied onto small capacity SD's, or are you storing them one at a time?

    I use a 8 GB SD card and keep about 10 games on it at the time. I keep all my games on my laptop HD , ready to be copied to the SD if i want to play different games. I have a small list on paper to know wich games are on the SD card and at what position to make selecting the games a little easier.

  21. #46
    Morden's Lackey
    KRiSX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia

    Posts
    374
    Quote Originally Posted by kahel View Post
    The VA0 vs VA1+ question is just for the plastic legs that hold the rhea stable. Maybe you can ask him to send you both pair or just send you the longer one and you can cut them if they are too long for your model.


    The new firmware is nice , it fixed a bug that i had with Elevator Action returns not starting the music unless i played the track in the cd player before.
    thanks for the tip, going to email him right now

    anyone seen any HST-3200's going cheap? :P
    Omega CMVS Owner - Most Wanted MVS Carts: ViewPoint

    XBOXLive: KRiSX85 - PSN: KRiSX - Steam: KRiSX

  22. #47
    Another Striker
    Jeffpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    CT

    Posts
    327
    Got the Rhea today.


  23. #48
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,367
    Nice dude! That's cool that you got the new solderless version. Enjoy

  24. #49
    Mickey's Coach
    MidnightMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Frederick, MD

    Posts
    725
    Glad he's getting out the solder less version now. Still content with my 3.0. Will update my guide this weekend for everyone.

  25. #50
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,367
    Got mine in today, had only said 'v3' on the payment request but ended up being the new solderless 3.1 version like Jeffpin posted. Works great! Only additional feature that I'd like to see is bin/cue support, but that's not a big deal.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •