Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Panasonic Plasma 50 stopped working today, help?

  1. #1
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    4,708

    Unhappy Panasonic Plasma 50 stopped working today, help?

    So I'm watching a movie with my kid and the TV goes off. Try to turn it back on, red lights blinking but never goes on. Look up on youtube and it looks like some thermal fuse, but my power board isn't the same as the guys on the video. Can't find anything for my power board. The only thing I notices when I opened the TV up was one BIG capacitor is kind of domed on the back. The others are all flat or concave. The TV isn't too old, 4-5 years, but definitely out of warranty and I was wondering if anyone here has a clue on how to get this thing up and running again. Any help or direction (yes I know it's hard without seeing everything) would really be appreciated. With the 2nd kid being here less than a month, I have very little TV funds right now...pre-tax return etc..and that's pretty much spent already.

    thanks!
    .

  2. #2
    Cholecystectomy Required.
    ggallegos1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Milford, CT

    Posts
    3,706
    Quote Originally Posted by NGT View Post
    So I'm watching a movie with my kid and the TV goes off. Try to turn it back on, red lights blinking but never goes on. Look up on youtube and it looks like some thermal fuse, but my power board isn't the same as the guys on the video. Can't find anything for my power board. The only thing I notices when I opened the TV up was one BIG capacitor is kind of domed on the back. The others are all flat or concave. The TV isn't too old, 4-5 years, but definitely out of warranty and I was wondering if anyone here has a clue on how to get this thing up and running again. Any help or direction (yes I know it's hard without seeing everything) would really be appreciated. With the 2nd kid being here less than a month, I have very little TV funds right now...pre-tax return etc..and that's pretty much spent already.

    thanks!
    Would you be able to take some pictures of the boards as well as the domed cap? Also, what model tv is it?
    "I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul."
    Switch FC 0965 2531 6217
    http://backloggery.com/ggallegos1/sig.gif
    Quote Originally Posted by ObeyMyEgo View Post
    ggallegos1 Is a cock sucking faggot. That is all.

  3. #3
    Unholy Custom Rank.
    ReplicaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mass

    Posts
    2,428
    First components that go in newer flatpanels are PSU Caps, if its an electrolytic cap and domed its likely bad and needs to be replaced.

    Remember that Capacitors are rated by hrs and depending on TV brand and even the model can vary with the quality of components.
    Q GrandAm 25 | MKII | NNC | Medieval Madness RE
    Arcade Tech since 1994

  4. #4
    NG.com Audiophile
    Club Member
    Neo Ash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Inside a 12AX7 tube

    Posts
    4,875
    It does sound like you have at least one suspect capacitor. If that is all that is wrong, it should be an easy repair.

    Post some pics, so we can better help you out.
    http://emu.kulichki.net/screens/67/89/ff3_1.gif
    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaThunder View Post
    I was referring to HIS throat, not my own.

    I'd fuck Neo Ash's throat... lovingly.

  5. #5
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    4,708
    Panasonic Plasma TC-P50S1 Viera




    .

  6. #6
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    4,708
    I can take larger and more close up pics with the DSLR if needed, but the 3rd pic shows the domed cap pretty well. If these pictures aren't good enough, please tell me exactly what you need and what angle is best.
    Last edited by NGT; 01-06-2015 at 04:09 PM.
    .

  7. #7
    Unholy Custom Rank.
    ReplicaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mass

    Posts
    2,428
    Quote Originally Posted by NGT View Post
    Panasonic Plasma TC-P50S1 Viera
    That large one is definitely breaking down. I'd replace all the electrolytic caps on that Power Supply board.
    Q GrandAm 25 | MKII | NNC | Medieval Madness RE
    Arcade Tech since 1994

  8. #8
    NG.com Audiophile
    Club Member
    Neo Ash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Inside a 12AX7 tube

    Posts
    4,875
    That PCB looks easy to get to. Pull it out and replace all the caps, or send it off to someone if you don't feel up to the doing the repair yourself.
    http://emu.kulichki.net/screens/67/89/ff3_1.gif
    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaThunder View Post
    I was referring to HIS throat, not my own.

    I'd fuck Neo Ash's throat... lovingly.

  9. #9
    Trollbox Trade Federation
    bustedstr8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston Burbs

    Posts
    1,021
    Quote Originally Posted by ReplicaX View Post
    That large one is definitely breaking down. I'd replace all the electrolytic caps on that Power Supply board.
    This..

    It's a good idea to replace the HV film caps too, they take a beating as well. They are the red chicklets 450-600V.
    The only pain in ass with these things are all those large electros are all snap in now. You probably wont find the same footprint in the same value.
    I've done a few TVs for friends and I wound up hot glueing them on their side and using jumper wires.

  10. #10
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    4,708
    thanks!! I'll get on ordering stuff today. Man I miss HSC being in town
    .

  11. #11
    Haomaru's Blade Shiner
    Reclaimer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area

    Posts
    825
    Might not be much help now that you found the likely culprit, but here's a tip for future readers of this thread-

    You can count the number of blinks the red light makes before pausing and starting to blink again. It's an error number.

    I used this to look up the error when my Panny Plasma 55" suddenly wouldn't turn on, but had the blinking light. It led me to an easy power supply board fix.

  12. #12
    Earl of Sexyheim LWK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Southern California. Neo Candy Central!

    Posts
    18,052
    I found three HDTV's in peoples trash of the span of a year and maybe the year before. I repaired all three with simple cap replacements. Master this art and you can potentially have a HDTV work WAYYYY longer then it should. Watch out for that shit brand of caps. CapXon. I swear, I run into these and I wanna just toss them day one. I don't like those caps, and that brand has scored me over a grand in free gear, because people just think the TV's or toast, or assume repairs are to expensive, and they'd be better just buying another.

  13. #13
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    4,708
    Mine ended up being the SC board, but the power board seemed like at least that big cap was going bad. Thanks for the advice folks. Tv is back up and running.
    .

  14. #14
    Unholy Custom Rank.
    ReplicaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mass

    Posts
    2,428
    Quote Originally Posted by NGT View Post
    Mine ended up being the SC board, but the power board seemed like at least that big cap was going bad. Thanks for the advice folks. Tv is back up and running.
    Nice, glad you figured everything out!
    Q GrandAm 25 | MKII | NNC | Medieval Madness RE
    Arcade Tech since 1994

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •